We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
352
84
38
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
84
38
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreenhouse restaurantliz mcgrathrelais chateauxupgraded to a suitecape townwellness spafine diningold treestasting menuslopes of table mountainhigh teathis wonderful hotelaward winninglow carbstunning gardensattention to detailluxury hotel
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We recently stayed at Cellars-Hohenhort with my husband and two young sons and had the most wonderful time. From the attentive staff to the magnificent gardens to the exquisite food - everything was just sensational and nothing was too much to ask.

Travelling with our young family is always like walking on egg shells as you are always so worried about their every move and are so conscious about other guests but from the minute we arrived we were put at ease: storybooks for our children at night, little welcome gifts, a spacious suite, staff who guided us through the gardens with my mesmerised boys in awe of the magnificent, "Faraway Tree(s)".

The waddling ducks had my boys silenced as they followed behind them dutifully, the search for the bunnies in the gardens, kept them entertained and we had the most beautiful relaxed stay ever. All in the height of luxury too!

What a treat and I can highly recommend this wonderful establishment for families and couples. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaAponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

We are delighted to hear you felt very much at home on your recent stay with us at The Cellars-Hohenort. It was especially good to hear that your boys had fun, were in awe of our gardens and were kept entertained by all they discovered around the property.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

One of our all time favourite hotels and restaurants, we had stayed here hlf a dozen times over th last decade.

Ideally situated in the leafy suburbs of Constantia, yet 15 minutes drive to downtown Cape Town.

Close to Kirstenbosch gardens and Klein and Groot Constantia.

Lovely rooms in lush and verdant gardens.

The restaurants are great, the Greenhouse being one of our favourite restaurants in the world - top tip book the Ron table in the three glass sided alcove, it's like eating in a (very comfortable) tree house.

Menus and wine list are both world class.

Rooms ar all great; either splurge of th best with balcony and view in the manor house or go fr the basic.

Room Tip: Go for the best or the cheapest.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you for this great review and your continued support over the last few years.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hohenort section of The Cellars and we had the most superb experience from the minute we arrived. The staff are incredibly gracious and no request is too large.
Our room was absolutely majestic ,very spacious, beautifully appointed and not a thing was spared for our comfort. The room had a double volume ceiling height and was fronted by large doors and windows opening onto it's own balcony with a magnificent view all the way to False Bay.
We had an absolutely brilliant dinner at their 'Conservatory" restaurant and both the food and the service were truly excellent.
The gardens and surrounds are breathtaking. This Hotel deserves all the accolades it gets as it delivers and over delivers excellence!
A firm favorite for us in the Cape forever.

Room Tip: We loved the grandness of the Hohenort section......our room was on the top floor with a large balcony overlooking the gardens.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sade7274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We are delighted that you so enjoyed every aspect of our property, especially the amazing view from your room. We look forward to your return visit, when you are next in The Cape.
Warm regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The weather broke as I arrived and the rains came which meant I couldn't enjoy the beautiful setting as much as I would like to have done. But the service and food was excellent from beginning to end. The dinner was historic and you do not need to go anywhere else in Constantia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your review. Despite the rain, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you will have better weather on your return visit so that you can enjoy our scenic surroundings.
Warm regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

In the beautiful Constantia valley, this hotel is an all you can eat style location where you need never leave! Sadly I only came here for lunch but discovered they have a spa, cocktail bar, open fire, amazing gardens and beautiful rooms.

Lunch was perfect - friends had the burger which was beautifully presented.

I would definitely come back here and stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Deneshae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your very positive review. We look forward to your return visit and hope that you will be able to stay with us next time.
Warm regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews