We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay for couples and groups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dongola Guest House
Ranked #1 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Breakfast was most sumptious we would starve the night before so we could eat more! We visited Sally during winter so the pool was not put to good use, Nonetheless, the property is situated in a great neighbourhood, safe even for a morning jog. Sally has a heart of gold and it's evident in the activities she campaigned for. Her dogs were the friendliest labs and really brought joy to our homestay.
Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank squigs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our intention was just to have a B&B that was central, could accommodate my 7 year old son & I and was clean. Well Dongola House was all of this and more!
The staff were extremely pleasant and very hospitable. The accommodation was wonderful, spacious & homely.
My son and I had a ball and it was great to come back each day to a room that was clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were great and the attention we received all round was fantastic.

and to crown it all, the location was nice and central for the greater Cape Town tourist!

We will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Great rooms, neat and tidy, very soft and fluffy bed. The shower is nice and big, lovely view of the mountain, very relaxing atmosphere, great service and friendly people. Close to M3 highway, perfect for business in Constantia. Loved my stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Pietpistool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Piet, thanks for the review. Glad the team looked after you so well in my absence. Hope to welcome you back on your next business trip to Cape Town. Warm regards, Mike Sally and Natalie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stunning location, beautiful house, sleek and well equipped kitchen, and most importantly, beds that wrap you in comfort as the Cape Town winds lull you to sleep. Genuinely the most beautiful guesthouse I've ever encountered with owners that are charming, welcoming and attentive to anything you might need during your stay. Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Michele, thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your stay in our home and look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa one day. Warm regads, , Mike Sally and Natalie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

It was for me the perfect overnight stay: a very heartily welcome, a warm and cosy room and a perfect breakfast. I regretted not staying longer to enjoy the garden and the scenery. I will definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Leen1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for the lovely review and you offer of promotion. So glad you found it cosy here and hope to welcome you back. Warm regards, Mike Sally and Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We found this very very nice place by accident, we were so lucky. We spent 2 days in a very comfortable room. We enjoyed the refined touch in every thing, breakfast was just what we like. Thank you Mike for your personal touch. We shall definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 792Christine_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Christine, thankyou for the review. I am so glad we were able to be of service when you needed us. Warm regards, Mike Sally and Natalie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our stay at Dongola was just amazing. Thank you so very much! Cannot have asked for more. Views are wonderful, Rooms are stunning, great creature comforts. Breakfast was unbeatable and hospitality could not be faulted. Well done! 5 Star without a doubt and so reasonably priced.We will be back for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bronwyn141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dongolahouse, Owner at Dongola Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Bronwyn. Thank you so so much for the stunning review. However we are not 5 start rated but four but we are glad you felt that way and thought it wss good value for money, we strive to give good value. Next time you pop out of the City remeber where we are. Warm regards, Mike, Sally and Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
436 reviews
CUBE Guest House
#1 of 59 in Hout Bay
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
304 reviews
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 81 in Somerset West
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongola Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongola Guest House

Address: 30 Airlie Place, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range: £57 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongola Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the tranquil Constantia Valley (Cape Town's vineyard) and bordering onto the Grootboschkloof River Walk, a small managed nature reserve with stunning views of Constantiaberg mountain, part of Table Mountain National park. Surrounded by 9 vineyards including the 330 year old Groot Constantia, friendly pubs, superb restaurants, from easy eating to fine dining, golf courses and the magnificent Kirstenbosch botanical gardens. With the M3 Highway only three kilometres away you are minutes, by car, from the V & A Waterfront, Table Mountain, Robben Island, The International Convention Centre both Greenpoint and Newlands stadia or the spectacular beaches of the Indian and Atlantic Ocean seaboards with their quaint quirky villages and hip and happening restaurants; as well as the Central Business Districts of Cape Town, Tokai and Retreat. We are a very convenient base for the American Consulate. We can offer King size, Queen size or Twin, extra length beds with fine percale linen, en-suite bathrooms/shower rooms with bathrobes and eco friendly complimentary bath products, in eight comfortable rooms. Our scrumptious a la carte breakfast menu, can be taken in the tranquil landscaped gardens next to the 9m long solar heated pool or in the cosy dining room both with views of Table Mountain National Park .Graded 4 stars by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa, 2015 Readers Choice Award by Tripadvisor, 2015 Best 4 Star Guesthouse, Western Cape South African Tourism "Lilizela" Awards. The first guest house in Africa to be Classified "Gold" by Greenline Responsible Tourism Rating Programme a Member of Cape Town Tourism and the Constantia Valley Association. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Dongola Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongola Guest House Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing