We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique home from home - gem of a find!”
Review of Rose Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose Lodge
Ranked #28 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Rose Lodge provided excellent value for money in terms of location, room quality and overall comfort. The home baked breakfasts (muffins, pastries etc) were excellent and it felt like a 'boutique' home from home. Bruce and the team were so, so helpful both before and during my stay. I'd thoroughly recommend staying here and would definitely stay again. Helen, London, UK

Room Tip: Room 3 in 22 on Rose was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chorlton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you Helen. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much and seeing as how you love Cape Town so much I'm sure we'll see you again !
Best wishes,
Amanda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, and Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed at Orange on Rose for 3 days in November 2013. I had a nice and quiet room - clean and in a very nice style.. The B&B is placed ideally to explore Bo-Kaap or the City Bowl. Many thanks to Amanda - she gave me a kind introduction to the location when I arrived and useful recommendations for the city. If I come back to Cape Town once, I would try for sure to get a room here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Manager at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Stefan,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you have made Amanda particularly happy by mentioning her in your review.

Kind regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great, clean place with friendly staff! Very nice bathroom and breakfast area, great breakfast served daily. Good location, 30min walk to Waterfront. We felt very welcome, and got emails and a lot of tips prior to our arival. Exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaUlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Linda,
Thank you for your positive review !
Best regards,
Amanda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, & Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Exellent value for money! Very nice poeple. Easy and safe to walk to city center as well as to hop on hop off bus stops. Fantastic continental breakfest. Helpfull staff. I can only advise to book Rose Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mirek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you Mirek ! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much and look forward to seeing you again !
Kind regards,
Amanda, Edward, Amanda, Coco, Teddy & Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our rooms were located in ORANGE Lodge, just beside house ROSE Lodge. We learnt that the rooms are QUITE different in cleanliness and equipment. Next time we would book again ROSE or ORANGE Lodge, but early with exakt room-wishes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maria Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Manager at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you Maria for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again !
Kind regards,
Amanda, Edward, Amanda, Coco, Teddy & Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Bo-Kaap is a cool place to stay. Our lodge, Wale Lodge, had three rooms and a self service kitchen. Close to the city bowl. Small colorful houses surrounded our street. Nice room and helpful staff. We were very excited about staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hans Petter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us in this unique part of Cape Town ! Come back soon !
Kind regards,
Amanda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, & Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The stay at the lodge was so tranquil, easy parking, close to city Bowl, Table Mountain...and nice restaurants nearby. An absolute recommandation for short and longer stays in the BO Kaap area. Just perfect for those who wish to discover Cape Town as free as a bird ....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear David,
It's always good to hear from a happy guest ! Thank you for taking the time to write.
Regards,
Amanda, Edward, Coco, Teddy, & Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
465 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
175 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 156 in Cape Town Central
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 On Rose
#123 of 156 in Cape Town Central
20 reviews
De Waterkant House
#102 of 156 in Cape Town Central
47 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Lodge

Address: 28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £51 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Lodge, 22 on Rose and Wale Lodge are located in Rose and Wale Street in the colorful historic Muslim Malay Quarter (Bo-Kaap) of Cape Town. It is only a 5 minute walk from downtown CT or the trendy De Waterkant Village (cafes, restaurants, bars & clubs), and within walking distance of Cape Town International Convention Centre, and the V&A Waterfront. All rooms are en-suite with shower (bath) & toilet, TV, safe, air-conditioning, heating, and coffee & tea facilities.The rooms in these old "Malay" houses are not big, but they are all en-suite, with TVs, safes, air-conditioning and heating. Coffee & tea facilities are available in the kitchens and free wifi in the communal areas. We provide a laundry service if required and can arrange your transfers or tours. We are a non-smoking guesthouse and are dog friendly. A substantial continental self-serve buffet breakfast is provided.English, German, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rose Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing