We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food with good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trees Restaurant

Trees Restaurant
Ranked #272 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: International, Grill, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Trees restaurant overlooks a leafy avenue adjacent to the famed Dutch East India Company Gardens. Thanks to the restaurant's location on the hotel's first floor, and its large glass windows, the experience emulates that of being in a tree house. The 100-seater restaurant has a contemporary look and feel with some striking red accent pieces, a few ladder-back chairs, origami-inspired lampshades and an eye-catching installation at the restaurant's entrance.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice food with good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Nice food with good service, presented well and affordable. Coffee not the greatest but worth the value.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paulbo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I wasn't aware of Trees, even though I visit the mother city often. Friends took me there for dinner and I will without doubt go again. Attentive staff, food mouth watering delicious. ( I recommend the sirloin!). It has a peaceful atmosphere, so ideal for conversations and spectacular views.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance, friendly service and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We went on a Tuesday evening and were seated at a lovely table close to the window. The waiter was friendly, professional and quick. The chef came out to greet us and make his recommendation, which on that night was a sirloin cut. We had a mixed green salad for starter which was a big portion and beautifully arranged on the plate. The sirloin was excellent, done exactly the way we ordered it and in no way less tasty than at steak house. There was a great selection of veggies as well, very well seasoned and cooked perfectly (some of the best veggies I have tasted in Cape Town in many years). We finished off with sharing the chocolate fondont, which was plenty for 3 people to share and delicious. Can definetly recommend and will come back soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Trees restaurant is on the first floor of the Townhouse Hotel. My wife and myself had most of our breakfasts there and also most of our evening meals. The only times we missed out were when we were on tours away from the hotel. The service was good and the food was excellent. It was plentiful, well presented and tasted good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Trip to Trees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Trees Restaurant is situated on the first floor of The Townhouse Hotel. This hotel caters for business people and due to its proximity to Parliament it is usually busy. The restaurant can be quiet, with a number of solo business diners, or couples, however it is laid out and divided in such a way that it doesn't feel empty The restaurant is warm and comfortably furnished in a contemporary style. The tables by the windows are so close to trees outside, its a little like being in a tree-house. There is also a trendy gas-fire which is lit and welcoming all the time. We had the 'grill special' which is steak, veg or starch with a glass of wine. A selection of fresh breads and butter was offered before our delicious main of rump steak with shoestring fries and a selection of fresh vegetables arrived as ordered. My generous glass of Haute Cabriere Pinot Noir was a delight and I was very impressed that a wine of this calibre be served in a 'special'. Overall the service is so friendly, welcoming and warm. The staff doesn't change that often, always a good sign and their attitude is so pleasant it really makes one want to make a return visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank capetownfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trees Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Trees Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing