We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dongola Guest House
Ranked #1 of 38 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was such a nice place to stay. Mike and Sally were so accommodating, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the breakfast was wonderful. All of the staff were really friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this place for a couple, friendls or family to stay while visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rs1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi guys thank you so much for the lovely review, it is good too see our American business is growing and your review can only help. Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
75
219
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great, peaceful house close to wine country. We had a wonderful stay. The people were very friendly (gave great directions and advice), the breakfast was delicious and the room was gorgeous. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Maureen, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, just wish we were able to accommodate for a longer stay. Warm regards, Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We booked into Dongola House for a night as we wanted to be reasonably close to The Greenhouse, where we had booked to eat. Although the owners were away for the night we were more than adequately welcomed and looked after by Derrick. We were welcomed with a complimentary glass of wine whilst the admin was attended to. Our room was spacious and well equipped,more importantly the bed was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was served on the verandah with panoramic views of the mountain. Grilled kippers, tomato and poached eggs were just what we felt like and the breakfast was cooked with care. Dongola is certainly on of the better B&B's we have stayed in, in Cape Town and would certainly recommend it.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bernieiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for the great review. Hope the next time you are in the mood for some fine Cape Town cuisine you choose us again. Warm regards, Mike and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Mike and Sally provide everything you could want. A warm welcome, lovely location, comfortable beds, wonderful breakfast on the patio and so conveniently positioned for visits to well-known wineries and the Kirstenbosch gardens. Our third stay at Dongola House and we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear John, thank you once again for taking the time out to write a nice review for us. We sincerely hope we see you for trip number 4. Warm regards, Mike Sally, Natalie and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We found ourselves made very welcome by the proprietors and staff who were very friendly and most helpful. The accommodation was immaculate and we enjoyed breakfast by the pool with views over the surrounding countryside.
Constantia is very convenient for visiting other parts of the Cape including Simonstown, the Cape of Good Hope etc. We would rate this as one of the best we have ever stayed in and will certainly return. There are excellent restaurants and estates nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Jack, thank you for the lovely review. Our central position on the Peninsula and close proximity to the vineyards is one of the reasons we chose to live here, the fact it makes good business sense was a happy accident. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Warm regards. Mike, Sally, Natalie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Dongola House is superb. Mike and Sally were very helpful.
The beds are very comfortable and the room was of the highest standard.
We really enjoyed our delicious breakfasts on the beautiful terrace, looking out at the view.
We will be going again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireJessica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Jessica, thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We certainly do hope you are coming back again. Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Dongola House is the most excellent of guesthouses as far as we are concerned. Everything is of the best quality be it hosts, bedrooms, breakfasts and facilities, even down to the recommendations for eating locally or using the local taxi firm. What more can be said.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Robert, thank you for the great review. I did note however that you did not think we were great value for money. I know you booked through a travel agent and I was very surprised in the huge difference they charged you and what we charge if you book direct. Something to consider if you venture this way again. Thanks for the praise, I know you stayed in a lot of guest houses on your trip.Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
2.1 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 38 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
4.8 mi away
CUBE Guest House
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 58 in Hout Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Glen Avon Lodge
Glen Avon Lodge
#3 of 38 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongola Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongola Guest House

Property: Dongola Guest House
Address: 30 Airlie Place, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongola Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tranquil Constantia Valley (Cape Town's vineyard) and bordering onto the Grootboschkloof River Walk, a small managed nature reserve with stunning views of Constantiaberg mountain, part of Table Mountain National park. Surrounded by 9 vineyards including the 330 year old Groot Constantia, friendly pubs, superb restaurants, from easy eating to fine dining, golf courses and the magnificent Kirstenbosch botanical gardens. With the M3 Highway only three kilometres away you are minutes, by car, from the V & A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Robben Island, The International Convention Centre both Greenpoint and Newlands stadia or the spectacular beaches of the Indian and Atlantic Ocean seaboards with their quaint quirky villages and hip and happening restaurants; as well as the Central Business Districts of Cape Town, Tokai and Retreat. We are a very convenient base for the American Consulate. We can offer King size, Queen size or Twin, extra length beds with fine percale linen, en-suite bathrooms/shower rooms with bathrobes and eco friendly complimentary bath products, in eight comfortable rooms. Our scrumptious a la carte breakfast menu, can be taken in the tranquil landscaped gardens next to the 9m long solar heated pool or in the cosy dining room both with views of Table Mountain National Park .Graded 4 stars by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, 2015 Readers Choice Award by Tripadvisor, 2015 Best 4 Star Guesthouse, Western Cape South African Tourism "Lilizela" Awards. The first guest house in Africa to be Classified "Gold" by Greenline Responsible Tourism Rating Programme a Member of Cape Town Tourism and the Constantia Valley Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dongola Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongola Guest House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing