We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted, a perfect few days!”
Review of Wine Desk

Wine Desk
Ranked #102 of 332 Tours in Cape Town Central
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wine Desk is a wine tourism consultancy operating in Cape Town since 2002. We offer a broad spectrum of tours from small group, scheduled day tours, to tailor-made, personalised private tours. Tours are recommended based on each individual's personal interests and preferences. All our guides are cultural and wine specialist guides making your experience an amazing day out with us.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted, a perfect few days!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I travelled to Cape Town to celebrate a joint birthday milestone and wanted to spend a few days in and around Franschhoek and Stellenbosch. We came across Wine Desk via an internet search engine and I am glad that we did. Our guide, Craig had an extensive knowledge of wine and where best to sample it and he took us to many estates/wineries during our stay. He was also excellent company.
Both Maison Chablis and River Manor guest houses were charming and really lived up to their ratings and we were made to feel very at home at both of them.
I would recommend Wine Desk, Craig and both guest houses to all my friends and we will be back there again one day.
Thanks Ligia!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    8
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Like many we looked at lots of companies who do similar tours. Wine desk was a cut above with the information and detail offered on their service. After booking we felt we had made the right choice. Our guide Pim arrived to collect us as arranged. Pim was very friendly and knowledgable about the wine and the vineyards. He also helped us with general ZA tips. We had a great day, lunch at Jordan was also top notch. Thanks Pim, thanks Wine desk for a great day. We would definately recommend to others.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JMBKMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3 Days of Wine Indulgence”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

When planning our holiday we decided that wine should feature. We set about the obligatory "googling" and came across many pre-planned wine tours. None of them really hit the mark. Then we found Wine Desk. BOOM! That was like striking gold. We sent a speculative e-mail through outlining the things we love (wine... obviously, food, wine & food matching, organic production, biodynamics, etc) and Ligia came back in no doubt that she could help us.
She was right, she really could help us and came up with the most wonderful 3 day itinerary. A day each in Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl, taking in 4 tastings a day with food matching alongside some of them. She found us the most wonderful guide in Katie (aka Winefairy) who made the whole experience an absolute pleasure.
Not only were the choice of wineries and tastings fantastic but also the accommodation for our two nights, Ligia even managed the restaurant bookings for us for each evening, one of which was truly awesome (Rust En Vrede).
Ligia (and Katie) really helped make this 3 days of our holiday truly special and we really couldn't speak highly enough of the service provided.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Payne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Day Ever!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I wanted to design our own tour of the Winelands and Ligia at the Wine Desk was very helpful and we were able to make a fabulous itinerary based on our personal interests (wine, architecture, photography and gourmet dining) our guide was Katie (who was absolutely amazing) and our day was absolutely memorable. We visited La Motte Winery and Boekenhoutskloof Winery for some fabulous tastings, then we carried on to Le Petite Ferme for a delicious lunch on the veranda with a spectacular view. After lunch we toured the charming town on Franschoek then carried on through Helshoogte Pass for spectacular scenery photos. We then visited the lively town of Stellenbosch and finished our day with lovely sundowners and an incredible dinner at Tokata Winery & Olive Farm. Our guide Katie was fun, knowledgable and charming. I highly recommend both Katie and the Wine Desk to anyone who wants and outstanding experience in the Cape Winelands.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlondeBedouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly and Relaxed Wine Tasting Tour”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I took a private wine tour with The Wine Desk to 3 estates (and lunch at another estate) in the Stellenbosch region. We booked our tour via email with the owner, Ligia, who asked questions to tailor our trip to our tastes as well as avoid visiting estates we had already been to. She also made a reservation for us for lunch at The Camphors Restaurant at Vergelegen. Our tour guide, Craig picked us up promptly at our apartment and shared his knowledge of the history of Cape Town as well as more wine-specific information. I found him to be very friendly, knowledgeable and attentive to our likes and dislikes. I would highly recommend Craig as well as The Wine Desk to anyone who is looking for a high-quality, private wine tasting experience by a true professional.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Kassam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine Desk also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Wine Desk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing