We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adderley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adderley Hotel
Ranked #80 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel is in a great location in the heart of the bowl, close to the garden market and all shops. It's about a half hour walk to V&A waterfront and Robben Island ferries. We ate at the restaurant and it was lovely. Staff are friendly and very helpful.Rooms are spacious and very comfortable.
There is nothing I can complain about in regard to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannefarrell955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    99
    34
    6
    11
See reviews for
23
143
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I traveled around South Africa during our honeymoon and spent the last leg of the trip at the Adderley Hotel. Our room was beautiful, the staff helpful, and the location is right in the central downtown area. You can do a lot of walking from here to various sites and eats at fab restaurants nearby. All that for $75 a night (during the off season - I'm not sure if it's more at other times of the year).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We had booked it on hotels.com because there was a sale and we were looking for something cheaper. It turned out to be a very nice hotel that must have been recently renovated. Our room was huge and was cleaned every day. The front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. All in all, a great place to stay for a couple days in Cape Town!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sravin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We were finishing off our trip to South Africa, by staying the last two nights in Capetown. As our flight did not leave until 23:20 we booked for 3 nights, so that we could come & go as we pleased on the last day and shower before leaving. On checking in we were informed we had been upgraded to a King Suite-the room was awesome!! The hotel is very central and if you want to go further afield there is a taxi rank outside and it is a short walk to the bus & train stations. We breakfasted in the hotel each morning for 120 Rands (£8), and we also ate dinner there each evening, which again was very reasonable compared to prices in UK. The staff, both in the restuarant and on reception, were extremely helpful & very friendly. I will certainly stay in the Adderley should we visit Capetown again and will recommend to anyone wishing a luxury suite at a very reasonal price. We booked through Agoda (£141) but after booking and paying found we could have got it a bit cheaper through Expedia they were doing 3 nights for price of 2, but hey ho, for the standard of room and facilities we had we would have had to pay the same per night in Edinburgh what we paid for the whole stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

definately a good choice fro those looking to explore Capetown from a central location. the rooms were surprisingly large and comfortable. they were also quite clean.I cannot recommend the restaurant as the service is quite bad but there a alot of great places to just outside the hotel like as it located near longs street.
the staff at the reception are also quite helpful and informative.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 732Shubhi732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Our stay at Adderley hotel was perfect, our little studio apartment like suite was lovely, which we booked for a very reasonable price. The hotel arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport, which is about 25 mins away from the hotel. This hotel is centrally located in the CBD of Cape Town, the area is pretty busy in the day time. There are plenty of restaurants and shops around, as well as a local market in front of the hotel. Cape Town train station is also 5 mins of walking distance away from the hotel. My friend and I took 25 min walks to the water front every night after dinner, we felt pretty safe and enjoyed cappuccinos at the restaurants by the wharf. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful, they guided us to book the Cape Peninsula day tour, which was perfect. The red sightseeing hop on hop off tour bus was also recommended by the staff and was a great way to explore Cape Town for us. Our suite smelled so fresh and pleasant, and was very clean. I would stay at Adderley again and recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonable and comfy time in the lovely CT! At the end of our Cape Town adventure, we walked to the central train station, to catch the Shosholoza Mayl and continued our journey to Johannesberg. My stay at Adderley was very comfortable and felt like a real vaca!!! The only thing I wished for was free internet, but I got over it and purchased internet vouchers at the hotel reception.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubii_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wollongong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We didn't want to leave! We felt so at home we prolonged our stay another week! (2 weeks all up) The staff were lovely and always friendly/approachable. The location is really central and close to shops (Food lovers market right around the corner) gardens where you can feed the squirrels, museums, a short walk to Bo Kaap, V & A Harbour front and markets. The price was very reasonable...The room was awesome, Like a small apartment.... Fully equipped with anything we may need and an interesting view of the hustle and bustle down on the street. Loved having a bath in the bedroom too! :) Although it was on the main street we had no problem sleeping as it was very quiet at night and always something happening during the day. We had no dramas what so ever. It was a great experience which we would love to do again in the future!

Room Tip: we booked 2 rooms on level 3 where the carpark is and our rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katelyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Diamond Hotel
#81 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#56 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adderley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adderley Hotel

Property: Adderley Hotel
Address: 31 Adderley Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Hotel Class:4 star — Adderley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Adderley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adderley Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing