We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dongola Guest House
Ranked #1 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super B&B”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

One of the best B&B's I ever stayed in.
Thank you Sally and Mike for the hospitality.
Beautifull setting and great rooms.
Ideal home-base to explore the Capetown-area and the West Cape.
Thanks and maybe untill next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Henri thank you so much for the review sorry it has taken me so long to respond but I have been travelling myself. Hope to see you in Cape Town the next time you visit South Africa. Warm regards, Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
77
224
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle Of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent accommodation,bedroom well appointed and comfortable.Top class breakfast served in beautiful garden surrounding.We were made very welcome by the helpful and friendly owners and staff.We would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi guys and girls thankyou for the review our first ever from the Isle of Man. Glad you had a good stay with us and hope to see you or some more Manx in the future. Warm regards, Mike and Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was our first stay at Dongola House but at B&Bs. On reading the reviews of other reviewers we were impressed; even more so when we were able to confirm those impressions first hand. Constantia may be far from town to some, but if you can stay away from peak hours, it's not a problem. It's a plus because the area is all you could want - safe, clean, calm, beautiful scenery, all rolled into one in the Southern Suburbs. There's a very good eatery/gathering place just around the corner and a convenient shopping centre just down the road. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and well serviced. And quiet. The staff make you feel really welcome and they are never obtrusive. Sally and Mike combine the best of both worlds: owners who keep a firm grip on the tiller.

But even heaven would be very boring if it were perfect. So it is with Dongola, too. I'm sure that in the hotter months air conditioning would be a plus, although the period ceiling fan did good service during our autumn stay. You do get more sumptuous or lavish breakfasts at some B&Bs, but you will not long for an early lunch when you stay there. They serve an interesting selection of bread and cheese and do the eggs or whatever you fancy so early in the morning without a fuss.

If there is a place to recommend for a nice stay in the Cape, Dongola House would be near the top of the list of B&Bs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TakenForARide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Takenforaride, thank you so much for the comprehensive review. So glad you concur with the previous excellent reviews we have obtained from other guests. We do not have air conditioning, through choice, as we try to be a sustainable and responsible tourism business. We were awarded a Gold classification from Greenline Environmental Management services for our efforts in this regard. We have turbines over each room that effectively remove warm air from the rooms in the hottest part of the year, that coupled with ceiling fans and insulation makes the rooms comfortable on all but the most hot and humid of days, which we could count on the fingers of one hand here in the Cape. As for breakfast we would love you to give us some ideas where we could match the more sumptuous ones you have enjoyed so we could add those items to other 6 items on our current menu. Thank you once again for taking the trouble to write this lovely review and we hope we may be of service to you again in the not too distant future.Warm regards, Mike, Sally and Natalie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Park
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have stayed at Dongola about 5 times now over 2 years. I originally chose the guest house as I needed to be in Constantia yet I now opt to stay there even when on business for Cape Town central. The location is a mere 20 mins drive from town and is peaceful, set in the Constantia vineyards and Constantia village itself has all shops/amenities one might need. I am always welcomed with a friendly face and Sally and Mike are wonderful hosts with great recommendations for the area. In summary, great location, excellent hospitality, comfortable / well equipped rooms and not to mention superb breakfasts make this my number 1 place to stay in Cape Town and surrounds. I will return again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teirrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Read Teirrah, knaht rof eht weiver. So glad you always choose to stay with us on you visits to the Mother City for your trail running. Hope to see you in October for the Grape Run. warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the Ladies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I cannot recommend this place highly enough! My husband and i spent a week here and LOVED it! The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very well presented. The grounds and the views are stunning! Breakfast was certainly a highlight of the day with an amazing selection of delicious food and breathtaking views. Sally and Mike were extremely welcoming and recommended some great places to visit. This place is an absolute must if staying in Cape Town!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Natalie, Natalie says to say hello. I have never had our garden given the grand title "Grounds" before. Thank you for the fine praise and so happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the Ladies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle Of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We began our three week holiday with five nights at Dongola House. The rooms are spacious and furnished to a very high standard. Sally and Mike have an eye for detail and provide everything you could possibly need. The exceptionally comfortable lounge has drinks cabinet and fridge, television and computer with internet, library and local information. Breakfast was better than any we have had in 5* hotels. It was served on the patio in the beautiful garden with fantastic views of the mountains(wonderful way to start the day). Sally,Mike and their staff were extremely friendly and helpful. When we returned for the last few days of our holiday it was like coming home. We couldn't have had better accommodation. Thank you Sally and Mike.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Margaret, thank you so much for the lovely review. We try to run Dongola House on the philosophy "a little bit hotel, a little bit home" and you seem to have felt it. Thank you for the praise regarding our services I have shown the staff who love these reviews. Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the Ladies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Simply the most comfortable accommodation run by the most welcoming hosts in front of the most amazing view. Don't think of going anywhere else. If there's availability just book into Dongola, Sally and Mike make you feel like you're staying with friends rather than in a Guest House. We will be returning!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NWSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Neil, it was a pleasure having the whole family here this time and so pleased you all had such a good time. Thank you for the stunning review and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Warm regards, Mike, Sally, Natalie and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
492 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
544 reviews
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongola Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongola Guest House

Property: Dongola Guest House
Address: 30 Airlie Place, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongola Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tranquil Constantia Valley (Cape Town's vineyard) and bordering onto the Grootboschkloof River Walk, a small managed nature reserve with stunning views of Constantiaberg mountain, part of Table Mountain National park. Surrounded by 9 vineyards including the 330 year old Groot Constantia, friendly pubs, superb restaurants, from easy eating to fine dining, golf courses and the magnificent Kirstenbosch botanical gardens. With the M3 Highway only three kilometres away you are minutes, by car, from the V & A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Robben Island, The International Convention Centre both Greenpoint and Newlands stadia or the spectacular beaches of the Indian and Atlantic Ocean seaboards with their quaint quirky villages and hip and happening restaurants; as well as the Central Business Districts of Cape Town, Tokai and Retreat. We are a very convenient base for the American Consulate. We can offer King size, Queen size or Twin, extra length beds with fine percale linen, en-suite bathrooms/shower rooms with bathrobes and eco friendly complimentary bath products, in eight comfortable rooms. Our scrumptious a la carte breakfast menu, can be taken in the tranquil landscaped gardens next to the 9m long solar heated pool or in the cosy dining room both with views of Table Mountain National Park .Graded 4 stars by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, 2015 Readers Choice Award by Tripadvisor, 2015 Best 4 Star Guesthouse, Western Cape South African Tourism "Lilizela" Awards. The first guest house in Africa to be Classified "Gold" by Greenline Responsible Tourism Rating Programme a Member of Cape Town Tourism and the Constantia Valley Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dongola Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongola Guest House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing