We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully welcoming! A great place to stay in Cape Town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
Ranked #34 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderfully welcoming! A great place to stay in Cape Town.”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

This was our second visit to Cape Town, but our first staying at Redbourne. It had been recommended to us by friends who'd loved their stay.

Jonny and Sharon were helpful even before we arrived - arranging for us to be collected from the airport, and offering to help arrange a hire car. We arrived at the guest house straight off the plane, mid-morning - and were welcomed by Sharon with a big pot of fresh coffee. She let us shower and change before arranging a taxi down to the Waterfront.

The guest-house is set in a lovely quiet suburb of Cape Town - close to the cable car. It has wonderful views across the city and to the sea - you're able to enjoy the view at your leisure as you eat your breakfast each morning. Our room was at the back of the house - with views up to Table Mountain. The room was clean and simply furnished (and had a TV), and had a large bathroom ensuite containing sink, toilet and shower. There is plenty of shared space for guests to relax in - a sitting room with TV and computer with internet, plus a well-stocked honesty bar, which we made good use of each evening - returning to sink a couple of cold Windhoeks as we sat on the back patio next to the cool plunge pool.

Jonny and Sharon were great at suggesting places to eat, booking tables and arranging taxis - nothing was too much bother. I bet Jonny that he couldn't find me a seafood restaurant as good as Panama Jacks - but he did - recommending Miller's Thumb (fantastic food).

Whilst the guest-house is set back from the centre of town it's easily accessible and has the benefit of being quiet - we used it as a base to visit the Waterfront and Robben Island, as well as exploring the area down to Cape Point. Taxi's are now well-organised by a couple of reputable firms in Cape Town - and a ride to the Waterfront from Redbourne will cost you approx 80 ZAR.

We were made to feel very welcome here and would very much love to return again when next in Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltshiretraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
67
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We stayed in the Redbourne Hilldrop guesthouse for 5 nights. Sharon and Jonny are very good and warm hosts. They were always happy to answer our many questions, and they had very good answers. We felt that they did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. That was really "home away from home".

The place is very clean and well decorated. The dining room overlooks the city, and you can see the waterfront from there. Breakfast itself is very good.

The guesthouse is located just below the lower cable car station, so you can go there by foot (20-30 minutes). You can also go by foot to the city (20 minutes) or take a cab.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank erezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

Our stay could not have been better. We stayed in a guest house about a mile away for our honeymoon but decided this time round to stay somewhere more economical. We thought we would have to settled for a less personalised service - however we could not have been more wrong. Sharon and Jonny provided us with everything we needed during our stay. We stayed in a lovely room with a table mountain room, which was perfect.

There is an honesty bar, complimentary port and the breakfasts were the best we had during our stay. We only stayed two nights but on both the restaurant recommendations that Sharon gave us were superb, food is of an extremely high quality in South Africa, but what we had was gourmet style at rock bottom prices.

You also do not need a Sat Nav with directions from Sharon, she was on hand at every point to plan the best routes to take, advise us where not to stop and give us an idea on distances and timings.

I would certainly recommend this to anyone, from the personalised parking service to all the information and guidance, Sharon and Jonny made our stay perfect in every way.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Little_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

The wonderful hosts, Sharon and Jonny, have changed the way we travel. No more stuffy hotels for us. We stayed on the recommendation of a friend when we had trouble finding a hotel suite to accommodate our family. We were welcomed like old friends and treated like family (but family that you liked!). Sharon and Jonny saw to our every need and anticipated issues in advance. All we had to do was enjoy the amazing guest house with its breathtaking views, ultra clean, spacious and comfortable rooms, and great breakfasts. We would never stay anywhere else in the Cape.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESJEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Hospitality doesn't get any better than this. In a lovely area right at bottom of Table Mountain with beautiful views over Cape Town. Taxis are required to get around if you don't have a car but these were arranged by hosts with one of the friendliest cab drivers you'll ever meet (thanks Albert). Were made to feel like part of the family and only problem was that our stay was too short. If I ever visit Cape Town in the future, this is where i'll stay. Thank You Sharon and Jonny

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snadge59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2009

A beautiful restored 4 bedroom house with fantastic views
Sharan and Johnny are the most perfect hosts opening their lovely house for your holiday.
You will get a full English Breakfast overlooking the mountain and your hosts will chat about your plans and offer advice and guidance
Joy and I ,Jenny and John were delighted with our choice of accomodation and would certainly go back again
Thanks to all your lovely family

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franky071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2009

This is easily one of the best B&Bs I've ever experienced. Stayed here in 2005 and again in May 2009. Not much have changed. Which is good. There are several similar B&Bs in the same neighborhood but this one offers the best value and still very, very high quality.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Away-from-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
City Bowl
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Himmelblau Boutique Bed & Breakf...
#39 of 156 in Cape Town Central
49 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rutland Lodge
#46 of 156 in Cape Town Central
209 reviews
City Bowl
Villa Bianca
Villa Bianca
#50 of 156 in Cape Town Central
41 reviews
5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-...
#28 of 156 in Cape Town Central
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse

Property: Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
Address: 12 Roseberry Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing