We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking service and attitude”

Constantia Glen Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$128.39*
and up
Premium Half-Day Constantia Wine Tour from Cape Town
More Info
US$307.35*
and up
Private Township and Winelands Photography Tour
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the jewels of the Constantia Wine Valley, South Africa's oldest wine producing region situated less than 20 minutes from Cape Town City Center. It is situated off Main Road on the saddle below Constantia Nek. Constantia Glen wine tasting facility offers a sweeping view form their tasting room amidst the vineyards, which is a rare pleasure. The wine tasting room is open from 10:00 - 20:00 on Fridays & Saturdays and 10:00 - 17:00 from Sunday - Thursday every week.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Shocking service and attitude”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was four months ago to be fair, but I've taken it verbatim off the Google Maps review that I did at the time...
"Great views but badly managed expectations....wouldn't even turn the coffee machine on for us (it was 16h05)...clearly they should stick to making wine because they don't know a thing about customer service..."
It's really such a pity they have inept management who clearly don't give a damn...the best they could offer was to make us instant coffee...On the plus side their meat platters are pleasant and the views beautiful. Still haven't been back though - I'm boycotting it on principal as they showed complete disdain to our please for a few cappuccino's....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    130
    20
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoy wine with a great view and delicious platter”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have been here several times and Im sure I will keep going. Beautiful setting, good wine with friendly staff and the platters are delicious. Great value for money and I highly recommend it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SEBW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent wine farm”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing views. Amazing wines. Amazing food. An absolute must do if you are doing the Constantia wine farms.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JasonmFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

By pure chance I spent a Friday afternoon at this wonderful wine farm. What spectacular views, you just sit back and happily soak it all in! The wine is lovely, I particularly enjoyed the Three and Saddle, both red wines.

The food is a variety of platters and very yummy they are. We had the cheese and charcuterie platter which was a generous portion with a crispy warm baguette, rooibos jelly, Apple, pear and olives. Since it's such a lovely venue you can take your time enjoying the food, sipping your wine and feeling very content!

The service was efficient and friendly, the sommelier was knowledgable about the wines. I would only have liked the option for something a little sweet, there are no puddings on the menu. A little chocolate something would have been perfect with my excellent espresso.

There are many wine farms in the Cape Town area but I would put this one high up on your list. A must visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning Setting”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Constantia Glen is in a fantastic setting with wonderful views - a bit of a hidden gem. I haven't eaten there, but really enjoyed wine tasting and there are some great wines to choose from. It is up there with Steenberg vineyard and Groot Constantia for me. 3 very different vineyards in completely different settings.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Constantia Glen Winery also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Constantia Glen Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing