We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuban Inspired Cuisine”

Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #42 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Belthazar, a veritable theatre of fine food and wine on the cutting-edge of "shoppertainment". A multi-purpose restaurant, grill, wine bar and gourmet home accessory shop, Belthazar brings a chic new concept in the culinary arts to Cape Town.Belthazar is the realization of a lifelong passion for wine shared by the Belthazar team. Their vision was to create the largest "wine by the glass" wine bar in the world. Experienced sommeliers expertly serve up to 250 of the Cape's finest wines by the glass and advise customers on a wine-list of up to 600 fine wines and sought-after rare vintages.Indulge your palate. Belthazar is so much more than good food and wine. Indulge in the best - from the world's finest wine glasses and revolutionary wine technology to the slick service, superb aged Karan beef, export quality Mozambican shellfish and the freshest South African seafood. We invite you to indulge in the grand finale - a platter of boutique South African cheeses perfectly paired with a selection of Cape port wines...
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cuban Inspired Cuisine”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Latino beats and traditional fare will transport you to Havana. Designed around traditional Cuban, Central American and Caribbean dishes with a Mediterranean influence, the menu also offers varied tapas and Cuban cigars.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you Benjamin for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,189
    743
    318
    163
    117
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great place”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A great wine list. the sommelier was helpful and generous. The waiter was professional. The food was exquisite. .

Visited May 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Greatkitty, lovely to read your review. Everything we have put in to our restaurant concept was to created and ensure exactly dining experience that you had. We hope you will return soon and join us again. Regards, Belthazar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“AGAIN AGAIN”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

These are the best guys in town no doubt, was here and the food was absolutely stunning to say the least, good vibe great ambiance, looks like a lot of effort has been put into this concept, Well done guys

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Wellington, once again, thank you for your wonderful and generous review. We love to hear from regular patrons like yourself. Clearly, what we do, with serving only the best triple A grain-fed beef, Mozambican shellfish, and having a wonderful selection of over 600 Cape wines, is bringing you back "again, again". Look forward to your next visit (I hope you have one of our Loyalty Cards). Regards, Belthazar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing tourist trap”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We dined as a large group so had limited choice on a set menu.

The food was "ok" but nothing special. One friend asked for their meat to be well done but was told by the wait staff this was not possible. There was no flair in any of the dishes. No greens or salad were served with our food either.

What really lets this place down is the poor service. Meals were continually mixed up and so were drinks. One of the wait staff had an argument with one of our friends when he told her she had brought the wrong beer...

The food will no doubt be better from the full menu, but I got the feeling Belthazar is set up to cater to tourists and takes advantage of the location and as a result produces average food and poor service

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear JJswig, thank you for posting your review. With a set dining menu, the host would have chosen what each dish was to be served with. If a salad or greens were required, we would have definitely have prepared some for you. We age our meat in-house in our butchery, and because all our meat is matured for a minimum of 28 days, our meat is best served medium-rare or medium, however our guests ask for it prepared well-done we will gladly prepare it to their liking, however, we don't recommend this. We hope that you will give us another chance by ordering from our main menu. Regards, Belthazar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Won't be Back”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Was at this restaurant tonight - started well enough with an attentive waiter and sommelier to help with the wine choice. The food (fillet, good; game kebab, rather dry) came very quickly - hardly time to sip on the first glass of wine) and was OK. However as we were half way through a loud group of Portuguese girls arrived. Nothing wrong with that (although I wondered about the austerity budget in that country, loaded down as they were by expensive boutique shopping bags) but immediately there was a big fuss to fit them in and this involved setting up a new table. Again I am as keen as the next person on making a buck, but as my chair got banged several times by this exercise and, as we found out when we left, that we had almost completely been hemmed in, it seemed like our little 2 person table ceased to exist. We finished as quickly as we could, and left with a sour taste in our mouth. Disappointing, to say the least.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Richard H, our apologies for the unprofessional way that you were bumped and knocked during your dining experience by passing guests and staff. This is not our standard of service. Each and every customer is important to us and we wish to ensure that all our guests are given the opportunity to experience what Belthazar is about. We hope that you will give us another opportunity. Regards, Belthazar
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing