We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel stay of my life...especially for the price”
Review of Adderley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adderley Hotel
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel stay of my life...especially for the price”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The Adderley hotel in Cape Town deserves to be #1. We paid 55 dollars a night and got a giant apartment with two couches, kitchen, seating area and seperate bathroom in one room and in the other, a tub, seperate shower and bathroom, two beds, tv, full closet and basin area in the other. t was cleaned to perfection every day. For the money especially, I could not be happier. Unlike most south african major cities, Cape Town's "Financial District" (where Adderley is) is safe to walk around in at night and Adderley's location is perfect. 5 minute walk to Long St (bars/restaraunts), 20 minute walk to VA Waterfront, 10 min walk to Bo Kaap and short drive to Camps Bay, Greenpoint and Sea Point. Seriously, stay at the Adderley. I have been all over the world and have not had an easier, more professional experience like mine at Adderley.

Plus....staff is SUPER friendly.

Only Downside--- restaraunt is expensive, especially for breakfast. Cape Town's restaraunt scene is AMAZING and inexpensive (USD exchange rate was great) so eat cereal in your apartment for breakfast and go for gold for dinner at the best spots in town.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast in the room, go for the top 20 restaurants for dinner. You can afford the Tripadvisor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    99
    34
    6
    11
See reviews for
23
143
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We'd booked to stay at this hotel over the Easter weekend and it felt like we were the only ones there!

We were using a Sat Nav to find the place but you have to look carefully to find the entrance because it's very small! Nevertheless there was a lay-by right outside to pull into so we csould stop to get directions to the car park. This is just round the corner in a multi-story block. You have to drive up many floors to get to the reserved spaces for the hotel! Once there there's an access door straight into the building with lifts down to reception.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful and our rooms large and clean - the ceilings were incredibly high! Mine had a kitchen so it could almost be classed as a self-catering apartment. The downside is that access to the internet was charged for and it seemed like I had to have an SA SIM card in my phone in order to pay for it. My room was at the front of the building facing the road, I had no problems with traffic noise although it was a very quiet weekend. However, I was woken on the second morning by Mariah Carey. Someone must have inadvertantly switched the internal sound system on and Mariah was playing ..... It was switched off soon after I pointed it out.... I wouldn't have minded so much if it was Michael Buble!

The location was good although I didn't feel totally safe walking around at night - even though I was with a burly friend! I don't think that there was the opportunity to have breakfast when we were there. We were directed to two places - both lovely - which were really close by. One, a cafe in the corner which is attached to another hotel, had free internet access and great bacon sandwiches!!

I'd go again if I was on a budget but if it's luxury you're after then I'd probably head to one of the hotels on the Waterfront.

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchen facilities if you need them ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozemct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Booked into the Adderley for 3 nights following a recommendation from a friend. Internet reviews were favourable and price was very competitive. I was not disappointed. Booking into a suite which turned out to be very spacious with its own separate kitchenette and lounge, the bedroom was huge but a little quirky with bathtub in the same room! This is a very modern hotel complete with a bit of designer 'flair'. Overall a very clean well located hotel close to all main city attractions/shops with very friendly staff. I'll be sure to stay again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The Adderley Hotel is very clean, comfortable and extremely central. Have stayed there on many occasions and will keep returning. The reception staff are extremely friendly and make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Large room, good location except there are a lot of strange people in the streets at night which makes one wary of straying too far for dinner. There is a bar on the corner with free Wifi, which compensates for the fact that the hotel still wants to charge for it (progress is coming slowly in S. Africa evidently). The bar is directly opposite the cathedral where Desmond Tutu did some good things. Main park just up the road leading to many of the museums. Good walking through the park. District six and jewish museums both within walking distance and both worth visiting. Fort museum also (where you will see what a bad lot the Brits were during the S. African (Boer) war, what with concentration camps and all). Staff at hotel did the right things, but somehow the soul of customer care is missing. Restaurant in the hotel always seemed to be empty. Walking distance to shops and banks. Short taxi ride to V&A waterfront. Longer ride to table mountain. Red bus (tour around town) stops close by

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Great value and spot if your going to SA. It is a close walk to everything in the heart if the city. The waterfront is a short drive and you'll be home after dinner in less than ten minutes even with traffic.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeannaandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#47 of 109 in Cape Town Central
791 reviews
Cape Diamond Hotel
#77 of 109 in Cape Town Central
257 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
983 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#52 of 109 in Cape Town Central
358 reviews
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#87 of 109 in Cape Town Central
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adderley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adderley Hotel

Property: Adderley Hotel
Address: 31 Adderley Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adderley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adderley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adderley Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing