We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dongola Guest House
Ranked #1 of 39 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday in South Africa. Our first four days were spent at the stunning and welcoming Dongola B & B. From the moment we walked through the door and met Mike,Sally and Dennis we knew the place would be special.

Everything was wonderful; the breakfasts,the views,our room,sipping a glass of chilled white wine beside the pool: but it was the hospitality of Sally,Mike and all the staff that made the stay truly special.Nothing was too much trouble. We really didn't want to leave this little piece of heaven and the places we stayed at after we left didn't even come close to how we felt about Dongola.

Thanks again to all the staff especially Dennis and of course thank you again Mike and Sally for everything.We will be back.

The Thompsons - England.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Geraldine, thank you for the lovely review and the grand praise. So glad you had a fabulous holiday in South Africa and are contemplating coming back. Remember we offer returning guest a discount!!. Regretfully Dennis is no longer with us but Natalie has filled his shoes quite nicely and we can assure of the warmest welcome should you choose to return. warm regards, Mike, Natalie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
77
221
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

A lovely guest house with first class service and run very professionally by Mike and Sally. It has a pool in the gardens and very nice views of the hills and surrounding countryside. Very good value for money and excellent breakfasts as well. All who work at Dongola are very pleasant and the area is very upmarket with local pubs and restaurants. I recommend this highly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soppybollocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear SB, thank you so much for the review and especially for the booking for next year. Hope you and Jan have a great year. Warm regards, Mike and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Dongola House is the best B&B in Constantia. The rooms are very comfortable and the
service is excellent. You really get spoiled by Sally, Mike and Dennis, one can only feel at home.
The view from there is fantastic and the Pool is very relaxing.
A quit and lovely place which we can highly recommend.
We will come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Sandra and Sue, how lovely that you chose to stay with us once again. It was super having you here and the guest walking department loved the extra attention and walks in the park. Hope to see you again one day. Warm regards, Mike and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mafikeng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have just spent my second Christmas in a row at Dongola House. Mike and Sally were as always the perfect hosts. The staff always smiling and helpful. Natalie's full breakfasts ensure a perfect start to the day. You know you're staying in a great guesthouse when you recognize guests from previous stays. The couple from Germany who I met there, in 2012, raved about Mike's wine tour, which I must certainly book next time I am in Cape Town. Dongola House is certainly a home away from home. Where else do you see fellow guests fighting to take the dogs for a walk?

Thanks again, Mike, Sally, Dennis and the girls. Look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaySchaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Ray, you should have mentioned if you wanted to go wine tasting. This trip would have been perfect as you were not with your sweet little daughter, but I promise to take you next time. Warm regards, Mike and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

It was very warm and peacefull stay during our 4 day stop in Dongola house. Nothing to complain about. Mike and Sally are generous and helpful person who lead property very well. The house offers nice view of Table mountain, it is placed in very safe location close to all wineyards of Constantia. Breakfast was of very high standard. Pool was perfectly as we could expect from photos. We would like to come back if we are in South Africa again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JurajSka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Juraj, Thank you for the lovely review. Hope you had a great time cycling the Constantia Valley wine route on your cool fold up bikes. Warm regards, Mike and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is our second visit to Dongola Guest House, we stayed for a wonderful 17 nights with our two children in the Suite with the added bonus of the linked inside Twin room with the extra bathroom. The rooms are immaculate and tastefully decorated. The suite also has an excellent kitchenette, perfect for preparing snacks etc. The rooms are serviced daily to a very high standard, and the laundry service is invaluable and very reasonably priced. The guest house, located in Constantia has a fantastic central location for visiting areas around Cape Town and coastal areas. It has stunning mountain views and the gardens are spectacular. Mike and Sally offer excellent advice on restaurants and activities around the area and are more than happy to book them for you. We have booked again for over the Christmas holiday this year, this time for even longer! If you are looking for something in this area you could not be disappointed by this guest house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123JosieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Joe, Rob, Becca and Ben, wow what an amazing review. We are so glad you found us and are planning your THIRD visit. December to March has is like having family to stay with us because of all of you long staying return guests. Looking forward to seeing the whole family again in December. keep well and hope the year goes quickly. Warm regards, Mike and Sally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

What an awesome place to stay, the surroundings are breathtaking, rooms are classy, luxurious and comfortable. The reception we had received was amazing, the hospitality was out of this world, absolutely awesome. Breakfast was superb and the views whilst enjoying it spectacular. Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacques D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Jaques, whilst we cannot take credit for the view we are proud of our breakfast menu and the care Natalie takes when cooking it. Hope we can give you another amazing reception in the future, warm regards, Mike and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
2.1 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 5 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 39 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
4.8 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glen Avon Lodge
Glen Avon Lodge
#3 of 39 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongola Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongola Guest House

Property: Dongola Guest House
Address: 30 Airlie Place, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongola Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tranquil Constantia Valley (Cape Town's vineyard) and bordering onto the Grootboschkloof River Walk, a small managed nature reserve with stunning views of Constantiaberg mountain, part of Table Mountain National park. Surrounded by 9 vineyards including the 330 year old Groot Constantia, friendly pubs, superb restaurants, from easy eating to fine dining, golf courses and the magnificent Kirstenbosch botanical gardens. With the M3 Highway only three kilometres away you are minutes, by car, from the V & A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Robben Island, The International Convention Centre both Greenpoint and Newlands stadia or the spectacular beaches of the Indian and Atlantic Ocean seaboards with their quaint quirky villages and hip and happening restaurants; as well as the Central Business Districts of Cape Town, Tokai and Retreat. We are a very convenient base for the American Consulate. We can offer King size, Queen size or Twin, extra length beds with fine percale linen, en-suite bathrooms/shower rooms with bathrobes and eco friendly complimentary bath products, in eight comfortable rooms. Our scrumptious a la carte breakfast menu, can be taken in the tranquil landscaped gardens next to the 9m long solar heated pool or in the cosy dining room both with views of Table Mountain National Park .Graded 4 stars by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, 2015 Readers Choice Award by Tripadvisor, 2015 Best 4 Star Guesthouse, Western Cape South African Tourism "Lilizela" Awards. The first guest house in Africa to be Classified "Gold" by Greenline Responsible Tourism Rating Programme a Member of Cape Town Tourism and the Constantia Valley Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Dongola Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongola Guest House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing