We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$898
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Commodore(Cape Town Central)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$633
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
109
83
16
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
83
16
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housesweet berriessea pointmorgan freemanblue housethe main housebreakfast tablethree roomsprivate bathroomafrican artcold meatsbreakfast includedbreakfasts were greatfive minute walkother gueststea and coffeewould stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

we stayed 4 nights in Ocean view Guesthouse.
The accommodation was quiet and cosy. The staff was very polite and helpfull.
The atmosphere was very nice and we were very well treated. Every day they serve a daily special at breakfast.

Room Tip: lions room (1st floor) was good
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Henk Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Henk Jan H

We want to say Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse on TripAdvisor.

Our Staff members always take time during check in to give as much information as possible about the Guesthouse, Cape Town and Surroundings. It is easier for the guests to experience this City with some local Tips.

Thanks again for your great Feedback and we already look forward to welcoming you again to Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse.

Kind regards
Yvonne and the Sweetest Guesthouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

So the pick up from the airport was a bit of a mix up but hey it didn't really matter we made our own way to the accommodation and welcomed by the team of staff. Lovely modern, quirky bedroom nice and big and bathroom also. The balcony upstairs gave a lovely view of Sea Point and the location for the Hop On Hop Off Bus just down the road was an advantage. we enjoyed having breakfast with the other travellers and the whole place had a very laid back feeling.

Room Tip: A room upstairs would be the ones to go for just for the quietness of them.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KittyKat1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear KittyKat1976

We want to say Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse on Tripadvisor.

Lovely to hear that you liked our rooms. They are all individually decorated, are modern and unique. It is true that the rooms upstairs are more quiet as the rooms downstairs. Our housekeepers try to be as quiet as possible in the morning while preparing the breakfast table.

Great that you liked the terrace upstairs which is a great place to enjoy an evening drink, look at the sunset and relax after an exciting day in Cape Town.

The Hop on Hop off Bus is a good opportunity to explore the City of Cape Town as well as it stops at the bottom of Table Mountain and goes than along the wonderful beaches back to Sea Point.

We are glad that you enjoyed our great breakfast. It is always great to see how our guests exchange their travel experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming KittyKat1976 back to Sweet Ocean View and thanks again for the great Feedback.

Kind regards
Yvonne and the Sweetest Guesthouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here 5 years ago and last January we were back. Still like the place and the location is perfect! I also like the fact that it is a place with only a few rooms, it feels like living in Cape Town in your own house. The view is very nice and the atmosphere of the place is really good, like the fact that you can get drinks that are in the fridge.

The rooms on the top floor are really hot and I would expect that after 5 years to would have airco in those rooms now, this is really a must, it just gets too hot. Because we knew this from 5 years ago we requested a room on the ground floor because we wanted to be sure to have a good night rest but unfortunately we had a room on 1st floor which is directly under the roof.

And I liked it better that they had the jaccuzi on the rooftop terrace 5 years ago, now it is on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the ground floor because of the temperature.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear EffenDirk,

We thank you for your review and appreciate your time that you spent to compliment it with your comments.

It is true that our rooms are not equipped with aircons, during our summer the nights are generally not to hot to sleep. During your stay we do had a heat wave were it was in deed unusual hot for Cape Town nights.

The Jacuzzi was moved 2 years ago to the lower terrace as we had to face 3 times a flooding, were the entire Jacuzzi lost the water and over 5000 liter destroyed not only the roof terrace, it went through down all the way to the garage. We regret this as well, as we are well aware of the fact how lovely the spot was!

It was a pleasure hosting you again at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse and we hope to welcome you again to your next visit to Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Maggie and the entire team of
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Sweet Ocean Guesthouse is in a nice house and quiet neighbourhood. The interior is stylish and tasteful. However, we stayed in the so called "Seaboard" room situated in the first floor. This room is right behind the kitchen area and in addition very clairaudient (also noise from the second floor coming down like toilet flush, shower, ...). We tried to relax in our room during the day - this was not possible because the employees stayed in the kitchen area and this was as if they would be right in our room accompanied by the common kitchen noise. In the evening, somebody started the whirlpool (located next to our balcony) - it is also very noisy due to an old compressor and you are not able to open the window when it's running without earplugs. The next morning, the kitchen noise started again at 07 am in preparation of the - bye the way very good - breakfast. So overall, if you look for a quiet stay either choose one of the rooms in the second floor or look for another place... In our view, the price for our room was not appropriate.

Room Tip: Don't take the 'Seaboard' room in the first floor as it is right behind the kitchen and entrance area!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheoHueter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Gil_Nina,

We thank you for our time placing this review as well as to round it up with your personal comments. Every review is valuable to us and we would like to take the chance to reply to your comments.

The Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse was built over 100 years ago and it was in it’s early year’s the police station in Upper Sea Point and we are proud that the original wooden floors still exist and we fully restored them, this mirrors the character of the building and obviously it is not soundproof as in modern terms.
All our housekeeper know, that our guest are still asleep while their preparing the breakfast and all of them are trained to work accordingly and keep the noise down.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and we appreciate your comment. All our staff members putting all their effort, in order that every guest feels taking care of.

We appreciate your valuable time to place this review and and we wish you all the best!

Kind regards,
Maggie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse. I don't stay in the house itself but in one of the small houses that are run by the guest house across the street from the main house. It's very quiet and you share the living room and kitchen with another traveler. I never heard or saw the other person during the stay. Great location on dead end street, parking could be a littler difficult if you come in late. Otherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Phillip B,

1st of all we like to thank you for your continued support over the last years, as you visit us every year in January & February. We thank you as well for your review placed here on Tripadvisor.com which is very valuable for us and future travellers, especially your personal comments.

We are looking forward welcoming you in 2015 and we wish you all the best!

Kind regards,
Maggie for
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews