We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Position, spotlessly clean, great value”
Review of Rose Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose Lodge
Ranked #27 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

So easy to get everywhere, in the heart of the bokaap district. Bruce and his friendly team deliver a product that is great value. Coco and Teddy, Bruce's two adorable dogs, are often around to greet you and make you feel at home. I always sleep well on the comfortable beds, and feel safe and secure. I enjoy the modern and relaxed atmosphere where everything has been carefully thought out. The lodges are well managed and clean. I look forward to every return visit.

Room Tip: The room upstairs has a big in-room bath-tub and is more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webbroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to your return visit.
Kind regards,
Bruce and the team at Rose Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

A nice clean and well managed establishment. Enjoyed our stay although a bit worried about parking your vehicle overnight which is on the street. Although the lodge provides coffees and teas,bread, muffins, cereals and fruits,it can do a bit more on providing some hot goodies as you can only have boiled eggs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Logan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Logan,
Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. In order to give our guests a reasonably priced accommodation, we do not do cooked breakfasts. That would cost quite a bit more to employ a cook. Unfortunately you will have to go somewhere else and pay more for that luxury. Luckily most of our guests realize what good value we are and are very happy with our substantial continental breakfast.
Kind regards,
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location is perfect for exploring Cape Town, and the colourful streets around Bo Kaap are incredibly photographic - our room was in one of them.

The room was small but clean and comfortable.

The staff were really friendly and we enjoyed our stay immensly

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Manager at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Helen,
It's great that you enjoyed the accommodation so much. Thank you for your review.
Kind regards,
Amanda, Daniel, Edward, & Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

About 22 on Rose, Room 3
- small means: tiny
- made for hobits! No joke!
- breakfast means: preapared by yourself
- lack of cleaness: bloodprints at the wall
if you are on holiday, you deserve more comfort!!!


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fabio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Manager at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse. We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We wish you would have told us when you checked in that the accommodation was not to your liking. Yes, our rooms are small as advertised on our website. These are old Cape Malay family homes and they are small and have small rooms. We cannot change this, but most of our guests see the charm of them and the very modest price charged for a location in Cape Town which is hard to beat. Yes, the breakfast is self-serve at 22 on Rose and Wale Lodge. This is also made apparent when you book a room in these houses, but some people seem to miss this detail. Some guests don't like it, but others think it's great. If self-serve does not appeal to you, I think it would be best not to book with us. Breakfast is served only at out made guesthouse - Rose Lodge. My staff knows that cleanliness is priority number one and our guests can attest to this. Perhaps we overlooked the marks you saw on the wall and we do apologize.

Kind regards,

Rose Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

If one is just in need of a clean and comfortable place to sleep for the night then Rose Lodge is value for money. Close to the city centre and in a quiet neighbourhood.
The Bo-Kaap neighbourhood gives one a window into a part of the Cape culture.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Phillip David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing our establishment.
Kind regards,
Rose Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Rose Lodge is a very bijou and comfortable lodge. It is situated in Bo Kaap, the picturesque & colourful Malay area, which is in handy walking distance for getting into town.

The building is well kept, clean with modern interior.
Bruce & his staff are very friendly and helpful and he has two lovely dogs - Teddy & Coco.

We stayed two nights here and 1 night down the road at Bruce's other venue: Wale Lodge (because our room was already booked out to someone else for the 3rd night). This is similar (same standard as Rose Lodge), with enclosed outside patio for breakfast, but not quite as nice. Breakfast there is 'self service'.

I would definitely stay at Bruce's again if in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you Chris for taking the time to review our guesthouse.
Kind regards,
Amanda, Edward, coco, Teddy, &Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We found the Rose Lodge well located and value for money.The room was clean and well maintained and staff very helpful and pleasant. secure parking in the street outside the lodge was available and safe (security guard stationed during the night).
Close to amenities that we required.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for reviewing our guesthouse.
Kind regards,
Rose Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
22 On Rose
#122 of 156 in Cape Town Central
22 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 156 in Cape Town Central
469 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
189 reviews
City Bowl
The Lions
The Lions
#23 of 156 in Cape Town Central
135 reviews
City Bowl
The Cape Colonial
The Cape Colonial
#92 of 156 in Cape Town Central
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Lodge

Address: 28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £56 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Lodge, 22 on Rose and Wale Lodge are located in Rose and Wale Street in the colorful historic Muslim Malay Quarter (Bo-Kaap) of Cape Town. It is only a 5 minute walk from downtown CT or the trendy De Waterkant Village (cafes, restaurants, bars & clubs), and within walking distance of Cape Town International Convention Centre, and the V&A Waterfront. All rooms are en-suite with shower (bath) & toilet, TV, safe, air-conditioning, heating, and coffee & tea facilities.The rooms in these old "Malay" houses are not big, but they are all en-suite, with TVs, safes, air-conditioning and heating. Coffee & tea facilities are available in the kitchens and free wifi in the communal areas. We provide a laundry service if required and can arrange your transfers or tours. We are a non-smoking guesthouse and are dog friendly. A substantial continental self-serve buffet breakfast is provided.English, German, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rose Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing