We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“touristy place on the waterfront”
Review of Balducci's

Balducci's
Ranked #54 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“touristy place on the waterfront”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

this is an average place which serves italian , sushi etc .... there are far better italian places in cape town .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pranav a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Pranav A, thank you for your review. Look out for our new menu coming soon. Regards, Balducci's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    340
    139
    70
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lunch here. It is located in the shopping mall situated on the Waterfront. Not the best location and no view but the food more that make up for that. Excellent and very fresh Sashimi and a great wine list to compliment. Definately worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Richard J, thank you for your review. We use only fresh, never frozen, fish and pride ourselves on the our extensive winelist. Our sister restaurant, Belthazar (also in the V&A Waterfront) has an award winning winelist with over 600 wines, of which over 200 are by-the-glass. We look forward to your next visit with us. Kind Regards, Balducci's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian Cafe-Style Cuisine”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Classic Italian chic meets simple, fresh food, prepared with passion. With its elegant yet understated décor and gratious service, Balducci's unrivalled menu of traditional Italian cuisine includes everyday favourites too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Benjamin317, thank you for those lovely words in your review. We might just quote that later on our website somewhere. We only offer the best quality and freshest ingredients in preparation of our menu items. For nearly 20 years, Balducci's has been know for preparing excellent dishes, offering a wide range of specifically chosen Cape Wines, and offering wonderful, elegant service. It is this that creates a classic dining experience. Hope to see you soon again. Kind Regards, Balducci's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location but ... warning”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I don't know why I have chosen this Prawn Pizza that evening. I remember this was the last dinner in Cape Town closing our African trip. Wine was perfect, my family dishes were very good.
According to the description of nice waitress my choice was to be hot; since I like spicy things my expectations were high (maybe chili oil olive).
I got pizza with pieces of avocado with something acting like prawns (pieces of seafood not similar to prawns, not tasting like prawns), and now, attention, and everything covered by Worcester type sauce. Terrible.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Marcin K. Our apologies that you did not enjoy the Flaming Prawn Pizza. It is a very good seller. We use only queen prawns, deshelled and cooked in our homemade peri peri sauce. It is not Worcester sauce. Fresh avocado is sliced on top of the pizza. We would have gladly replaced your pizza if it were not up to standard. We are sorry that your last experience in Cape Town with us was not a thoroughly happy one. I hope that this does not deter you from visiting us again in the future? Kind regards, Balducci's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Royal Sushi Bar - excellent”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

This is part of Balducci's and situated at entrance to restaurant. The sushi is one of best in Cape Town, ingredients and taste will please even most discerning palate. Service is very good definetly a worthwhile stop if you want to experience excellent sushi.

Helpful?
Thank CK444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear CK444. Thank you for the wonderful review. We pride ourselves in the fact that we use only the freshest Norwegian salmon and tuna in our sushi. Only fresh, never frozen, fish is what makes our sushi so good. Hope to see you soon again on your next visit to V&A Waterfront. Regards, Balducci's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing