We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bouquet for La Rose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Yoann and Adheera made us feel part of the family in their beautifully appointed B&B. La Rose is wonderfully situated for getting around and for a number of museums and excellent places to eat. The Waterfront is an easy half hour's walk away but the Hop On Hop Off bus stops at two places close by anyway. Rooms and bathrooms are clean, fresh and well kept and breakfast is almost too pretty to eat! Views from the top are fabulous. Thank you so much - wish we'd been able to stay for longer!

Room Tip: There's one room for early risers as the alarm comes from the first breakfasters! I was in the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

Popular location, amazing view on the roof, delicious breakfast, well equipped and well-designed room, staff super friendly and helpful, 100% clean…. One of the best b&b we have visited in SA.
Yoann and his wife offer exactly what we were looking for i.e a lovely and convenient accommodation. Best to book in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antoine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We revisited this lovely B & B again this year. I have to say it was not only as good but improved since our last visit. We need a room for ourselves for several nights as we returned one relative to the airport and waited for another to arrive. Yoann really came through with not only a room for us but a room for one night for our niece. The location is about 4 short blocks from Long Street. If you couple in the fact there is free parking (he has a nightly "car watcher") plus Breakfast, it is more than comparable to Hotels closer to the Green Market Square.. in fact, close to a bargain. Yoann waits up for our arrival (despite having a young family) and he must do that a lot as there were 7 people arriving on the same KLM flight as our niece (nearly midnight). The staff are delightful and the homemade scones a "must" for breakfast. It appears to be a vegetarian breakfast but meat and cheese are easily added to the omelettes if you ask.
You are in the heart of a very Muslim area so be prepared to hear the recorded "Call for Prayer" about 4:30 AM. A closed window silences that intrusion but I find it charming. The ATLAS Spice company is a short walk away and is also a "Must". "Street Wires" and "Avooova" Ostrich shell products are on the path to Long Street and the colorful Bo-Kaap houses are a treat. We really enjoy the proximity to the heart of Cape Town as well as the nearly direct access to the major freeways to the airport and out of town. The addition of a locked gate also added to our feeling of security as our car was fully packed. Twice the security options although the inside area may not always have space. There is even a garden on the top where you can enjoy a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancywim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We have recently enjoyed three nights at this place. Was a little apprehensive at what to expect, but loved it. Fabulous breakfast with excellent choice. Yoann is great, always seems to be around to help out with any query. Room was small but very clean and comfortable. Didn't like the walk down to the waterfront, and liked it less coming back in the dark, but we were told it was safe and we encountered no problems. We preferred to take the car after the first night.
Do not hesitate to use this B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annej56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

stayed 2 nights.yoann is a great host,very good advice on everything you might want to do in cape town.teriffic vibe at breakfast.rooms are small but comfy.location is good 20 minute walk to the waterfront,but use taxis after dark.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Working in the hotel business I tend to be more critical about the places I stay. Quite annoyingly :), on this occasion I have no choice but to join the crowd of 150++ and leave an excellent comment for this little gem in Cape.

The place's location - Bo'Kaap - determines its character, style and gives it lots of old school charm. It was also great to see how inseparable the business is from its hood, witness its owners actively participating in the process of reclaiming the area and its regeneration. It is also a very short walk to Long Street's bars and restaurants, De Waterkant's clubs etc...

I found the La Rose's decor very cute and stylish. The rooms rather smallish and simple but practical, tastefully decorated, impeccably clean with very comfy beds and good quality bedding. Ah, the shower was great as well!

A tasty breakfast served in a common, bright area was a great start to our day.

But the real highlight are the place's owners and hosts. A lovely mix of incredibly welcoming, laid back, open-minded, positive, knowledgeable and helpful people who make the guest experience truly engaging.

Enough said. Thanks for a great stay! We'll be back!

kris+zach

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kriss_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at La Rose from Feb 12-15. We had a small and cozy room that was clean and had air conditioning... La Rose did the trick...it was conveniently located to the city centre (close to long st, waterfront etc...). Additionally, the owner was extremely welcoming and very helpful! The breakfast was tasty...one of the hardest things for us was to leave the dining area after breakfast for some sightseeing because the conversations we had with the owner and guests were so interesting!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enrique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#26 of 156 in Cape Town Central
463 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
971 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
269 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
163 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 32 Rose Street | Bo'Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £64 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rose is an eclectic mix of French, Indian, Cape Malay and African influences, where old world and modern embrace. Each en suite bedroom is unique and stylishly decorated to reflect the colourful Bo-Kaap and South Africa. It is home away from home, designed to cater for tourists as well as business executives and is gay friendly. Centrally located, it is one of the most central areas in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your La Rose Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Bed And Breakfast
La Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
La Rose Bed & Breakfast Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing