We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hedley Myers”
Review of Olaf's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Olaf's Guest House
Ranked #29 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Hedley Myers”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A really enjoyable stay in a B&B that was well located and offered excellent value for money. Staff and management ever obliging. Highly recommended. Room was clean and spacious and the bed comfortable.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hedley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 29 November 2014
Hello Hedley,

Thank you for the fantastic review on Olaf's and the staff.
Hope to see you on your next visit to Cape Town.

Best regards

Raymond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    81
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
100
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

After staying in one of the larger business hotels during a conference it was a pleasure being in Olaf´s Guest House with its cosy, unique style and friendly personnel. Very comfortable room with large bathroom with window as well! I enjoyed the breakfast and consultation on things to do - overall a very nice short stay as extension of a business trip. I also enjoyed the sound of the sea gulls and the waves of the ocean. Excellent sleep quality!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julia-Muenchen2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 29 November 2014
Hello Julia,

Thank you for staying with us at Olaf's and having a nice stay.

Maybe we will see you on your next trip to Cape town again.

Best regards

Raymond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolseley, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at Olafs as we had a 50th at the restaurant across the road. Was very convenient for us. Well located for us and a nice place to stay if you coming to CT. Staff where lovely and friendly. Close to the Sea Point promenade.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gayledicey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Front Office Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Gayle,

Thank you for nice review about Olaf's Guesthouse. We glad to know you enjoyed your stay.
And we do look forward to having you here again in future :).

Kind Regards
Faheemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed almost a week in Cape Town and spent our entire stay in this little charming guest house, and thanks to the staff, who made our experience in Cape Town memorable and made us feel like home~

Service: Amazing! They go above and beyond, Dominic arranged all the tours for us on the day of our arrival, which saved us hours of research and phone calls. Satisfying breakfast with very diversified choices!
Value: Excellent~
Environment: Although situated in a busy area, the guesthouse is very quiet and private, offering the the perfect environment to relax and rest after long days around the city. Also has a charming pool but was too cold at the time for us to try~
Cleanliness: 5 stars! Daily room service~
Location: Situated 5-10 min walk from Seapoint, conveniently situated close to Hop-on-Hop-off bus stop as well. You can hear the ocean and seagulls!
Rooms: Tidy, cosy and clean. Also has a fridge~

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelEatSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 29 November 2014
Hello Traveleatsmile,

Thank you very much for the super review, can't say much more. All is say in the review

We do hope to see you on your next visit to Sea Point, Cape Town

Best regards

Raymond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was my first. Is it to Cape Town and thanks to Olaf's G.H. Won't be my last. Food very filling, helpful hints from day & nite staff. They arranged tours & A/P pick ups. Disappointed in the $$ tour to the Cape & botanical gardens- changed guides early on only 45 min in the gardens! While she left us at an expensive lunch for 1 1/2 hrs. She even wrote her own rivals. I complained, but no compensation, but Olaf's was much better-felt like home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Front Office Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hello Pamela,

Thank you for your lovely review about Olaf's guesthouse . We are glad that you had a good stay with us. And we definitely looking forward to having you here again in the future.
We have informed the tour company that you weren't happy with the tour.

We try our best to make the guests happy :)))

Kind Regards
Faheemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warendorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I really enjoyed staying at Olaf' s Guesthouse, Sea Point, Cape Town. Service, Cleanliness, Value, Location, Sleep Quality and rooms were just excellent. I will definitely come back. Thanks for all, Raymond. Best wishes, Harold, Germany

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HaraldCBorbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Front Office Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hello Harald,

Thank you for staying at Olaf's guesthouse. Thanks for the great review and excellent ratings.

Our service is always important to make the guests stay extra special, our staff always give their all to ensure our guest are happy.

We look forward to have you here in future. Glad to know you had a good stay.

Kind Regards
Faheemah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Point, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Looks a LOT better on the internet than in reality!!
There was only a cleaner to check us in. She showed us 'our room' a pokey little room off the breakfast room. Not the room I booked.
We didn't even get our bags out the car, we didn't want to be disturbed by everyone in the breakfast room in the morning.
Choose somewhere else. It's not nice and the area is also not good. All seemed a bit cheap and tacky.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank gillv63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello Gill,

Thank you for your review, check in time is from 14.00 to 18.00 if you arrive before the that I as owner do have some thing that have to be seem to. That's my time to get things seen to.
As this is a guest house and only one night was booked, it could be that we have to move a guest to another room for a longer stay.

As you did not stay with us, I don't see how you can give a review.

Your deposit was refunded to you on the 19/04/2014 that what is in my bank statement.

Best regards

Raymond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#44 of 109 in Cape Town Central
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#27 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
AfricanHome Guesthouse
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#28 of 156 in Cape Town Central
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olaf's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olaf's Guest House

Property: Olaf's Guest House
Address: 24 Wisbeach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Olaf's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olaf’s Guest House is easy to find. Our guest house is conveniently situated on Cape Town's Atlantic Seaboard, right below Signal Hill, between Beach Rd. and Main Rd. in Sea Point. Olaf’s was built back in 1937, which helps to explain our design, spacious interiors, high ceilings and wooden/tiled floors. And has more recently been renovated and enhanced with touches of up-market African style and charm. We’re just a stone’s throw away from the city center of Cape Town. As well as the V&A Waterfront, Cape Town’s shopping Mecca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Olaf's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olaf's Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing