We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Fell in love with Africa

My husband and I wanted to see NE Africa. We were on an Overland truck with 13 other adventurers... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Eldon H
,
Waterloo, Canada
Fantastic!!!!

My husband and I did the 43 day adventure trip from Kenya to Capetown. We can’t begin to tell you... read more

Reviewed 24 February 2024
Lorraine A
,
Delta
via mobile
Read all 134 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Cape Town Central
from £68.05
More Info
from £48.37
More Info
from £24.36
More Info
from £27.59
More Info
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
103
19
3
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
103
19
3
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We recently did an accommodated tour with Acacia Small groups from Joburg to Vic Falls, Chobe, Okavango Delta and back to Joburg. The great thing about the small group tours is that they only require two people for a guaranteed departure! Our guide Chris was great! He was well organised and time conscious although relaxed and laid back, managing to balance being on time with Africa time! Apart from the first day (980km), the traveling distances were manageable. The accommodation varied from clean and comfortable to excellent. Food was good with most breakfasts and dinners included in the tour price. We certainly never went hungry! Tours like this are not for fussy eaters though! There was a good balance between activities, sightseeing, game driving and relaxation time. Optional activities were easy to book and well planned. The vehicle was slightly old but comfortable and turned out to be very reliable. We had some amazing wildlife encounters and saw some of the great African sights! Obviously the Falls, Chobe and the Delta were highlights. A special mention to Elephant Sands Lodge were we spent the first 2 nights and had an amazing time watching wild elephants up close! This tour is highly recommended if you do not like camping and do not want to drive yourself through Africa (having Chris escort us at the border crossings made things 1000 times easier)! Thank you Acacia and Chris!

Date of experience: August 2015
3  Thank Shaun_Stell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

We did the 19 day Cape Town - Livingstone tour, which was unforgettable and one of the best things I've ever done.

Our tour guides, Mark and Chanel, were faultless - they were knowledgable, great fun and the food and itinerary was perfect.

I could not recommend Acacia enough - the equipment (truck etc) is the best and is brilliantly maintained.

I will definitely go with them again if I come back to Africa!

Date of experience: February 2015
1  Thank Cbn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline T, Manager at Acacia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Hi Cbn88,

Thank you for the review!
We are so glad to hear that you had a good time with us and more specifically with Mark and Chanel at the helm.
I hope we will see you in Africa again soon to finish the tour all the way to Kenya.
Cheers,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

We have just returned from the most amazing experience in Africa, thanks to Acacia tours. We did back-to-back accommodated tours from Capetown to Vic Falls and from Vic Falls to JoBurg. Both our tours were more than we ever expected with such a wide variety of wild life, scenery, history and cultural visits. We just loved every minute of them.This was thanks in a major way to our guide Berven and driver TJ who went the extra miles to make the trip so good. Nothing was too much trouble. They were knowledgeable, organised and friendly.Our accommodation was very good with ensuites all the way. In some places it was down right luxurious! Our meals on the tour were a combination of restaurants and cooked meals at the truck. All were delicious and so varied and filling. The tour highlights were extensive with a good balance of activities to cater for everyone. We found that the majority of these activities were included, not optional which was also a bonus. There were other optional activities including flights over the Okavango Delta and Victoria Falls and adventure tourism for people to choose. We compared other more expensive tours when we got home and found we had more included and covered more on our tour for half the price! The small group touring was also a bonus. If we went back to Africa we would definitely go with Acacia tours again.

Date of experience: September 2014
4  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2015

We did a 12 day Windhoek to Cape Town tour and loved every minute of it! Both our guide and driver were engaging and knowledgable, the group was a nice mix of young adults that were lovely to travel with, and the stops were well planned. We camped most nights, so the tours are not for the faint of heart, but the sites have hot showers for the most part, and the excursions more than make up for it! Would definitely travel with them again!

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2015 via mobile

I had the best summer tripping through S . Africa, Botswana, Zambia and Namibia with Acacia! Will never forget this experience and every day I wish I was back in Africa! Met some amazing people, the staff were great, food was yum and every day was different and fun!!
Take me back!!
Would never hesitate to book with these again!

Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews