We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
370
84
38
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
84
38
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greenhouse restaurant liz mcgrath upgraded to a suite cape town wellness spa old trees fine dining tasting menu slopes of table mountain high tea this wonderful hotel award winning low carb stunning gardens attention to detail special occasion luxury hotel
Filter
Updating list...
349 - 354 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed 4 nights in January. Great relaxing environment with good service. Greenhouse Restaurant was outstanding and is in our experience the best in Cape Town. With the weak rand, it is even better value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dollar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for posting this positive review. It is very good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Cellars-Hohenort, especially the relaxing environment. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Our stay here was truly out of this world. The hotel itself is very beautiful. It is vey clean & well organised. The staff are amazing. So helpful & friendly.

The greenhouse restaurant is one of the best that I have ever eaten in. Outstanding food, decor & staff. The price was ridiculous. We couldn't believe how reasonable it was.

The location is perfect for visiting places in & around Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old building above the Greenhouse restaurant
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheffieldPrince1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

We are delighted to hear you so enjoyed your stay with us, especially your meal in The Greenhouse Restaurant. Looking forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Beautiful settings and a quite place in Constancia. The place got charm and the employees are service minded, happy and extremely nice. You will feel like coming back to a place you have been to before, even if it your first visit. The Greenhouse restaurant is world class in all respects and worth the money. It was, for us a perfect location to explore the Constancia area, the golf courses nearby and only a 15 minutes car ride to Cape Town city centre.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Per B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found us to be well positioned within Cape Town. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warm Regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is a most delightful friendly hotel situated within beautiful gardens. The accommodation is of a very high standard and one feels like a guest in a country house. It is conveniently located for Kirstenbosch Gardens and is a short drive to Cape Town and the airport. The staff are particularly helpful and do everything to make one at ease. There are two restaurants - the Greenhouse for fine dining and the conservatory for a delightful a la carte menu. The is also the opportunity for a Cape Malay cooking experience which my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. Everything is done in a discrete way to make one feel at home and it is a place where we would be delighted to return to should the chance arise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your positive review. It is wonderful to hear that you felt so at home and enjoyed all of our dining experiences. Looking forward to your return visit.

Best wishes for the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This remains one of our favourite hotels, anywhere. Situated In Constantia, a short drive outside Cape Town and close to Kirstenbosch Gardens, the hotel is a haven for those looking to get away from the daily hustle and bustle. The grounds are beautifully maintained and home to a family of white Call Ducks. (The ducks for us are a real highlight! While they make some noise during the day we did not find this in any way disruptive and didn't hear a peep at night.)

We have stayed at this property twice. Our first visit was in December 2012 when we were lucky enough to spend a week in a deluxe suite (courtesy of an upgrade by the hotel.) The deluxe suite was beautifully appointed with hard wood floors and a contemporary looking four poster bed. We visited again in December 2013 and this time stayed in a suite. The furnishings looked a little bit tired in comparison to the deluxe suite and the floor was carpets. However the balcony offered more privacy and shade.

The real stand out here is the quality of service. Everyone greeted us with a smile and all the staff - front desk, room service, housekeeping as well as in the bar and restaurant - did everything they could to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. This was absolutely five star service.

The hotel also has a spa with dermalogica and theravine products. We had a number of treatments at the spa which was incredibly clean. The treatments were a very good quality to price ratio.

Room Tip: If you're looking to splurge, go for one of the deluxe suites.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrandmrs_snuffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is wonderful to hear that you so enjoyed your return visit with us, especially our white ducks! Thank you also for your constructive comments regarding the suite you stayed in on your most recent visit. I am happy to inform you that we will be looking at refurbishments in the New Year. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews