We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nine Flowers Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Where I am
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Would definitely return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I had a wonderful 5 night stay at Nine Flowers and would definitely return.

General area: I never felt unsafe and I was travelling alone. That being said, I was often approached and asked for money, but never felt threatened. I also didn't take any silly risks.

PROS:
Breakfast was lovely, especially the daily specials.
FABULOUS location - several restaurants nearby, little convenience store, short walk to Long Street, near both Stop 7 & 8 for the Hop on, Hop off bus, next to Company Gardens
Plug adapter in the room - this was really welcome as South Africa has their own older style of plug (some newer outlets in S.A. have the two prong European style)
Township tour with Laura and the fact that she and her school are supported by Nine Flowers.

I had planned most of my excursions myself so didn't require much advice from my hosts, but my one small complaint was that when I did ask about the end time for a specific activity at Table Mountain, the answer was guessed and not confirmed with the operator by phone. As a result, and it was my last day to be able to do it, I arrived too late and missed my chance. I was quite disappointed, but I guess it just means that I get to try it on my next visit (and I'll be sure to confirm the timing myself). :)

I would highly recommend Nine Flowers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neferTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    54
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
250
35
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reims, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I just spent 3 nights at the Nine Flowers Guest House in Cape Town. The room was beautiful and perfectly clean. The guest house provided high comfort and the staff is very kind. The guest house is located at 10-15 minutes from down town which is very handy for visiting. I strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a beautiful guest house that has the look and field of a comfortable and airy home with the convenience of a hotel. Although situated in the Cape Town CBD, the house is peaceful and one hardly senses the fact of being in the city.

The host, Matthew, is very friendly, has a sincere client focus and really goes out of his way to ensure a comfortable stay.

The facility is also child friendly (the staircase to access bedrooms being the only thing I'd imagine to possibly be a concern for parents).

This is a wonderful and very affordable home-away-from-home with the amenities of a hotel. I highly recommend it for visitors to Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lebogang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

From the moment we knew we would be in good hands. Located just off Company's Gardens, close to friendly neighbourhood bars and up-market restaurants. Matthew was a welcoming friend, an attentive host, and a great advisor on what to do and see, and what to avoid. And the house décor and design was wonderful - a shaded courtyard, communal room / breakfast area, and lovely bedrooms with en-suite.

We have been to Cape Town many times over the last 14 years but usually stayed in Hout Bay or Kirstenhof. Nine Flowers gave us a great base right in the centre of Cape Town, or a few minutes by taxi if nervous about walking at night.

Also, there is a secure car park opposite at no additional charge.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 rooms (having extended our stay) and both were excellent. No reason to doubt the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The B and B is in a really good position, and the staff were so helpful, Matthew has the 3 h,s that is hospitality, helpfulness and a wicked sense of humour, There are a good selection of restaurants in the immediate locality, we went to Societi which was excellent value for money and great food and was in easy walking distance. We stayed here for a few nights to start our holiday and we were looking forward to coming 'home' before we flew back to UK . Thank You

Room Tip: We were happy with the room with a balcony at the front, not that you used the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borntotravel1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My first time in Cape Town and I'm so glad I found Nine Flowers. I stayed for 7 nights so had plenty of time to judge the quality of Nine Flowers and, in that time, can only say that the standard was excellent throughout. All the staff were friendly and helpful, booking taxis, restaurants and providing an excellent laundry service. It was lovely to come back after an evening out to find the bed turned down, a welcoming light on in the room and a little pastry waiting on the bed. Matthias and Marrin, the owners, were friendly and extremely helpful.

I also used their in-house travel service to arrange car hire and accommodation for the rest of my trip. Initially I was a bit anxious that they would try to push the more expensive up-market places but Matthias listened to what I wanted and gave me a few options to choose from, with a range of prices. He also suggested when it might be nice to 'splash out' a little and when it would be easier to save a little money by staying somewhere a bit cheaper. He made some suggestions to change my planned itinerary slightly and gave good reasons why he thought a change might be beneficial. Marrin said that they know the accommodation they recommend and, based on their own clientele, they can judge the types of places that people would like to stay, a simple concept but very useful.

The Guest House is situated in the Gardens area, I felt it was a very safe area and was comfortable walking around on my own. It is easy to walk to the main shopping area, and pleasant to walk through the Gardens to get there. Oh, and afternoon tea at the Mount Nelson Hotel (5 minutes away on foot) is a real treat!

I would certainly recommend Nine Flowers to anyone visiting Cape Town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank GandT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just returned from a 2 weeks trip to South Africa, and while in Cape Town,we stayed at the Nine Flowers Guest House for 3 nights and it was an excellent experience! A great location, being a short - and very safe - walk to lively Long Street and Kloof Street, and also lying right on the Hop On Hop Off bus line. Matthias was an excellent host, very helpful and was always ready to help us with our constant questions and requests, such as arranging our township tour (another experience I would definitely recommend), restaurant reservations etc. To put it simply, Matthias could not do enough for us

As others have said, breakfast was excellent and the rooms were absolutely spotless. For certain, next time we're in Cape Town, we'll be staying at the Nine Flowers for sure

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the inner courtyard but to be honest, the street is pretty quiet so I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carl f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nine Flowers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nine Flowers Guest House

Property: Nine Flowers Guest House
Address: 133 Hatfield Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nine Flowers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in the heart of historic Cape Town, our gracious and lovingly restored Victorian homestead and National Monument is close to everything - just across the road from the tranquil Company Gardens, and only few walking minutes away from Parliament, the National Museum and Long Street, with its shops, bars and restaurants.Thanks to its central location, Nine Flowers Guest House is the ideal starting point to explore Cape Town, whether for business or leisure.Dating back to Victorian times, Nine Flowers Guest House offers the charm of that era, in conjunction with up-to-date amenities and infrastructure. In this inspiring ambiance we bid a hearty welcome to all travelers!Your hostsMarrin & Matthias ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nine Flowers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nine Flowers Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing