We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, tidy, friendly but small”
Review of Olaf's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olaf's Guest House
Ranked #30 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at Olaf's Guest House for 4 nights during our recent trip to Cape Town. The guest house location is very central and it is tidy, clean and service is friendly. It also has a charming pool. We had the front Seapoint room and it was extremely small. The bathroom even smaller; there is hardly any space to put your toiletries. Also, because the room was right at the front door of the guest house, you could hear everyone coming and going. Breakfast was average - very bad bread for a country with great selection of bread. Coffee was also not good. And the room could do with a Nespresso machine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smartie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hello,

Thank you for staying with us at Olaf's and thank you for the review. We will keep in mind the idea of a Nespresso machine in the room but doubt ifit will work because of all the diffirant coffee sorts, that would be an even bigger problem.

Thanks again

Raymond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Me and my father visited in January 2014, and spent 7 nights at Olaf's before heading off up the Garden Route. It was by far the best guesthouse we stayed at, even though we later during our trip also stayed at more "luxurious" alternatives with a significantly higher price tag. The staff were very friendly, relaxed and always happy and helpful - we always got a sunny "Good morning" from everyone! The rooms (we stayed in three different) were all to a great standard - better than most 4 star hotel rooms. The breakfast, which was particularly important for us was varied, with omelettes and other egg dishes made to order, whilst we could pick and choose from yoghurts, lovely fresh fruit salad, meats, cheeses, croissants and what not. 2 choices of the local paper was always on the table. The location was perfect, everything from the best beaches in CT as well as the city centre, Signal Hill/Lion's Head/Table Mountain was easily accessible. We are already planning future visits to Cape Town and will definitely stay at Olaf's again! Lina Jarbin from Sweden

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Evelina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Evelina,

Thank you for the great review.

I am glad that you and your father enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your return to Olafs Guest House.

With warm greeting from the sunny Cape Town,

Dominic Braun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Spent almost a week at Olaf's Guest House. A really nice visit in a cosy B&B. Service was attentive, starting from the moment we arrived. Room for three adults was a little snug but do-able. Very clean with lovely decor touches. Breakfasts were good, offering a nice variety of hot and cold choices. On street parking was a little tight as there is a really popular restaurant at the top of the road that makes for somewhat of an interesting challenge, especially in the evenings. Olaf's is centrally located, close to the sights by car. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Gail,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Olafs Guest House.

We wish you all the best for the New Year ahead and hope too see you return soon,

Kind regards,
Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

An oasis close to the city bowl as well to the sea. We had a very nice stay. The staff is so friendly and sweet. Nice breakfast incl in the rate, honesty bar, a small pool and some sunbeds. Quiet area and some nice restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hans Petter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Hello Hans,

We thank you for the positive review about the guest house. Glad to know that you had a great stay too. Wish to see you soon.

Kinds Regards
Olaf's Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A traditional guest house, with all the necessary amenities plus some nice touches, located within a couple of minutes walk of Sea Point promenade, main road and sightseeing bus stop. The waterfront and City Centre are a 50 Rand cab ride away, and Clifton/Camps Bay are around a 5-10 minute drive.

The communal lounge is nice, with complimentary fruit and sherry, there's a comprehensive and well priced honour bar, and breakfast offers a good selection. The outside courtyard and small pool are a surprisingly tranquil oasis. Service is pretty good, but nowhere near the levels of personal interest that we'd encountered elsewhere in SA. On arrival we were shown to our room and given the key - that's it! I later went to enquire about restaurant recommendations and Nando's was suggested!!

Our room (Hout Bay) was fine but not the boutique styling I had been expecting. Nothing wrong with it, but just quite basic and very dated. I think that there's been some good photography used in the advertising!

I'm afraid I didn't like Sea Point from the moment we arrived, and I don't think that Olaf's is at the nicest end of town or best street either. The area proudly declares that it is a City Regeneration Zone - for me that means seedy area being cleaned up! But people do rave about the location so perhaps it's just me. In hindsight, I would have rather paid a little more and stayed in another area of town.

There's parking on the road, sometimes difficult to get close to the guesthouse though, and although we had no issues it didn't feel overly secure. The fact that Olafs's has electric fences and multiple security grilles inside the locked gates doesn't reassure either!

Based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor, lots of people love Olaf's, but for me it was jjust OK. Perhaps I'd stayed in such great places during our SA trip that I had become a little spoiled, and my expectations were too high.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for the area and the house.
My I suggest maybe looking for a house in Camps Bay next time.
Different houses different styles, but thank you for the review anyway.

Best regards

Raymond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I spent five nights here in December and could not have asked for better accommodation. Friendly, professional staff; great location close to all major attractions; rooms clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast is delicious and free wi-fi a real bonus. I would highly recommend a stroll along the promenade to the Waterfront. Thanks to Raymond and all the staff at Olaf's for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Craig,

Thank you very much for your positive review about Olaf's guest house.
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We wish to see you again in the future :)).

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The privacy of the house delighted me. I was very glad by the choico of my South African femaile friend. The location is wonderful. The staff is extremely polite and helpful. Breakfast is perfect. Rooms, furniture, and beds are very good. it is calm. I could not hear any noise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anneliese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Anneliese,

Thank you for staying at Olaf's Guest House, and also thanks for the lovely positive review.
Good to know you had a great time here.

We wish to have you here in the future.

Kindest Regards
Olaf;s Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#37 of 110 in Cape Town Central
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#22 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#36 of 156 in Cape Town Central
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sundown Manor
Sundown Manor
#1 of 12 in Fresnaye
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olaf's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olaf's Guest House

Address: 24 Wisbeach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £90 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olaf's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olaf’s Guest House is easy to find. Our guest house is conveniently situated on Cape Town's Atlantic Seaboard, right below Signal Hill, between Beach Rd. and Main Rd. in Sea Point. Olaf’s was built back in 1937, which helps to explain our design, spacious interiors, high ceilings and wooden/tiled floors. And has more recently been renovated and enhanced with touches of up-market African style and charm. We’re just a stone’s throw away from the city center of Cape Town. As well as the V&A Waterfront, Cape Town’s shopping Mecca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Olaf's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olaf's Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing