We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortably friendly”
Review of Cactus House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cactus House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortably friendly”
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Delicious little boutique situated in the cool and convenient little suburb of Oranjezicht. Fab and Very friendly hosts but not OTT. The breakfasts are home cooked and the setting is very relaxing - quick walk to Kloof Street. Just a lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelsInTechnicolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    13
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
48
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This should be advertized as a smoking b&b, because I felt the smoke pervaded my experience. The owner and his boyfriend smoke inside the house, which I think is against the law in a hotel, certainly if it is not advertised as a smokers paradise. The breakfast was sometimes excellent, and sometimes not. All this inattention to detail (and disregard of nonsmokers) is unfortunate because they are all nice guys. Also, the location on the online map shows them at the top of the hill, while they are actually at the bottom, facing quite a busy street. This makes it hard to use the balcony to relax, and I second an earlier reviewer who says there is very little space to hang out other than in the room (also because of the pervasive smoking). And finally, I was told there was a proper desk to work ag: again, inaccurate information; there is a desk on the terrace, but it is not really a desk to work at.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NONSmoker963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Couple of months ago I had luck to find this place through google maps. My expectations were not really high - I was looking just for a cheaper place to stay and needed not more than a bed. And it was one of those times when my expectations weren't fulfilled absolutely.

Julian, Simon and Albert were very welcoming and friendly, and were ready to give a good advice when I needed it. Breakfests were delicious, room was not just a bed but really nice decorated and cosy place to stay. And about the price - as I've written already my expectations weren't fulfilled absolutely... because the price was even lower. When Julian charged my card I was wondering why didn't he charge all the sum. The point was that I got 3rd day for free - it's a low season promotion. I put my 5 to the place and highly recomend it for gay travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey_Piskunov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Clean, decent place to stay. Very good location, attentive staff, filling breakfast. Rooms and bedding were very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tulipjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2012

It was a pleasure to be have been in the guest house for almost 5 days. We really enjoyed our stay, as i said away from home but cactus house was really as home. Julian was very helpful and friendly. He helped us with our shoppings and always available to answer our queries. Julian and Albert thanks a lot for the fresh and hot breakfast in the morning could not ask for better than this. Julian is a great cook, we had a dinner at the guesthouse it was awesome. The friendly atmosphere, cleanliness and peace, i think you will not get elsewhere. Not to forget the view and location of the guesthouse just few kilometres away from Table Mountain makes it more interesting. Julian provided us with his tour operator, i must commend he is really good, we enjoyed our tours with TIM and his jokes.... Overall great experience and i will just say don't hesitate to book with them, it will be an unforgetable experience. Cheers Keep it up Simons, Julian and Albert and thanks a lot for our Stay.

Friends from Mauritius

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Okay, I stayed here months ago and still have it on my to do list to join tripadvisor and write a review. And I have still not forgotten until I check this one off---why? because this place is top notch. Clean, sophisticated, friendly and like home. You can't beat the rooms, the really wonderful guests and the sincere effort by Julian to make you feel comfortable. It's just a nice starting point for an adventure in Cape Town. Plenty of safe parking on the street and, gee, the guy will even cook dinner for you....he charges, of course, but not much and you get the feeling as you chill out over a pasta dish that your own apartment was transported to this gem of a place. Oh yeah, when your done, if you're staying on the second floor, try having a bath on veranda outside watching Table Mountain. You may think you're living a dream.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel2Fulfill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

If you want peace and quiet in a friendly setting, the Cactus House is the place to stay. Our room has a great view of the mountain. The staff (Albert and Julian) were unbelievably friendly and nothing seemed too much effort for them. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ET197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
More Quarters Hotel
More Quarters Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
543 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
526 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-...
#31 of 155 in Cape Town Central
179 reviews
Guesthouse One Belvedere
#79 of 155 in Cape Town Central
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus House

Property: Cactus House
Address: 4 Molteno Rd., Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are... ...an exclusively gay male guesthouse, the only one of its kind in central Cape Town. Since March 2000 Cactus House has a reputation for excellence and for going out of our way for every patron we host. Our aim is to make sure your stay with us is enjoyable, memorable and that every guest leaves our establishment happy. We are at the foot of Table Mountain otherwise proudly known as one of the modern Seven Wonders of the World. Cactus House is your home away from home. The Difference We believe that extra personal attention is important and is exactly what we provide. What better way to spend time in an establishment that has a unique personal ambiance meeting like-minded people whilst having great social interaction at our dinner parties and our South African style barbeques (braais) where you will enjoy good food, exquisite wine and just great company. At Cactus House we have developed many special relationships and continuously seek to improve our service and strive for excellence. We would be delighted to host you and have you experience just what it is that makes us different. The House This beautiful Victorian monument was built in the late 1800s and is designed and decorated with many original features. The House has five stylish en-suite bedrooms with large oversized showers, king sized beds in our Deluxe and Superior rooms and queen size in our standard room. We use only the best percale linen to ensure you get a comfortable good night's sleep. All rooms are equipped with tea & coffee stations, televisions, dvds, cooling fans, heaters and under sheet heating for winter. All rooms, except our Standard room have a balconies with daybeds or outdoor seating, breath-taking views of Table Mountain, Signal Hill and Lions head and our Deluxe room has direct access to our pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cactus House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing