We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olaf's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olaf's Guest House
Ranked #28 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The neighborhood is wonderful. Their breakfasts are amazing. It is extremely easy to get around, especially to the waterfront and downtown, and just a few blocks from the beach promenade/park area. There are some good restaurants nearby, as well. We stayed for a week, and had nothing but positive interactions with staff. I would recommend Olaf's to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Jordan,

Thank you for taking the time in writing an review.

At Olaf's Guesthouse we aim to have a selection of Items for Breakfast from a Cold Buffet selection to a Hot Breakfast. Rolls are bought freshly in the morning to maintain good quality for our guest.

Service is always important and can make a stay extra special, our staff always give it their all to ensure our guest are happy.

Lastly thank you for rating us 5/5.

We look forward in welcoming you back to Olafs Guesthouse.

Kind regards,

Dominic Braun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    78
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
99
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This place is great! Breakfast is excellent, and all staff members were helpful and courteous. You can get to town, the waterfront, the beach promenade and other locations easily from Olaf's. The place is secure, and the rooms are quite nice. The amenities are good. The pool is small, so don't plan to actually swim.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blythezilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Blythezilla,

We thank you for taking the time in writing an review.

I am glad to hear that you were happy with the service received by us as it makes a big difference on the stay of a Guest. We at Olaf's always give it our all and try too keep all our Guest happy.

Security is always important and is a fear of many people, I am pleased that you found us Secure as we try to maintain the best security possible to make guest feel at ease and worry free.

Olaf's Guesthouse would also like to thank you for the 5/5 rating you have given us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

very good location in a calm area. All personal was very service minded and helpful. the breakfast was over average and the rooms was ok.
you could sit in the small garden in and a glass of wine when you came home. a place to recomend

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hakan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Hakan,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for about Olaf's Guest House

Thank you for rating us 5/5 for service and Location.

It is also good to see you enjoyed our breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have recently had the pleasure of staying at Olaf's in Cape Town. Our stay was unexpectedly short because of a mix up on my part, but the quality could not have been better. I had made a mistake with my dates when I booked and consequently we ended up coming a day late. When that happens the system tosses out the booking and a full charge for the entire stay is made, in our case, three nights. When we arrived the next day, we were surprised to learn that not only did we not have a reservation, but we had paid for three nights of something we were not going to enjoy. I know this sounds very bad, and it was especially bad news after a nine hour flight. However, the real test of customer service is not in avoiding unfortunate situations, but in mitigating them after they happen. Raymond and his team very expertly solved our problem and manged to find us a room in their place for the night. Unfortunately we were not going to be able to stay past that as our unexpected vacancy was quickly snapped up by another booking. We were grateful for what we were able to get. Also, Raymond graciously refunded a full nights charge as he was able to rent the room so quickly.

I will definitely return to Olaf's on my next visit to Cape Town. We were very pleased with the quality and the service of the B&B. And, the location could not be better. It is only two blocks away from the ocean and the neighborhood has excellent restaurants to choose from.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DresdenDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Good Day,

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time in writing a Review.

I am sorry that your stay was cut short.

Thank you for the great review and giving us a 5/5.

We hope to see you return to Olafs Guest House.

With warm greetings from the Sunny Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here on our trip to Cape Town. We found Olaf's to be welcoming, comfortable, clean and very cute. The staff and owner are all so friendly and we felt right at home. The entire property is very lovely. Breakfast every morning was superb, and we especially loved how they offered to make us any kind of eggs we desired. Overall we had a great time at Olaf's and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelbyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Shelby,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review.

We at Olaf's are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and made you feel relaxed and at Home.

I am also glad you enjoyed our breakfast.

We thank you for the 5/5 rating much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvara in Badia, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

A convenient location, nice people, clean and comfortable, great breakfast, a great find. I had a nice little room at the back of the guesthouse which was private and quiet, I had a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: I had a room in the back and loved it, nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DolomitesGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Good Day,

I would like to firstly thank you for taking the time in giving us a review and staying at Olafs Guest House.

I am also glad to see you enjoyed the room and had a good stay with us.

Kind regards,
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We booked Olaf's Guest House for one night in February at the last minute due to the guest house we booked prior to leaving the UK, cancelling on us and I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised.

The room was very nice and the guest house is located very close to the bars and restaurants of Sea Point - well worth the low cost. Honesty fridge with a great selection of refreshments is also available.

Recommended.

Raymond also allowed us to print our boarding passes using his printer which was very kind and saved us time at the airport!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Rob,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review.

We at Olaf's are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are also happy we could help save you time at the Airport by printing out the boarding passes.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#29 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
AfricanHome Guesthouse
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olaf's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olaf's Guest House

Property: Olaf's Guest House
Address: 24 Wisbeach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olaf's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olaf’s Guest House is easy to find. Our guest house is conveniently situated on Cape Town's Atlantic Seaboard, right below Signal Hill, between Beach Rd. and Main Rd. in Sea Point. Olaf’s was built back in 1937, which helps to explain our design, spacious interiors, high ceilings and wooden/tiled floors. And has more recently been renovated and enhanced with touches of up-market African style and charm. We’re just a stone’s throw away from the city center of Cape Town. As well as the V&A Waterfront, Cape Town’s shopping Mecca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olaf's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olaf's Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing