We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make you feel like part of the family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caxton Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caxton Manor
Ranked #14 of 38 Constantia B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
1 review
“Make you feel like part of the family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

So excited that we just booked another family trip to South Africa and we will be staying at our favorite place, Caxton Manor! Highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Cape Town or the surrounding areas. The rooms are beautiful and extremely clean, the breakfasts are delicious, the grounds and pool area are lovely for relaxing in, and the hospitality is exceptional. Alan and Anet really make you feel like part of the family, and with so much to do and see in the area for the entire family (pet baby cheetahs at the Cheetah Outreach, play with monkeys at World Of Birds, hike up beautiful Table Mountain, stroll through Stellenbosch Botanical Gardens, spend the day tasting South Africa's fantastic wines, enjoy the nightlife at The Waterfront, visit historical sites, shop for local crafts) - you will want to come back again and again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
8
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lilbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Alan and Anet are on to an absolute winner with Caxton Manor. They have the perfect philosophy for a family run guest house. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Anet even went so far as to personally babysit for us and also to entertain our kids so that we could have a moment of rest in the evenings! At one stage, Alan and Anet had friends over for a South African barbecue; it is important to note that Caxton Manor is Alan and Anet's full time home. They had absolutely no hesitation in inviting us to join them and their friends for dinner. Alan made a local fish dish called snoek which was an absolute pleasure. At the end of our stay, they wouldn't hear of us paying them for that meal even though dinner was not included in our original package. Later, we found out that because we had requested a larger room than one which was available at the time we made the booking, Alan and Anet had vacated their own bedroom for us.

Both Alan and Anet are Capetonians born and bred so they are a wealth of information as regards things to do and the little known "off the track sights and sounds".
They have extensive partnerships with other local business and will make it their mission to get you the best deal on whatever service it is that you require. Again, having lived in Cape Town all their lives, they know a lot of people!
The rooms are spacious, beautifully maintained and the bed linen feels just like a hug ;-) As Alan will tell you often enough himself, he is a master of breakfast and his bacon and eggs deserve special praise!

We loved our time in Cape Town and it was made even more special by the welcome we received at Caxton Manor. Hopefully we'll be able to go there again. There is nowhere we'd rather stay than in Caxton Manor and we will certainly tell all our friends about it too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Lovely spacious and decorated rooms. Fantastic breakfasts. Great partnerships with other companies. Pricing is great. Lovely garden space with pool.....but as a family I would advise to not spend to much time in the garden area or the pool. Make sure you go for a quick swim and then maybe briefly in the garden.....spending alot of time in the garden or pool can maybe a bit heavy for management...also make sure you know the rules about swimming

I recommend caxton manor for business people or solo or couples

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Came to Cape Town with a colleague from the UK for a school partnership visit. Caxton Manor was recommended by Afritwin, the co-ordinating organization, and in an amazing visit to a stunning city, Alan and Anet's hospitality was a highlight. We echo others' comments, that the welcome was so warm we were made to feel like family members - nothing was too much trouble. Together with the excellent rooms and food, our stay here was a delight. Should we be lucky enough to return to Cape Town with our families, we will definitely be booking our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I couldn't have been made to feel anymore welcome. Anet and Alan made me feel so at home and are lovely people. The place is so comfortable and in the beautiful area of Constantia. I would definitely recommend staying at Cacton Manor.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Constantia hotels
0.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 38 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southern Light Country House
Southern Light Country House
#11 of 38 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
0.0 mi away
Klein Bosheuwel Guest House
Klein Bosheuwel Guest House
#5 of 38 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Constantia Woods
Constantia Woods
#25 of 38 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caxton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caxton Manor

Property: Caxton Manor
Address: 27 Caxton Way | Oakridge, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caxton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caxton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caxton Manor Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing