We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly satisfied” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olaf's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olaf's Guest House
Ranked #26 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Highly satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

The privacy of the house delighted me. I was very glad by the choico of my South African femaile friend. The location is wonderful. The staff is extremely polite and helpful. Breakfast is perfect. Rooms, furniture, and beds are very good. it is calm. I could not hear any noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anneliese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Anneliese,

Thank you for staying at Olaf's Guest House, and also thanks for the lovely positive review.
Good to know you had a great time here.

We wish to have you here in the future.

Kindest Regards
Olaf;s Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    76
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
37
99
45
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Olaf's Guest House. The staff were very friendly and helpful about getting around and offered to call to find out if some roads were closed in the direction I was heading. The accommodations are comfortable and very clean. Great wi-fi and breakfast. It's in a great quiet location, a short walk from the waterfront. As a solo female traveler I felt safe and secure there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Lynda,

Thank you for taking the time to review Olafs Guesthouse.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Olafs Guesthouse.

We wish you a great year ahead and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed in the 'Lion's Head' room which had an on lying locked door to the office. Although the room was furnished nicely, this made my stay incredibly unrestful as I had to put up with staff members talking and laughing from the early hours of the morning throughout the day. When I asked a staff member if I could print out an urgent document, I was rather rudely told that the owner doesn't like people using his computer and was told to go to an internet cafe -without any effort to accommodate my situation. The breakfast and location was good, but overall I feel that my stay and experience at Olaf's Guest House wasn't worth their rates.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Everything was great - the place, locations, breakfast, etc. The staff were especially great. I would only point out (for those that may not know) that there is no one from staff at the guesthouse from 8pm to 8am.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Leana,
Thank you for your very positive review, the working hours at Olaf's are for 6.46 to 20.00 where after you can give us a call if you should need urgent assistance.

We as guesthouse owners also need some time off.

Best regards

Raymond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

A friendly, small hotel, close to Main Street and the Beach Road. Still very quiet. Excellent breakfast. Friendly owner who will guide you on what to do. Nice restaurants in the neighbourhood. In all: Excellent.



  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hello Sven,

Thank you for your kind review, hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards

Raymond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I picked this based on other TripAdvisor reviews. This guest house is a great choice for any traveler and won't disappoint. It is quiet, close to the shops at Seapoint and gives you the feeling a close relative is putting you up for a couple of nights.

I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Hello Lazulite,


Than you so staying at Olaf's Guest House and that you enjoyed you stay. Once again Thank You

Very glad to see that guest that travel a lot know how to give the places they have stayed at a civil review.

Best regards

Raymond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The stay at the guesthouse was very nice. It is located near the sea a8no beach).
Unfortunately the invoice was not correct and it was not possible to get the overpay back. Therefore I would not go there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Janina,

I find your review very unfair, after all that my staff helped you with buying food for you to have a braai and then still making the food and doing the braai for you.

The second misunderstanding that was no misunderstanding at all, was with your invoice Number 2112. You booked for two nights at a rate of R1320 per night plus your shuttle from the airport R330. This amounts to R2970 which you paid via Bank Transfer.

The second payment invoice number 2113 was for the Braai for two R120 which was more a favour, the extras R124 Chips x1 R5.00, Mineral Water x2 x R12, Red Wine 750ml R95.00 and then again a second shuttle back to the airport R330 this amounts to the sum of R574.00.

So I don't know where the poor issue handling was at all, I can't for the love of me understand
why this negative rating has come about, but will have to live with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#11 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Villa Rosa
The Villa Rosa
#12 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#28 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#7 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olaf's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olaf's Guest House

Property: Olaf's Guest House
Address: 24 Wisbeach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olaf's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olaf’s Guest House is easy to find. Our guest house is conveniently situated on Cape Town's Atlantic Seaboard, right below Signal Hill, between Beach Rd. and Main Rd. in Sea Point. Olaf’s was built back in 1937, which helps to explain our design, spacious interiors, high ceilings and wooden/tiled floors. And has more recently been renovated and enhanced with touches of up-market African style and charm. We’re just a stone’s throw away from the city center of Cape Town. As well as the V&A Waterfront, Cape Town’s shopping Mecca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Olaf's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olaf's Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing