We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Cactus House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cactus House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Love this guest house!
Julian and Simon were superb hosts and the accommodation is beautiful.
Breakfasts were different everyday.
I loved having a bathtub on the balcony with views of the majestic Table Mountain.
It is located opposite a park and within short walking distance from some great restaurants
Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Balcony room upstairs!
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a top guest house. We stayed nearly a week. Simon, Julian and Albert keep the place extremely clean and it is very stylishly laid out. The beds were extremely confortable.

It is located in a nice suburb of Cape Town called 'The Gardens'. You can walk into town in the evenings with numerous top quality resuaurants in close proximity.

Great atmosphere - and hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scottybail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Me and one of my best friends visited Cactus House for several nights during March 2013 and this was an unforgettable experience. Cactus House is super clean, and a comfortable, privately owned gay guest house with service that is beyond amazing. The attention to detail made the stay so special. Julian "the host" kept things orderly and the standards high. He also made healthy, full breakfast . Julian's knowledge, and suggestions on where to eat, places to see and what to do just made it so much easier for us to plan and see so much more than we've come to Cape Town. We will definitely be returning to the Cactus House very soon. Kudos

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Damond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Really enjoyed my very short stay, wish I had more time to explore CT...the view is amazing and so are the people. Thanks Julian for being such a great host. This place a just really a fab little jem close to everything and not OTT which is great when you just need to chill out. Will be back soon for a longer stay!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank View-frm-da-top
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I had a great experience at the Cactus House. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more supportive. They really made the extra effort to ensure I had a great time in Capetown, even helping arrange for sightseeing with a driver for my travel friend and me at the very last minute. Add to that some really amazing meals - I can't say enough good things about this B&B, I will return for sure!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wbic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The place is gorgeous! My room was spacious and cozy, with spectacular views of Table Mountain from my balcony. One of my favorite moments in CT was sipping some excellent South African red wine while soaking in the claw foot tub on my balcony watching the sun set on Table Mountain after a long day of hiking. This was followed by a tasty dinner with my hosts at a nearby seafood place on Kloof Street. So many great restaurants and shops within a short distance too. Julian and Simon are wonderful hosts. They gave great advice on things to do and had plenty of resources on hand. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timmi002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We were 4 friends who visited Cactus House for 10 nights during the spring of 2012 and this was truly an experience never to forget infact, one of THE BEST we've had in a while. Cactus House is a clean, comfortable, privately owned gay guest house with rooms that are just perfect, service that is beyond excellent and attention to detail is so evident, it's almost unreal. Even though there was some renovations happening at the back pool area, Julian "our host" still managed to keep things orderly and of a very high standard. A healthy, scrumptious and satisfying breakfast is served between 8am and 11am (more time than that of many other places) and is prepared when you arrive and not 2 hours before and left to dry. Julian's knowledge, and suggestions on where to eat, places to see and what to do just made it so much easier for us to plan and see so much more than we've come to Cape Town for and I quote.. OUTSTANDING. We will definately be returning to the Cactus House very soon and look forward to seeing the Fabulous new improvements at your guesthouse. Thank you for a wonderful guys.

Room Tip: Guys if you are 4 friends or two couples then I suggest you book the two superior rooms at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#6 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,091 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 130 in Cape Town Central
543 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,351 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus House

Address: 4 Molteno Rd., Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are... ...an exclusively gay male guesthouse, the only one of its kind in central Cape Town. Since March 2000 Cactus House has a reputation for excellence and for going out of our way for every patron we host. Our aim is to make sure your stay with us is enjoyable, memorable and that every guest leaves our establishment happy. We are at the foot of Table Mountain otherwise proudly known as one of the modern Seven Wonders of the World. Cactus House is your home away from home. The Difference We believe that extra personal attention is important and is exactly what we provide. What better way to spend time in an establishment that has a unique personal ambiance meeting like-minded people whilst having great social interaction at our dinner parties and our South African style barbeques (braais) where you will enjoy good food, exquisite wine and just great company. At Cactus House we have developed many special relationships and continuously seek to improve our service and strive for excellence. We would be delighted to host you and have you experience just what it is that makes us different. The House This beautiful Victorian monument was built in the late 1800s and is designed and decorated with many original features. The House has five stylish en-suite bedrooms with large oversized showers, king sized beds in our Deluxe and Superior rooms and queen size in our standard room. We use only the best percale linen to ensure you get a comfortable good night's sleep. All rooms are equipped with tea & coffee stations, televisions, dvds, cooling fans, heaters and under sheet heating for winter. All rooms, except our Standard room have a balconies with daybeds or outdoor seating, breath-taking views of Table Mountain, Signal Hill and Lions head and our Deluxe room has direct access to our pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cactus House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing