We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small touches count”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dongola Guest House
Ranked #1 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked into Dongola House for a night as we wanted to be reasonably close to The Greenhouse, where we had booked to eat. Although the owners were away for the night we were more than adequately welcomed and looked after by Derrick. We were welcomed with a complimentary glass of wine whilst the admin was attended to. Our room was spacious and well equipped,more importantly the bed was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was served on the verandah with panoramic views of the mountain. Grilled kippers, tomato and poached eggs were just what we felt like and the breakfast was cooked with care. Dongola is certainly on of the better B&B's we have stayed in, in Cape Town and would certainly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Bernieiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for the great review. Hope the next time you are in the mood for some fine Cape Town cuisine you choose us again. Warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Mike and Sally provide everything you could want. A warm welcome, lovely location, comfortable beds, wonderful breakfast on the patio and so conveniently positioned for visits to well-known wineries and the Kirstenbosch gardens. Our third stay at Dongola House and we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear John, thank you once again for taking the time out to write a nice review for us. We sincerely hope we see you for trip number 4. Warm regards, Mike Sally, Natalie and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We found ourselves made very welcome by the proprietors and staff who were very friendly and most helpful. The accommodation was immaculate and we enjoyed breakfast by the pool with views over the surrounding countryside.
Constantia is very convenient for visiting other parts of the Cape including Simonstown, the Cape of Good Hope etc. We would rate this as one of the best we have ever stayed in and will certainly return. There are excellent restaurants and estates nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Jack, thank you for the lovely review. Our central position on the Peninsula and close proximity to the vineyards is one of the reasons we chose to live here, the fact it makes good business sense was a happy accident. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Warm regards. Mike, Sally, Natalie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Dongola House is superb. Mike and Sally were very helpful.
The beds are very comfortable and the room was of the highest standard.
We really enjoyed our delicious breakfasts on the beautiful terrace, looking out at the view.
We will be going again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireJessica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Jessica, thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We certainly do hope you are coming back again. Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Dongola House is the most excellent of guesthouses as far as we are concerned. Everything is of the best quality be it hosts, bedrooms, breakfasts and facilities, even down to the recommendations for eating locally or using the local taxi firm. What more can be said.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Robert, thank you for the great review. I did note however that you did not think we were great value for money. I know you booked through a travel agent and I was very surprised in the huge difference they charged you and what we charge if you book direct. Something to consider if you venture this way again. Thanks for the praise, I know you stayed in a lot of guest houses on your trip.Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have stayed in a lot of places around the world. The Dongola Guest House is wonderful. Mike and Sally own (and run) a beautiful, well-kept guest house that is located close to the Constantia wine area and a short drive to Cape Town City on the M3. The breakfast is delicious and the view of Constantia Berg mountain (one eats by the pool) is simply stunning. The Guest house is quiet and well furnished. Mike and Sally are incredibly helpful and the staff are efficient and courteous. Free and fast internet was very welcome. Plenty of good restaurants nearby in Constantia Mall and along Main Constantia Road. Every day we drove to Camps Bay Beach in the late afternoon, along the Atlantic Seaboard side. After a stay of 9 days this past January, I will be returning to Dongola in July, this time with my family for a month-long stay. The Guest House is very safe with activity, well manicured lawns, and attractive shrubbery. Horse riders go by in the afternoons along the green space and water stream that ends at Pagasvlei. Klein Constantia Vineyard is nearby, with Groot Constantia further down the road. You will have a marvellous time!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jefrrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Jeffrey, I think you have a career as a travel blogger. Thank you so much for the stunning review. See you in July. Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A lovely guest house, excellent rooms, great view and great breakfast! The hospitality was second to none. Very friendly staff that made us all feel very welcome. Always offering ideas of where to go and what to see in Cape Town and nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runci11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Alex,thank you for taking the trouble to write your great review. How nice to have the whole family stay this time and certainly hope it will not be the last time we see any of you. Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
439 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,444 reviews
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 60 in Hout Bay
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
312 reviews
Boutique @ 10
#1 of 54 in Camps Bay
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongola Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongola Guest House

Address: 30 Airlie Place, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range: £57 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongola Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tranquil Constantia Valley (Cape Town's vineyard) and bordering onto the Grootboschkloof River Walk, a small managed nature reserve with stunning views of Constantiaberg mountain, part of Table Mountain National park. Surrounded by 9 vineyards including the 330 year old Groot Constantia, friendly pubs, superb restaurants, from easy eating to fine dining, golf courses and the magnificent Kirstenbosch botanical gardens. With the M3 Highway only three kilometres away you are minutes, by car, from the V & A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Robben Island, The International Convention Centre both Greenpoint and Newlands stadia or the spectacular beaches of the Indian and Atlantic Ocean seaboards with their quaint quirky villages and hip and happening restaurants; as well as the Central Business Districts of Cape Town, Tokai and Retreat. We are a very convenient base for the American Consulate. We can offer King size, Queen size or Twin, extra length beds with fine percale linen, en-suite bathrooms/shower rooms with bathrobes and eco friendly complimentary bath products, in eight comfortable rooms. Our scrumptious a la carte breakfast menu, can be taken in the tranquil landscaped gardens next to the 9m long solar heated pool or in the cosy dining room both with views of Table Mountain National Park .Graded 4 stars by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, 2015 Readers Choice Award by Tripadvisor, 2015 Best 4 Star Guesthouse, Western Cape South African Tourism "Lilizela" Awards. The first guest house in Africa to be Classified "Gold" by Greenline Responsible Tourism Rating Programme a Member of Cape Town Tourism and the Constantia Valley Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Dongola Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongola Guest House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing