We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cellars-Hohenort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend a night at the Cellars-Hohenort while visiting family in Cape Town. The property is truly magnificent, with splendid gardens and a magical view of table mountain. All the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel is steeped In history and I found the whole experience reminiscent of a by-gone era of classic charm and character. The room was spacious and well equipped with every modern amenity. I appreciated the hand written welcome note from the General Manager as well as the complimentary bottle of wine. The conservancy restaurant was the highlight of my stay with an excellent menu of the highest standard. The food was fresh and well prepared (the herbs are picked from their own herb garden). I enjoy good wine and was impressed buy their extensive wine list of local wines from the region. Service was very good and the attention to detail noteworthy. The staff are clearly well trained and I was made to feel quite at home in the beautiful surroundings. The property is a mere 3 minute drive from the world famous Kirstenbosch Gardens and is ideally situated at the start of the Constantia Valley Wine Route. I really enjoyed my time at this property and look forward to returning and trying their award winning Greenhouse restaurant and Spa facilities.

Room Tip: Make sure you allow yourself enough time to explore the beautiful hotel gardens and vineyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your experience at The Cellars-Hohenort, especially your meal in The Conservatory and the wonderful history of our property. We look forward to your return visit to the beautiful Constantia Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one and a half days in one of the luxury doubles with verandah. The room was spacious and had a magnificent verandah, we enjoyed a lot. Though the bathroom definitely needs to be modernized, having facilities that are more than outdated for a hotel on this scale. We had a lunch twice, which was delicious, set on a terrace overlooking the garden. A huge down side of the hotel is its service. There is just not enough personnel and those who are there, are slow and everything but attentive. That just might be the reason to think twice before booking with them. Have a tea at on the restaurant terrace instead!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrAnabellaOffella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your valued comments, which have been addressed with the team. I am pleased to note, however, that you enjoyed your lunch in our Conservatory Restaurant, as well as your spacious room.
Warm regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were looking forward to this Relais Chateau hotel but it definitely didn't meet our expectations. The hotel is situated in beautiful gardens and the exterior is very pretty but the interior is in need of renovations. Our room, while once luxurious, was run down. We did express our disappointment to the general manager and he was very appreciative of our feedback. I would consider returning after a renovation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

First to mention: the location is superb, with wonderful gardens, nice views, estate-feeling.
However: lack of customer attention makes it all go bad. You are not treated as a respected and welcomed customer, but as an annoyance. At least: if you are younger than 50 years I think.
Taking into account that the rooms are very expensive, quality does not meet the expectation.

Further: no fitness at the premiss, you can go to a nearby gym.
The more expensive suites are on ground floor, with windows open and people walking by.
At 08:00 AM there is people feeding ducks, making them totally noisy, and no-one cares to say something about it.

My specific experience:
-non supportive while booking (direct request gave less options than via website)
-confirmation from another hotel from the chain, and no excuse when mentioning that
-no questions asked about how can we help you with transport, diner, reservations for our restaurant
-very strict "at 11:00 you have to leave your room" policy
-3 people standing looking at you while carrying your own suitcase, no one thinks to help

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hedoniaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for once again highlighting your constructive feedback. I would like to reiterate my commitment, as mentioned in my previous correspondence, in addressing the various points you have raised. I would also like to reassure you that our guest experience is our number one priority and we do take your feedback very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Cellars is undoubtably one of South Africa's finest hotels in a beautiful setting, immaculate gardens, great food but the service wasn't so great. We have stayed here a number of times and have dined here many times. Yesterday we invited my parents for lunch and the service wasn't great. We asked for salt and pepper and it didn't arrive so eventually we took it off the next table. I ordered two beers during our meal which arrived sometime after along with the bill and we hadn't even been asked if we wanted coffee - which we did

Dinner was unfortunately no better. We went to the bar and sat down, no waiter bothered to ask us if we wanted anything. Eventually I confirmed our booking and asked for a wine list and someone to take a drinks order - I think they must have been pressing the grapes as it took forever to get two drinks served. We also appeared to be the only people who didn't get 'nibbles' served as well. We arrived in the bar at 7.45 and sat down at 8.45, it would have been longer if I hadn't pushed. That said the food was great and the general staff are excellent. After dinner we ordered coffee and desert wine which again took forever to arrive. Coffee was without petit fours which again everyone else seem to have so I asked the waiter who said he would get some straight away, I'm still waiting! It's a shame as little things like this ruin what could be 5*, hopefully we will be back next year

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyer1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

I am sorry to hear about your disappointing experience regarding lunch and dinner service on your recent visit. Thank you for your detailed feedback, as it assists us to prevent these problems in the future. I look forward to your return visit next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

What a wonderful way to end our holiday with two nights in this most comfortable of hotels. We had a room in the main building with views over the stunning gardens and vineyard to False Bay and beyond. All the public rooms are magnificent and beautifully furnished and with fabulous flower arrangements.

Service was impeccable in all departments and the staff so friendly. Dinner in the Conservatory was superb and the spread at breakfast sumptuous.

We look forward to returning as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our beautiful gardens and your dinner in The Conservatory. I look forward to personally welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was a return visit to the hotel. As always the staff were courteous and helpful. We asked for a different room to that first allocated and were delighted when we were moved across to Hohenort and a beautiful room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the garden and pool. We dined on the balcony under a full moon; a delicious meal immaculately served. To cap an excellent stay we ran into friends from the UK, also staying, with whom we had not been in contact for many years.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

It is wonderful to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay with us at The Cellars-Hohenort, and that you were able to reconnect with old friends. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
502 reviews
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,331 reviews
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
196 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cellars-Hohenort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Constantia
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range: £178 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cape Town's historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in 9.5 acres of world renowned and award winning gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. Surrounded by top wine producing farms and some of South Africa's most popular restaurants,you will find so much to do and a mere fifteen minute drive to Cape Town City center & Waterfront. Back at the hotel there are two award-winning dining experiences, including Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavors with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath's more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing