We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Sushi”
Review of Willoughby & Co

Willoughby & Co
Ranked #20 of 1,146 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Sushi”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Tried Willoughby and Co for the first time on a friends recommendation and both my wife and I agree it is the best seafood restaurant we have ever eaten Sushi at. Try "The Bomb" and the " 4 x 4"

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,711
    780
    218
    76
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Namibia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“When in Cape Town...”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have to admit that I am not favorably inclined to restaurants inside shopping malls but for Willoughby & Co I willingly make an exception. Great food, great service and great for people watching. Busy but yet anonymous enough to eat alone. Try the 4x4 combo. Divine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nina_eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad. Not great”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

After always hearing about this great restaurant it was very average. Not bad. Just not as exceptional as i had anticipated. Also, not sure that a second chance is necessary.

Helpful?
Thank ElShezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Was this really sushi!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The place is always jumping, its rare that you find a table available. Make your reservations prior to going to avoid disappointment. We tried various unconventional sushi, strange but strangely good.

We had a light meal unlike other diners, I dont know where they put it. On Sunday afternoon on our way to another restaurant the place was packed and the line waiting was about 30 deep. This tells me a helluvalot about a place. I most definitely want to go back there the only problem is that Cape Town has so many great places its hard to go back to one in a limited stay.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJPSanRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent value with very good fish”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Well, ignoring the fact that I would never normally eat in a shopping mall (and I mean in the middle of the mall - we were seated out in the main walkway!) we decided to give this place a go when we saw the food people were eating. A good choice!

Kingklip Thai curry was the star, but the whole family thoroughly enjoyed our meal, with a very nice bottle of wine and a beer.

Reasonably priced for good food, with prompt and pleasant service. Recommended if you are in the Waterfront and aren't scared off the setting!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank stayathomedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Willoughby & Co also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Willoughby & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing