We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
Ranked #35 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Our stay in the guesthouse was excellent.
We had a lovely stay at this guesthouse and it is a real insiders´ tip .
It was the perfect location, a beautiful view and lovely cosy interior - but outstanding was the overwhelming hospitality and helpfulness of our host Sharon and Jonny !!!
Thanks so much for all your advices and your support!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sahara1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed on one of our stops for 4 or 5 days during the World Cup and, partly due to our experience at Redbourne with Sharon and Johnny, Cape Town was far and away the highlight of our trip. The charming house's location was great, a short 5 minute drive from the Company's Gardens and town. The setting right on the side of a hill meant that the view was breathtaking, especially in the oft-mentioned breakfast room, which we did not find odd at all. The view was spectacular and we found it quite easy to socialize with our fellow houseguests. Sharon and Johnny set the tone with their friendly and helpful manners. I should also mention that the breakfasts were fantastic and Sharon was very accommodating, even making a special shopping trip for one West Ham fan who requested fish for breakfast. I stuck with the top notch bacon and sausages with eggs. The parking situation didn't bother us one bit, and in fact, Johnny went well out of his way to accommodate a very early start we had one morning, when we were planning to drive to Gaansbaii (3 hrs away) departing at 5am to cage dive with great whites (again, highly recommended). The night before, we had intended to just leave our car on the street outside so as not to have Johnny wake up at an unreasonable hour , but he insisted and helped us park it behind the gate, and had it out ready for us in good time for us to head off. The room was beautiful and well tended to so we have no complaints there. There is no internet, but a common computer with printer that anyone is free to use in the living room.

All in all, a great little gem that I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a cozy, comfortable and friendly place to stay in Cape Town. Sharon and Johnny raise it to another level, so much so that it felt like we were leaving friends when we departed. Sharon, if you're reading this, I will send some pictures soon, as we had promised when we left.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanhk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This was our second stay and Sharon and Jonny were just the same warm and friendly as ever and also their children nothing is too much trouble for them Sharon is always around for advice and map reading she knows Capetown like the back of her hand the food here is always very good and the rooms are very good too we look forward to going back again some time in the future.There is also very secure parking so no worries there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoodleyAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

This is an outstanding place to stay in Cape Town. The rooms are large, well-appointed and clean. Sharon and Johnny are wonderful hosts: friendly and attentive, without being overbearing! Breakfast is amazing, in front of a picture window with a grand view over the city, and with interesting fellow travellers to share conversation. I thought that the car - key system meant that my (rented) car was always safely and securely parked, without any restriction on access to it.
Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Lametti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

My fellow Americans are missing out. I was at the Redborne for an extended stay and met many friendly and interesting guests from Germany, Australia, New Zealand, Israel, Sweden and South Africa. The hosts Jonny and Sharon are the friendliest most helpful BB owners to be found on the planet.. The location in Oranjezicht, a upscale neighborhood in the hills is convenient to down town and to the famous Table mountain. In fact, if you sit outside on one of the lounge chairs by the dip pool, Table mountain is in view and you can watch the cable car ascend and decend the mountain. Even better is breakfast where you have a view out over the city to the waterfront and table bay while enjoying a variety of cold and hot breakfast made the way you like it while Sharon or Jonny helps you plan your activities for the day

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MahwahMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I really liked my time here. Cape Town is a beautiful city, and Redbourne was yet another excellent B & B (South Africa is filled with them, if spend even 1 min looking for them). The location - quiet, residential - was nice, especially if you have a car (free parking); taxi is not expensive from here to city centre. The owners are super friendly, are proud of Cape Town, and know it really well. During the World Cup they took a route that got us to the stadium in 10 mins or less - most everyone else was stuck in traffic for hours. They'll also tell you a route through the wine region which is just stunning. Free internet, great breakfast, clean, good location, excellent advice, etc. - you can't go wrong staying here. Great find.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rappy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We had booked this B&B over 6 months ahead of time as at that time it was hard to find a place in Cape Town for the World Cup. Before booking, I had read up on reviews of this place and one thing that was common amongst all the positive reviews was that every reviewer kept mentioning the hosts, Jonny & Sharon. In part because of the amazing reviews, I went ahead and contacted them regarding availability during the World Cup. Sharon subsequently notified me that the family room was available during our time in Cape Town. Since this was a trip with friends, it was a bit hard trying to get everyone together to decide on a place to stay at each of the cities we were visiting. When I notified Sharon that I would not be able to get back to her in a timely manner, she was more than willing to hold that room for us (and took it off their online booking system...even though we hadn't made any deposits whatsoever). Even after booking, Sharon communicated with us at every turn, and helped us plan our trip even before we set foot in SA. Jonny & Sharon didn't even hesitate once when we requested that we wanted to pay the rest of the money once we got there (Remember, this was DURING world cup...when many places were charging 100% deposits upfront).
The place itself is really nice...with a pool out front (even though we never got to use it...it being winter in SA and all)...the view is AMAZING with table mountain looming over the front of the house & the city in the back (which is where the breakfast room is). The breakfast seating is a bit odd, as one reviewer put it, but I believe the reason is so that the guests get to enjoy the beautiful view of downtown Cape Town. It does get a bit odd talking to your friends, but looking at that view, we weren't talking much to begin with.
The room itself was nice and clean, and the beds were all very comfy. We were settled in the family room, which was rather large. The bathroom was so-so, and although we never had a problem with the water pressure as one reviewer did, we did have a prob with hot water (or lack of) once. It also did get a bit chilly at night and early morn, but I've heard that this is not uncommon in SA since most homes are not equipped with central heating (as in the States) as their winters are short and not terribly cold. In fact, in hindsight, it was chillier at each of the B&Bs we stayed in during our trip in SA (Joburg, PE, Plettenberg Bay, Mossel Bay, and Cape Town).
In our opinion (all 4 of us that went), the thing that sets this place apart is Jonny & Sharon. Every morning Sharon would plan our day's itinerary telling us exactly how to get to diff places (we had rented a car...which is huge plus if you driving outside of Cape Town)....she would take out the map and give us precise directions to each and every place we should hit up, whether we were driving to the wineries in Stellenbosch or driving thru the scenic route to Cape Point & Cape of Good Hope (another of Sharon's idea...we'd have def followed the gps right onto the highway) or going to restaurants on Camps Bay. Jonny's recommendation of Miller's Thumb as our "last" supper before we departed back home was money....it was the best fish we've ever had
(on a side note...speaking of food...if you're headed to Joburg and are going to be in the Melville area....go to Catz Pajama for some of the best steak you've tasted)
we def loved our stay in Redbourne, and although I know that Cape Town is the city of B&Bs, I would not stay anywhere else if I had to make a trip down again. For the money, it's def by far the best B&B you can get.

ps: one reviewer mentioned that they were asked to leave their keys so that their cars be parked at night...and how it was odd because they couldn't come and go as pleased. although it is true that they ask you to leave your keys at night, they do tell you to leave the keys only when you KNOWW you're hitting the hay and not making a trip out. you def don't have to leave your keys....which is what we did a couple of nights when we went out to the bars on Long St. You only want to leave your keys if you want Jonny to park your car inside...but if you see the neighborhood that the place is in, you'll realize that it's totally safe parking the car on the street instead...which is what we did most of the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,421 reviews
Rutland Lodge
#51 of 156 in Cape Town Central
210 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
163 reviews
The Blue House Guesthouse
#40 of 156 in Cape Town Central
101 reviews
Cape Riviera
#34 of 156 in Cape Town Central
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse

Address: 12 Roseberry Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £69 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing