We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant spot for lunch in Constantia”
Review of River Cafe - CLOSED

River Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pleasant spot for lunch in Constantia”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The River Cafe is one of 3 places to dine at the wine estate, Constantia Uitsig. I understand that the real star of the show (on the estate) is La Colombe. The other restaurant (Constantia Uitsig) is currently closed. We had a lovely, lazy lunch under the trellis at the River Cafe. It has a pleasant, bustling ambience - shaded from the summer sun with the sound of birds in the flowers and trees. The food is good but not gourmet. I chose a salmon trout Niçoise salad and my partner chose the lamb and feta burger. Neither were disappointing and portion size was very generous. This isn't a flash place to eat and we'd recommend it for a long, lazy lunch and a glass or two of wine if you happen to be in Constantia at lunchtime and you miss out on a table at the ever-so-popular La Colombe.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great lunch venue”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We fell on this place by accident and enjoyed it so much that we went out of our way to go back for lunch before we drove back to the airport. The setting is perfect on a hot, summer day with a cool breeze wafting through the pergolas. Lunch is very good with excellent service and very friendly staff. The wine is excellent as well! We would definitely go back next time we are in Cape Town. The prices are very reasonable. A lovely relaxing lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandDgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great afternoon”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

start with a wine tasting at the wine shop and have a 3 course lunch, menu is various, food and wine great. nice and relaxed atmosphere

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GeaTexel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly style”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Accessible, welcoming, away from the crowds, with plenty of parking. The River Café (at the entrance to Constantia Uitsig wine estate) is spacious, efficient and offers a splendid light menu. My friend and I both chose their version of Eggs Florentine, based on a round of crisp rosti potato. Delicious. The place and the menu look more expensive than it is. For dessert, the Choc Fudge Brownie was crisp on the outside and sweetly soft inside. A good list of local wines (including their own, of course). Between up-market Constantia and the Ou Kaapse Weg Pass, a venue worth escaping to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch setting”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Great place to visit for a perfect lunch. Court yard setting is lovely, not too close to other tables. Food is perfect. Service is excellent. Will be returning

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen7350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Cafe also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing