We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Cozy Restaurant with Great Service”
Review of Savoy Cabbage

Savoy Cabbage
Ranked #21 of 1,156 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: African, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy creative contemporary cooking in a visually exciting venue. With its historic Table Mountain stone and old brick that dates back to the 18th century, architect Leon Saven's design is complemented by glass, concrete and exposed ducting. Cabbage motif chandeliers and salt dishes, fine table appointments and impeccable service reflect outstanding attention to detail. The menu alters daily, using the freshest local produce and combines unusual flavours to excite the palate of the discerning diner. A boutique wine list which is very reasonably priced.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
1,098 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,161 helpful votes
“Super Cozy Restaurant with Great Service”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A Capetonian recommended this place for me to take out some work colleagues. It was relaxing yet classy with very friendly service (we arrived at 6:45 PM when the staff were still eating and they let us in and allowed us to order drinks).

They are on two levels with a stone floor. Simple, cozy, friendly but classy all at the same time. You can hear yourself talk as the music is very low so great for conversations. They serve eclectical food but also normal food and do have choices for vegetarians.

We had no alcohol or deserts as we had so many of their yummy starters before the main meal and the price for 4 was $95--a bargain for what we got.

Will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    250
    87
    36
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The restaurant is on a quiet side street. The decor is simple but charming. The food was amazing!! We started with Karan beef tartare which was excellent - well-seasoned and very fresh. One of our party had the kudu. For the main, the warthog was delicious as was the fish. The service was attentive, but not intrusive. The wine list was good and the server had great suggestions. The South African port to top off the evening was fun to taste - although we prefer those from the Douro. Book ahead online.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jwthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top class restaurant”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Tonight we entertained our Italian supplier at Savoy Cabbage - what a great choice.
We had a superb meal, service & generally a great experience.
We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bozzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Every little detail was perfect”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After ten days of hard work, my colleague and I treated ourselves to a special mean in the city. Our expectations were met at every level. The waitress helped us select our meals by guiding my collleague towards the pork saying it was "disgustingly evil". which proved to be an excellent choice compared to the mild and simple mushroom stroganoff he had suggested. A beautiful salmon tartare was served as we chose our starters and because my colleague was drinking beer I was able to drink the most sublime red wine by the glass and enjoy a wonder butternut squash, feta and red onion tart while my companion dined on the Norwegian salmon and caviar option. Main courses did not disappoint and at all times the service was impeccable. Assertive, informative and lacking in obsequeiousness! We couldnt fit in a dessert, just a Calvados and we left feeling that this funky city venue with its spacious dining area, exposed brick work and simply divine food was one we MUST come back to

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Even better than my mother's cooking”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

WoW! This was one of the best restaurants that I have ever been to. I started with the spiced nuts salad with infused pears and nuts followed by the kudu loin. Dessert was a selection of quince crumble and a range of puddings. The prices were on the high side but you paying for quality so enjoy yourself! Will definitely go back.....

Helpful?
Thank Barry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Savoy Cabbage also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Savoy Cabbage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing