We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious!”
Review of Adderley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adderley Hotel
Ranked #87 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We spent 1 night @ this hotel and were very comfortable, although slightly disappointed that after a late arrival (10.05pm) due to a train derailment, we arrived starving only to be told that the kitchen closed at 10.00pm - a sandwich would have done the job, however this was not possible. We had to make do with coffee and a biscuit in the room! Otherwise, the room was clean and comfortable but I do feel they could have been more accommodating with a sandwich. I suppose that's the difference between a B&B and a hotel - personal service!

Room Tip: Bit of traffic noise in the front rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LP519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

Modern, funky and clean hotel with good service, slap bang in the centre of Cape Town. The suites are very big, but can be a bit noisy with traffic from the road outside. Parking was a bit expensive (R45) and there is a charge for wifi which is irritating. Otherwise, a good hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Modern, funky and clean hotel with good service, slap bang in the centre of Cape Town. The suites are very big, but can be a bit noisy with traffic from the road outside.

Parking was a bit expensive (R45) and there is a charge for wifi which is irritating. Otherwise, a good hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Its a very Neat and Clean hotel, Value for money . Location is excellent, 15 minutes walk to Waterfront. Will definitely recommend this hotel, if you want to stay in City center. Front desk staff was really helpful , helped us in getting around the city .

Room Tip: Luxury Rooms are really Good !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manny2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The rooms were nice and BIG! Clean. Great location. It was just a walk away from Long Street. Would've given it 5-star rating if it had free wi-fi. Luckily, due to its great location, it is just across Twankey Bar, which has free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Awaysfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed 3 nights at The Adderley in April 2011. The hotel and the street were it is situated is very very nice. I had a wonderful apartment number 11.2. I was supposed to have a duplex (according to my booking) but reception and reservations were a lot disorganised. So I accepted to stay in a smaller apartment but requested the reimbursement for the price difference. My apartment as said before was in any case really beautiful and the hotel offered me with a basket of fruit for the problem with the room. Apart from disorganisation troubles, I highly recommend this hotel. Also location is very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bimbo_swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We used the Adderley as an overnight stop during our travels, depositing our bags with them early in the day, and merely using the room for showering, sleeping and making toast and tea the following morning, after finally checking in during the evening.

We were able to pay a corkage fee on our own wine (from the excellent nearby region) at dinner, and the food was OK and reasonably priced at their on site restaurant.

WiFi was also available throughout the hotel, and reasonably priced. All in all, I'd thoroughly recommend the Adderley... although a street front room is not as quiet as some people may need ~ mostly from passers by etc.,

We had a wee issue with a taxi, which we ordered the night before. The receptionist grabbed one from the street the next morning, but told him we were going to the airport, when, in fact, we were just going a couple of kilometeres down the road to the rail station! (Without bags, it was within easy walking distance).

Room Tip: See if you can get one away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#38 of 110 in Cape Town Central
917 reviews
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
943 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl
#72 of 110 in Cape Town Central
48 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,013 reviews
Bijoux Aparthotel
#368 of 535 in Cape Town
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adderley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adderley Hotel

Address: 31 Adderley Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Hotel Class:4 star — Adderley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adderley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adderley Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing