We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location and Value Imaginable !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We live in South Africa 6 months of the year. We never go into Cape Town because of the perceived "hassle". What a fabulous location. We walked EVERYWHERE. We asked for the "smaller" room as that is more than enough for us. The breakfast is "OK". not Gourmet but more than adequate. Lots of fresh fruit , bread and jam. Yohaan had a 2 week old son so that could be the reason the food was less than imaginable however, the face of the young cook was more than enough to forgive a few dark spots on an omelette. Would come back in a minute!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancywim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2011

The day we arrived on Dec 17 was the day that the wife of Yoann, the owner, was expecting a baby. He was still waiting for us. We stayed 4 nights at Lilac Suite since we are a family of 3. The room has a good layout of connecting 2 rooms, private but still feel we are in the same room. The bath room is cleanly equipped with bath tub. The room is carefully decorated in details such as the colour, the writing desk, the trouser stand, safe etc. There is a lovely balcony as well. But the room is right on the street, so in the morning there might be a wake-up call from the cars. What disturbed us in the first night was the prayer at 4 am because the B&B is at the Muslim quarter. But from the second night onwards we are used to the little traffic and the prayer.

Buffet is served at the new building behind. Yoann has designed it very nicely with space and open roof. We were told that he even knocked down the ceiling to create the high ceiling that goes right up to the roof. The breakfast comprises jam, muesli, Yoann brought different kind of fresh bread every day. What we like most is the fruit salad which is full with fresh fruits of various kinds. Every day we were looking forwards to the breakfast and were there first for the first few days. The breakfast starts very early from 7 am onwards. The utensils and equipments in the room are of good quality.

The hosts, both Yoann and Albert, are very friendly. They will keep us company every breakfast and we can ask and get all the recommendations from them. We can park the car in front of the B&B, there is a security guarding the area. During the 4 days of our stay, we saw twice the patrol from the horse polices. The square at the central area is in a walking distance about 10 minutes.

It is a very good place and we enjoyed the stay very much with a very dedicated owner. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koelnsperger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We really recommend this b&b! They have great, very individually decorated rooms, we got upgraded in a "suite" in their newly rennovated building which is just great, it even has a roof top where you can enjoy the view of table mountain. The hosts are very nice and professional with good tipps about food, trips etc and what I enjoyed a lot: They like to chat with their guest while sitting at the breakfast table. The breakfast was great, we had real european bread for the first time in 3 weeks and their fruit salad was very good. The b&b is in the safe bo kaap area, with small houses that are painted in bright coulours, they have a night guard to take care of your car and we also walked around at night with no fear at all. We weren't quite sure if they have ac in the rooms, so it might get hot in summertime. But anyway: We can highly recommend La Rose if you are someone who likes to get in touch with other people and who wants to be right in the center of cape town!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adinamuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This is exactly the sort of place I wish every town I visited had available. It has lovely rooms in an interesting building, is spotlessly clean, and there's a bunch of nice people staying and working here, all for a very reasonable cost compared to other options in Cape Town. This is such a good place to stay that I'm already thinking of excuses to come back, so that I can stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Are we to be the first people to write a bad review of La Rose B & B ? Sorry, we can't oblige. La Rose is every bit as good and delightful as all the reviews say it is. The rooms are quirky, clean and comfortable and every one has a safe. My wife and I had the Rose room and our adult son had the Garden room all to himself. Host Yoann is every bit as friendly and helpful as the reviews say he is. So is his charming wife who was expecting thier 2nd child a month or so after our visit, hope it all went well. Just beware you will find it hard to get out after breakfast as the conversation flows! Yoann really is a genial and very helpful host. The location is superb with many places within walking distance, although the 15 minutes estimate to the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is a bit generous, more like 25 for us unless there was a quicker way. If you have a car there is ample street parking overnight, well looked after by the night security guard who is over the road all night. from early evening. Be aware though that if you use the car during the day if you get back before 5 pm the parking spaces are taken by day workers, after that the spaces are there again. Rose Street is next to the M62 road which leads you to Table Mountain in about 10 minutes drive. If you want a resonably priced, centrally placed stay for your Cape Town stay, what are waiting for ??

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yennieandbobbyeales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed at La Rose for 3 nights and appreciate every minute of it including long chats with Yoann. He is such a creative person! The place is extremely clean, breakfast is wonderful, location is the on the most convenient in town. We would there again next time and hopefully a new addition will be ready by then. We saw it almost being finished and loved it. Lots of luck to Yoann and family!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Our only accommodation in Cape Town met our needs to perfection. It begans so well when Yoann collected us from the train that had come in after dark and 5 hours late and we were concerned about safety in that area at night. The room was very comfortable with a good bed, en suite with shower, just enough room to spread out and a safe. Although at the front of the building, street noise did not bother us at all.

Yoann greated us next morning with a fine breakfast and just the advice we needed to enjoy Cape Town. Being located in the Bo'Kaap area meant we had easy access to the excellent Red Bus service which we used for most of our transport and the trendy De Waterkant area for eating. Yoann also provided possibilities for dinner and helped us to learn what was needed to take care of yourself in the area at night. The location also gave walking acess to our city centre hire car which meant we did not have to take luggage with us as we were able to return to La Rose and collect it with the car.

What impressed us? * Yoann's service; the location; the free wireless internet; the cost; the breakfasts and Yoann's service.

We must admit to having to be on the full alert when walking out for dinner so we went early and benefitted from some great savings by doing so. We remained safe taking heed of the advice offered.

If you want to experience Cape Town rather than visit it, stay with Yoann, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiteTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
#50 of 156 in Cape Town Central
99 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#28 of 156 in Cape Town Central
472 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
991 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rose Bed & Breakfast

Address: 32 Rose Street | Bo'Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £48 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rose is an eclectic mix of French, Indian, Cape Malay and African influences, where old world and modern embrace. Each en suite bedroom is unique and stylishly decorated to reflect the colourful Bo-Kaap and South Africa. It is home away from home, designed to cater for tourists as well as business executives and is gay friendly. Centrally located, it is one of the most central areas in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your La Rose Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Bed And Breakfast
La Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
La Rose Bed & Breakfast Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing