We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay in Cape Town!”
Review of Jambo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jambo Guest House
Ranked #56 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must stay in Cape Town!”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Jambo is a wonderful guest house and magnificent place to stay while in Cape Town. Our two week stay felt like home and Barry & Mina were terrific hosts. Situated in Green Point, the location is ideal and only a short, and safe, walk to the V&A water front, Sea Point, and Green Point park and stadium which hosts great dining, shopping, and entertainment. Other areas of the city are also very easily accessible either by car or taxi. Barry and Mina possess a wealth of information on city attractions, events, dining, and entertainment. Always eager to help, they recommended and arranged many activities for us which were all superb. The house itself is wonderfully done with each room containing its own personal touch different from the others. Beautifully decorated and kept, the house is a real gem, maintaining a lush garden with a coi poind, jacuzzi, and sitting areas. Equally impressive is Barry's bar that looks and feels like a vintage english pub. It was great for socializing with Barry, Mina, and the other guests over a few drinks. The guest house service is fantastic. Rooms were made up lovely twice per day. Breakfast was a large spread of croissants, bread, jams, yogurt, fruit, cereal, coffee and more. Barry personnally retrieves fresh croissants every morning from a local maker. Jambo is a wonderful place that I would recommend to all of my family and friends. A personal touch can be seen every where and will enhance your wondeful stay in Cape Town!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctwalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
61
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Jambo is a wonderful little Cape Town bed & breakfast. Barry and Mina are extremely helpful, and the most friendly people you will ever meet. They were definitely one of the highlights of my stay. The others would be the superb contemporary accommodation and scrumptious breakfasts. Jambo is possibly the best Green Point accommodation I have ever stayed at. Thank you to Barry, Mina and the rest of the staff for a terrific holiday!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviahanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We spent 4 nights at Jambo - this was our 4th stay there. Barry and Mina are great hosts and have become good friends over the years. They are mines of information on what to do and where to go in the Cape and nothing is too much trouble for them if you need help or advice in planning and organising your itinerary.
The rooms at Jambo are all quite different but each is full of charm and character and are complemented by the atmospheric "pub/bar" room upstairs. Breakfasts are great. Jambo is in an excellent position; conveniently located for the V&A Waterfront, but only short distances to downtown CT, the vibrant Sea Point area, the new stadium (built for the World Cup) and lovely walks through Green Point common and along to Mouille Point.
We would not hesitate to recommend Jambo to anyone wishing to visit CT and the surrounding area - we would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I would just like to thank Barry and Mina for making our stay absolutely wonderful!
From the delicious breakfasts, to the charming rooms (the Bay Room is very cosy and romantic), to Barry's wonderfully quirky singing - we loved every minute of our stay at Jambo. Thanks so much to everyone who made our trip to Cape Town memorable!

Room Tip: The Bay Room is perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madelaine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCArea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here as we celebrated our 10th anniversary. Although we were booked to stay at Point B Guesthouse, due to renovations, we stayed at Jambo. We were very pleased with the room. It was quaint and comfortable. Our room opened up to a beautiful garden. Lots of plants, a pond with koi, and even 2 cats! The Guest House was in a great location as we could walk to the waterfront. Our hostess was Ursula and she was very friendly and shared some wine with us at their pub. We would definitely recommend Jambo as a great place to stay while in Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BambisMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoek van Holland, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Stayed with Barry & Mina in December last year. We had a lovely time, the house's decor fits well with the age of the property. We spent some time in the lovely garden relaxing in the Jacuzzi which was great. Barry is a wealth of information on Cape Town and was always on hand to help. I defiantly recommend Jambo to any one looking for some where to stay close to the V & A Waterfront and the City.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort West, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

this has to take the pits. the decor is bizarre, claustrophobic: for instance the 'art gallery' is a pokey passageway crammed with amateur art. The Owners are the worst of all. Please when Barry takes out his guitar to bring you 70s oldies, retire to your room. as one reader writes, he hovers around the rooms. I my instance i informed i would receive a guest at 9.30. at 10 0 clock Barry knocked on the door, whilst we were having sex, to say guest must leave. 'for security reasons'. I thought you advertised 24 front desk attendance? He was adamant: guest had to leave. We had no option. Over breakfast the next morning she said in 14 years of running a guest house she has never come across anyone having a guest after 10 pm! i informed her than after 40 years of staying in guest houses, i have never been told that a guest must leave in the evening.. this is the very worst establishment i have ever stayed in. I notice when other guests complain, they are quick to answer back how unpleasant the guest was. why then, has he post trip requested that i become a facebook friend, send me new years greetings. This place should carry a health warning with it. Never agagin

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OomSchalck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTownJambo, Owner at Jambo Guest House, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear Hennie,
We read with interest the comments you posted on tripadvisor but as is the same with the only other two negative reports about Jambo Guest House, there are also blatant lies in yours which need to be corrected.
When other guests complain (all two of them in the last 15 years ! ) yes, we do respond immediately as the world needs to hear both sides of the story. We are responding now to your comments but your date of stay here was February 2010 so I wonder why it took you a year to post your bad comments ?

Everybody is entitled to their opinion but whilst you may think our decor is bizarre, we love it and as for being claustrophobic I cannot imagine that with 4 metre high ceilings you should have felt that way ? You did have full opportunity to view everything on our website before making a booking, so you must have had a very good idea of what we are like, before you made your reservation ?

Art ? The eternal question "But is it Art ? " Yes we do have a gallery in our passage, which was the only space in our converted Victorian home where we could do such a thing and it is our way of being able to support some local artists, of selling some of their work for them and also to be able to enjoy it ourselves. We have works on display by Luka Fernando, Soloman Sekhaolalo, Fula Paxinos (former president of the SA Association of Artists) Speelman Mahlangu - good enough to have previously had a solo exhibition in "Die Kunskamer", in our Waterfront, Lesley Charnock, Antonia Velissariou and others. These artists can hardly be described as "amateur " I am surprised that as you are an artist yourself you are not more tolerant of other peoples work. Is the beauty of art not in the eye of the beholder ? I am sure you get many clients to your own art centre who think some of the material is "amateur" ?

I don't recollect having played guitar for you ? Maybe I did but again, as with the art, 70's oldies might not be to everyones liking but I like them and it is what I play. I never force it upon anybody and never play more than just a few tunes.

We never hover around the rooms-never,ever. Yes we do offer 24 hour front desk attendance. This is so that PAYING GUESTS WHO HAVE A RESERVATION HERE can check in or check out at anytime , not so that guests can invite "friends" to their rooms for, by your own admission, casual sex. There are some establishments like that where one can rent rooms by the hour but we are not one of them. This is indeed a security risk for us, to have perfect strangers who are not registered guests, knowing the security codes and the layout of the place,coming in and out.
Kind regards
Barry and Mina Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#29 of 155 in Cape Town Central
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Point B Guest House
Point B Guest House
#54 of 155 in Cape Town Central
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Diem Lodge
Cape Diem Lodge
#38 of 155 in Cape Town Central
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#15 of 155 in Cape Town Central
563 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Grenadine
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avatara Guest House
Avatara Guest House
#71 of 155 in Cape Town Central
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jambo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jambo Guest House

Property: Jambo Guest House
Address: 1 Grove Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jambo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century and nestling in a quiet cul-de-sac at the foot of Signal Hill in Green Point. This amazing Guest House is set in a sub-tropical walled garden in the heart of urban Cape Town. Jambo is centrally located and a safe 15 minute walk to the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront; while Green Point’s excellent trendy restaurants are only 5 minutes away. The city centre is 4 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Jambo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jambo Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing