We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guest house we've ever stayed at!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dongola Guest House
Ranked #1 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I cannot recommend this place highly enough! My husband and i spent a week here and LOVED it! The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very well presented. The grounds and the views are stunning! Breakfast was certainly a highlight of the day with an amazing selection of delicious food and breathtaking views. Sally and Mike were extremely welcoming and recommended some great places to visit. This place is an absolute must if staying in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Natalie, Natalie says to say hello. I have never had our garden given the grand title "Grounds" before. Thank you for the fine praise and so happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the Ladies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Dongola Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We began our three week holiday with five nights at Dongola House. The rooms are spacious and furnished to a very high standard. Sally and Mike have an eye for detail and provide everything you could possibly need. The exceptionally comfortable lounge has drinks cabinet and fridge, television and computer with internet, library and local information. Breakfast was better than any we have had in 5* hotels. It was served on the patio in the beautiful garden with fantastic views of the mountains(wonderful way to start the day). Sally,Mike and their staff were extremely friendly and helpful. When we returned for the last few days of our holiday it was like coming home. We couldn't have had better accommodation. Thank you Sally and Mike.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Margaret, thank you so much for the lovely review. We try to run Dongola House on the philosophy "a little bit hotel, a little bit home" and you seem to have felt it. Thank you for the praise regarding our services I have shown the staff who love these reviews. Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the Ladies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Simply the most comfortable accommodation run by the most welcoming hosts in front of the most amazing view. Don't think of going anywhere else. If there's availability just book into Dongola, Sally and Mike make you feel like you're staying with friends rather than in a Guest House. We will be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NWSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Neil, it was a pleasure having the whole family here this time and so pleased you all had such a good time. Thank you for the stunning review and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was such a nice place to stay. Mike and Sally were so accommodating, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the breakfast was wonderful. All of the staff were really friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this place for a couple, friendls or family to stay while visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rs1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hi guys thank you so much for the lovely review, it is good too see our American business is growing and your review can only help. Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great, peaceful house close to wine country. We had a wonderful stay. The people were very friendly (gave great directions and advice), the breakfast was delicious and the room was gorgeous. No complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Maureen, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, just wish we were able to accommodate for a longer stay. Warm regards, Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked into Dongola House for a night as we wanted to be reasonably close to The Greenhouse, where we had booked to eat. Although the owners were away for the night we were more than adequately welcomed and looked after by Derrick. We were welcomed with a complimentary glass of wine whilst the admin was attended to. Our room was spacious and well equipped,more importantly the bed was large and very comfortable. Breakfast was served on the verandah with panoramic views of the mountain. Grilled kippers, tomato and poached eggs were just what we felt like and the breakfast was cooked with care. Dongola is certainly on of the better B&B's we have stayed in, in Cape Town and would certainly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Bernieiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for the great review. Hope the next time you are in the mood for some fine Cape Town cuisine you choose us again. Warm regards, Mike and Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Mike and Sally provide everything you could want. A warm welcome, lovely location, comfortable beds, wonderful breakfast on the patio and so conveniently positioned for visits to well-known wineries and the Kirstenbosch gardens. Our third stay at Dongola House and we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear John, thank you once again for taking the time out to write a nice review for us. We sincerely hope we see you for trip number 4. Warm regards, Mike Sally, Natalie and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
497 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
422 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongola Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongola Guest House

Address: 30 Airlie Place, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range: £56 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongola Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tranquil Constantia Valley (Cape Town's vineyard) and bordering onto the Grootboschkloof River Walk, a small managed nature reserve with stunning views of Constantiaberg mountain, part of Table Mountain National park. Surrounded by 9 vineyards including the 330 year old Groot Constantia, friendly pubs, superb restaurants, from easy eating to fine dining, golf courses and the magnificent Kirstenbosch botanical gardens. With the M3 Highway only three kilometres away you are minutes, by car, from the V & A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Robben Island, The International Convention Centre both Greenpoint and Newlands stadia or the spectacular beaches of the Indian and Atlantic Ocean seaboards with their quaint quirky villages and hip and happening restaurants; as well as the Central Business Districts of Cape Town, Tokai and Retreat. We are a very convenient base for the American Consulate. We can offer King size, Queen size or Twin, extra length beds with fine percale linen, en-suite bathrooms/shower rooms with bathrobes and eco friendly complimentary bath products, in eight comfortable rooms. Our scrumptious a la carte breakfast menu, can be taken in the tranquil landscaped gardens next to the 9m long solar heated pool or in the cosy dining room both with views of Table Mountain National Park .Graded 4 stars by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, 2015 Readers Choice Award by Tripadvisor, 2015 Best 4 Star Guesthouse, Western Cape South African Tourism "Lilizela" Awards. The first guest house in Africa to be Classified "Gold" by Greenline Responsible Tourism Rating Programme a Member of Cape Town Tourism and the Constantia Valley Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dongola Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongola Guest House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing