We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for breakfast”
Review of Mugg and Bean

Mugg and Bean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Huenstetten
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Excellent for breakfast”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wide selection of nice coffes and great dishes. Quality is really good and most of the dishes are reasonably priced

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pinotage24de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    57
    26
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“nice and clean”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

nice and decent meal, reasonable prices, the service is a bit slow, but in conclusion it is o.k.we tried the restaurant in V & A waterfront. the view is great, please get a table overlooking the water. one thing is about the toilet, it is outside the restaurant, in the mall !!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rafa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Mugg and Bean Constantia Village - still tops after 15 years”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Returning here after being in the UK for ten years was like a reunion with an old but not forgotten friend. Which was incidentally what I did here at each visit - and I came here daily during my one week visit. The service is a lesson to many UK eateries, friendly and chatty and very welcoming, and the food is good. I had a few breakfasts and a supper of lamb chops here and was never disappointed. The outdoor eating experience is first class here and this used to serve as an office away from the office for me when I lived and worked here. Keep it up guys and I'll see you when I return again soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paddywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“A visit to "an old & trusted friend" in a new location" ”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

The Mugg & Bean chain has long been a favourite eating place of my family, especially the Waterfront flagship Restaurant in all it's various locations over the past 20 years or so.

After a quite a long absence I visited to eat breakfast on Sat Mar 15th & although the location may have changed, I'm pleased to say that the service level & food quality are of the same high standard as they always were.

Mugg & Bean is family orientated & has both inside & outside seating. If sitting outside, beware of the probability of visits from the local sea gulls as the area is literally on the Harbour side. Enjoy great views across to Table Mountain as well as other harbourside restaurants from the outside area.

The staff at Mugg & Bean are friendly & efficient & very helpful......when I visited it was extremely busy but all staff were coping & I didn't notice any complaining customers.

A small amount if Free WiFi is available in the Waterfront but it is capped which is very frustrating especially for regular visitors like myself.

All in all Mugg & Bean is a positive dining experience. While largely predictable the menu is extensive & good taking the customer from from breakfast thru dinner at prices to suit every budget & food items to suit every appetite. Vegetarian items are available. A good selection if teas, coffees, juices & sodas are also served.

You won't go wrong at Mugg & Bean, Waterfront.....

Helpful?
Thank Marguerite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I visited several mugg and bean locations while in cape town and we were never disappointed, great coffee and meals. Like the coffee towers with different coffee choices and the huge muffins served with jam and cheese are amazing. Great place to visit for a quick bite.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuru365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mugg and Bean also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Mugg and Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing