We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-round excellence!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All-round excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed at Nova Constantia for our wedding night and it was fantastic. Service even at 1 am and they had rose petals scattered about the room and complimentary champagne. The jacuzzi outside had been warmed up for us everything was perfect. The room and its finishings are stunning and the view out over Constantia is great. The breakfast the next morning was glorious. I will definitely be making a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    43
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
124
19
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived by fantastic staff here - given the small size of the hotel there is a truly homely feel about the place. Very laid back atmosphere (including an honesty bar!) and great to relax here by the pool. A number of excellent restaurants and vineyards in the surrounding countryside and a great base to explore the city and peninsula. Room was huge, spotless and definitely felt 5 star.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here over the Easter weekend. It's hard to say anything bad about the service and understanding of Leigh (the manager he was fantastic.

I realise you cannot compare a unique, "one of a kind" boutique hotel to a larger hotel chain. But when it comes to grading and "5 star" grading I would say this is slightly misleading.

The Pros:
Nice big spacious rooms
Management willing to help on anything and very knowledgable on surrounding areas.
The room we were staying in had a nice view.
Very comfortable king size bed.

The Cons:
The day of the two oceans marathon (cold and wet) no hot water.
No air conditioning / heating. (who knows how the fireplace works)
Parking limited (very easy to get parked in)
Music constantly playing (I dont want to be woken up by 80's rock music at 6 in the morning)
No extractor fans in the bathrooms.
We had a room right next to the entrance, and I must say the sound proofing was not great.

I wouldn't say the hotel was in any way terrible - just average.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ottocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed here the night of our wedding which was held at a nearby venue.
Everything about the guesthouse is truly 5 star, especially the service. Lee, the GM, catered to all my wife's requirements while she was getting ready during the day and after arriving in the early hours of the morning we were shown to our room complete with special touches like mistletoe, rose petals scattered over the bed and a bottle of bubbly. Sheer magic! After a short comfortable sleep, we arose to an outdoor breakfast to order fit for a king! A special mention to all the staff who made our first day of married life memorable for all the right reasons. We will return as soon as possible and highly recommend this guesthouse for any romantic occasion or special break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekker1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I have spent a couple of days at Nova Constantia. I was there alone, for business, but I never realized that!!!

Edita and Jiri know exactly what a customer wants for feeling confortable like being at home, with the perfect services, the finest quality and always the perfect choises. It is worthwhile for more than a week end. It is the n1 Spot when You come across Cape Town. I strongly recommend it!!!

Guru1966

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guru1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed for 5 nights and loved it. Lee, Dianne and the owner Edita couldn't be more helpful in making our stay a memorable one. Our room was the last available one in the hotel and they told us it was the smallest but it wasn't small at all. The room was practically bigger than my apartment in Manhattan. The room was very nice and the bathroom was beautiful. One very small thing was it could have used a socket for the blow dryer so you can do your hair in the bathroom but not a big deal. For breakfast there were a variety of fresh foods to choose from and very delicious. Even though the weather was not warm enough to use the pool it was a great area to sit and enjoy a morning coffee and if you were lucky you got to see the owners dog who is very sweet and playful. Since we were in the suburbs and about 35 minutes from Capetown we took taxis eveywhere. We probably should have rented a car but by taking the taxis we got to have some good conversations with the local drivers so it made it fun and interesting. We truly enjoyed our stay at Nova Constantia.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaF0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed at this boutique hotel for one night. The room was comfortable and the bathroom had a spacious shower, bath and two basins. I mentioned to the manager that the hair dryer can not be used close to a mirror and he assured me this will be addressed. The complimentary fruit platter was a nice touch. I stayed in a standard room. The manager goes out of his way to please and my breakfast was beautifully presented and exactly as requested.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousMeerkatjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 5 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Constantia Boutique Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Constantia Boutique Residence

Property: Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Address: Corner of Welbeloond Rd & Muscat Lane South | Western Cape, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#1 Business Hotel in Constantia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#2 Family Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nova Constantia Boutique Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Nova Constantia we pride ourselves on not just offering a fine boutique hotel in the heart of the historical Constantia Valley but rather a private residence that exceeds the expectations of even the most seasoned traveller. The hotel is situated in a quiet yet accessible leafy suburb of Cape Town, known as the Constantia Valley, which evolved from the very first wine-producing farms established in the Cape, as early as 1685. This idyllic location provides the perfect setting to relax and rejuvenate with peace and privacy as the ideal. Nova Constantia is a generously well designed space of architectural grandeur. Its African Chic contemporary style reflects the best of what South Africa has to offer. The large private manicured gardens allow you to benefit from the alfresco lifestyle of the Cape and the design theme expands outdoors into several secluded tranquillity areas allowing guests to relax in privacy cocooned in sheer luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nova Constantia Boutique Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing