We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So hospitable and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nine Flowers Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed for five nights at the Nine Flowers Guest House. The house is lovely and historic, our room was spacious and the bathroom was modern. Everything is kept very clean. The breakfast is abundant, varied, and delicious. We had warm conversations with other guests and with our host. The staff is thoughtful; what a treat to return on a winter's evening to find a hot water bottle warming the bed. The guest house is conveniently located but the area is also quiet. We would recommend that you stay here when you visit Capetown.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed three nights with our 16 month daughter in tow. The owner was very accommodating with helping us get set up - we had to use a plastic box for a makeshift bath - and allowed us to use the kitchen to help with her meals. It was a bit of a pain that there wasn't a highchair but that's really our problem. The room was clean and minimal so we found it very relaxing. The staff were the best! They were friendly and tried to do everything they could to make our stay pleasurable (they even watched our daughter for five minutes while we enjoyed our lovely breakfast in peace!).
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlossRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We recently spent three nights at Nine Flowers and although we arrived early we soon got into our room. The room was spacious and comfortable, everywhere was clean and the small courtyard was charming. Lovely place to have breakfast each morning. All the staff were helpful and willingly suggested and booked things for us. Nicely situated near Gardens and on the open-top tour bus route, which is a great way to get about and see the sights. My only suggestions are that the room, which was large, had very little hanging space for clothes, and it was the only place we had to pay for wifi. Although it was not a lot, the wifi could only be accessed in a few the main area and everywhere else it was included in the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Arrived early but this was not a problem, we were greeted with a warm friendly smile,rooms were pristine and the whole place small but quaint, lovley garden to have a cool drink,breakfast was lovley,fresh every thing,walking distance to the city via the Government Gardens.Helpful with tours and restaurant advise.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homer000red_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The room was very nice, large, and modern. The owner is very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast too. There is secure parking as well which is a must have while staying in Cape Town. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor room was a bit noisy from the kitchen staff preparing breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

What a wonderful guest house. Spotlessly clean. Staff fantastic, 300 metres from the Great Synagogue in Cape Town. Were able to cater for our Kosher needs. We will be spending the next few weeks every Sabbath at the guest house and we are looking very forward.

Room Tip: It is very central and very quiet and a real treat of true African hospitality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

It's difficult to put into words what Nine Flowers Guest house is like...it's in a perfict position with views of Table Mountain, it's close to shops and the Government Walk and the Hop on/Hop off busses go past the front door, it is probably the cleanest, prettiest, and friendliest place I have ever stayed in, from the spotless rooms with everything you could want in them, through to the beautiful courtyard garden and plentiful fresh food for breakfast, not forgetting a fresh rose on every table, nothing is too much trouble and the staff are more like friends.
If I had stayed in a 6* hotel I would not have received the service I had here, thank you for having me. Ken (UK)

Room Tip: Mine was only half the way up stairs, light and airy and with Aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nine Flowers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine Flowers Guest House

Address: 133 Hatfield Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £81 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nine Flowers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in the heart of historic Cape Town, our gracious and lovingly restored Victorian homestead and National Monument is close to everything - just across the road from the tranquil Company Gardens, and only few walking minutes away from Parliament, the National Museum and Long Street, with its shops, bars and restaurants.Thanks to its central location, Nine Flowers Guest House is the ideal starting point to explore Cape Town, whether for business or leisure.Dating back to Victorian times, Nine Flowers Guest House offers the charm of that era, in conjunction with up-to-date amenities and infrastructure. In this inspiring ambiance we bid a hearty welcome to all travelers!Your hostsMarrin & Matthias ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Nine Flowers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nine Flowers Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing