We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and welcoming - a good value spot in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We wanted to stay somewhere with a bit more character and individuality for our 3 days in CT - we weren't disappointed. The owners are very welcoming - even booking us a transfer from the airport, as we were landing late at night.
Room, breakfast etc were all spot on - we stayed in the Lilac Suite. The hosts were great at providing tips and ideas for things to do, which we appreciated.
The rooftop is sensational, and the breakfast room lovely!

The only drawback to La Rose we found (which wasn't insignificant) was the sound of the local mosque, which kept us awake through the night, every night. : S not great!
We didn't feel safe walking from La Rose to Long Street, or to the shops and restaurants around Waterkant St. We took taxis which are very cheap, and easy. This isn't the fault of the B&B of course - it's the nature of this city - and particularly Bo-kaap (a point which was reinforced by locals we spoke with).

We would stay again, as it's great value and charming. We would recommend it also, as long as you're aware of the location and understand how to navigate CT safely!

We actually travelled in December 2010 - it's taken me ages to get round to reviewing!

Room Tip: The Lilac Suite was on the first floor and spacious, with a nice bathroom and little balcony overloo...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for La Rose Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

We loved our stay at La Rose. The location has a vibrant neighborhood feel with lots of intersting shops and cafes and is in convienent walking distance to many sites. It was perfect for 2 adults and a teenager during our stay in March 2012. Johann and Indira were incredibly helpful with advice about how best to get to museums and other sites and even arranged a walking tour of Bo Kaap that was one of the highlights of our visit. The rooms were very comfortable and the whole B&B is a gem. Lots of thought went into the architecture and decoration. Last but not least the breakfast was wonderful with fresh baked scones, homemade granola, and lovely eggs. Johann gave us recommendations for restaurants that were all great. If there is room don't hesitate to book, you will be glad you did. We moved here after one night in another hotel in Capetown, and were very happy with the decision.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I picked La Rose because of tripadvisor positive comments for a 4-day visit in March of 2011, when I was in S. Africa by myself. It went so well I came back with my family (spouse, 2 teenagers) in April of 2012.

Joann, the host, was engaged from the first contact, giving me necessary details and helping me arrange a variety of things, from airport transfers, to meal recommendations, to a tour guide (definitely try Jorvan as a tour guide). On my first visit I took a smaller room which was great for one traveler, and on my second visit I took the largest room which was fine for the 4 of us. Each room had beautiful furnishings and very comfortable beds. Breakfast was great. Easy accesss to all of the city's highlights, and guarded parking right out front if you have a car. You'll be very happy with La Rose.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank madwistraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

La Rose is a home away from home. The B&B is a delight in every sense - beautiful furnishings, beautiful art, good food, and hosts who are interesting, well-informed and welcoming. I felt like a child in Disneyland staying there. The area is colourful and vibrant, and is heaven on hills for anyone who is passionate about photography. It is conveniently located and feels like a best-kept secret. I'm returning as soon as I can, and often.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful - if you are a first time visitor, ask for a room facing Table Mountain.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Batwomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at La Rose for 4 nights in April. It is in a great location within walking distance to all of the places we wanted to go (restaurants, shopping, V&A waterfront). We felt completely at ease in the neighborhood.

The B&B itself was very clean and the breakfast ample and delicious. Our room was spacious (the lilac suite, I believe), but a little noisy with the hustle and bustle of the city. We were not too bothered by this. Yoann and his wife were great hosts and helped us greatly with their advice and with our sightseeing plans.

A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Lilac suite is spacious (two separate rooms) and has a nice little balcony to sit and have some wine...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEMontreal_QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We visited Cape Town in mid-April and found this B&B to be conveniently located in town and a lovely place to stay for a few days. The hosts Yoann and Adheera were very friendly and helpful throughout the stay. The neighbourhood itself was colourful and cheerful-looking. The B&B was also pretty and well maintained. One thing though, the room sizes were a little small (the Garden room in particular) compared to other places we have visited. Yoann was extremely helpful in making us feel welcome, giving us tips on where to sight-see, where to eat and shop etc. They even custom-made a special Indian-style beans for our strictly vegetarian parents on every day of the stay. Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Garden room is a bit small. Sun room is better.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

On walking distance from the central part of town in situated in the lively part Bo-cape this B&B gives you al you want if you want to experience Cape Town.
The B&B is build in a number of character full old workman houses, rebuild in a beautiful way.
Nice colorful rooms, equipped with al your wishes give a real African feeling!
Great staff, nice atmosphere en good breakfast are completing the experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#25 of 156 in Cape Town Central
458 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
961 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,026 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
162 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 32 Rose Street | Bo'Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £56 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rose is an eclectic mix of French, Indian, Cape Malay and African influences, where old world and modern embrace. Each en suite bedroom is unique and stylishly decorated to reflect the colourful Bo-Kaap and South Africa. It is home away from home, designed to cater for tourists as well as business executives and is gay friendly. Centrally located, it is one of the most central areas in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Rose Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Bed And Breakfast
La Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
La Rose Bed & Breakfast Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing