We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adderley Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Townhouse Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Parliament Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun Cape Sun(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
101
99
33
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
99
33
6
11
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We enjoyed our anniversary at the hotel and to our surprise, were upgraded to a luxury suite. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and close to a variety of restaurants, art galleries, museums and the company gardens. The only negative is that we were on the 2nd floor, which can be quite noisy at night with the main road just outside the windows. Other than that, the perfect place for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeillB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent stay at the Adderley Hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our guests.

We highly appreciate your feedback, and your recommendation of our excellent position in Cape Town. We would like to host you again on future visits to our beautiful city.

We have made a note of your floor request for future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me direct for your future bookings.

Kind regards

Dewald van der Berg
General Manager
Adderley Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We found the location perfect and central if you want to walk around central Cape Town and to the Waterfront. It also is close to the gardens which is good for leisure. Within walking distance to Long Street which is great for eating and drinking. Rooms were clean and very comfortable, and the staff were fantastic and helpful. If you want to leave a little extra money in your pocket I would suggest staying here, especially if you like to explore on your own. Taxis are easy to get at this location also.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent stay at the Adderley Hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our guests.

We highly appreciate your feedback, and your recommendation of our excellent position in Cape Town. We would like to host you again on future visits to our beautiful city.
Please do not hesitate to contact me direct for your future bookings.

Kind regards

Dewald van der Berg
General Manager
Adderley Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were very satisfied with the hotel for the price we paid. It's in the central business district, about 20-25 minutes walk to the waterfront. Not great for going back and forth, but taxes were only about $5 each way. We walked during the day when it's safer and took the taxi back at night. Certainly much cheaper than staying at the waterfront.

The rooms were renovated quite well and spacious for what we needed. I like the fact that they had a fridge and microwave for leftover food. The only downside is that the windows let a lot of sound in and there was constant sounds throughout the night which kept us up. If you have ear plugs, then it's a great place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent stay at the Adderley Hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our guests.

We highly appreciate your feedback, and your recommendation of our excellent position in Cape Town. We would like to host you again on future visits to our beautiful city.
Please do not hesitate to contact me direct for your future bookings.

Kind regards

Dewald van der Berg
General Manager
Adderley Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The suite I stayed in was spacious, comfortable and incredibly affordable. The block itself is nothing special but you are a short walk over to the bars/restaurants on Long Street and are very centrally positioned to take a quick cab ride anywhere in the city. Stayed with a friend and our room was huge (king bed, couch, table, kitchenette, spacious bathroom) and the staff set up a roll-away bed at no extra charge. Don't go here for the food (didn't eat at the restaurant since there are so many other good options around), and the roof deck/pool is nothing to write home about (very small and looks over a busy city), but it's a great place to use as your home base while exploring the city and you get great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager S, Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your experience during your recent stay at the Adderley Hotel. We pride ourselves in the standard of product and service we have on offer to our guests.
We highly appreciate your feedback, and your recommendation of our excellent position in Cape Town. We would like to host you again on future visits to our beautiful city. Please do not hesitate to contact me direct for your future bookings.

Kind regards

Dewald van der Berg
General Manager
Adderley Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a business lunch for 10 people at the Bowl Restaurant. There was no waitress and so the hotel receptionist did her best to help out for the hour until the waitress arrived. The food was mediocre and took ages to arrive. The food and the cocktails received were not as described on the menu and deserts were one serving short. When we tried to complain to the manager, we were informed that there was no manager on duty. I have since sent them a faxed complaint and e-mailed a complaint, but have had no response whatsoeve. What was supposed to be a special occasion turned into a disaster.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPROETIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager S, General Manager at Adderley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Janice

The Adderley Hotel, Cape Town certainly prides itself on exceeding guests' expectations, and we sincerely regret not achieving this on this occasion. Please except my sincere apologies for the inconvenience to you and your team. I can assure you that the matter has been addressed with the relevant manager and staff to avoid a recurrence.

I trust that the refreshments and flowers sent to your office was a great treat for you and your team and that we have restored your lost faith in the Adderley Hotel.

We do appreciate your feedback as it assists us in improving the service and product we have on offer to our guests.

With renewed apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews