We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury & Comfort & Service in a histocial environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Cellars-Hohenort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Luxury & Comfort & Service in a histocial environment”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed a week - and would go there again. The whole setting, buildings, gardens, the rooms and the restaurants, everything is equally charming and good. And even the heated pool is not a marketing gimming but reality with 30 C.
The efficiency and the friendliness of the staff is significant. The support you get for reeservation of tee timmes and restaurants is great.
The WiFi connection was only perfect in the public areas. In the room it worked, but was alittle bit unstable. Internet freaks will have no problems in the lounge or on the terrace etc.

Room Tip: The garden suite was terrific, but also standard rooms are very good (as m uch as we could see). Tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmun1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, especially the friendliness of our staff. Thank you also for bringing the Wi-Fi to our attention. We are currently working on improving the connection in the rooms. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    73
    35
    11
    11
See reviews for
58
222
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The food is magnificant, particulary the tasting menu iin the main restaurant - go for the wine pairs, as they have worked hard to highlight many new producers in South Africa. You must also try the desert wine @ La Constance
The pool is a short walk from the main house, and a great way to ger rid of any jet lag. The main reception rooms are bright and well laid out - wonderful to relax with a coffee and liquor after dinner

Finally the staff worked very hard to make our trip special,

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own views, but rooms in the Cellars original building have great views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domtheirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We were so pleased to receive your very special observations on your stay with us at The Cellars-Hohenort, especially as you mentioned our excellent staff. It is also good to know that you enjoyed your dinner at The Greenhouse and the wine of The Constantia Valley - Vin de Constance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

`we went there for a garden club visit/tour. The tour includes tea/scones. The tour and gardens were really interesting and great to see, but then afterwards we went to their restaurant for our tea/scones. Terrible service- took ages for us to find a waitress to help. scones came long after the tea/coffees, and were something you would expect at a boarding school!! very disappointing, not what you would expect from a 5* hotel. The scones were already precut and had no butter, just a smear of jam already on them, with a small amount of cream dotted on top. very average and cheap looking!
management were apologetic after the fact, but i wonder if it will change anything......

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philippad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, Owner at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your guided garden tour. We at The Cellars-Hohenort are very proud of our beautiful gardens.

I feel that I must let you know that the tea / coffee and scones that you received at the end of your visit is complimentary to the tour, and as such, the scones are served simplistically, to enable us to accommodate large numbers. If you were taking tea in the restaurant, the portion would be 2 whole scones, plus butter, jam and cream, all served in individual little containers and the price would be R55 per person.

Regards

Liz McGrath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend a night at the Cellars-Hohenort while visiting family in Cape Town. The property is truly magnificent, with splendid gardens and a magical view of table mountain. All the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel is steeped In history and I found the whole experience reminiscent of a by-gone era of classic charm and character. The room was spacious and well equipped with every modern amenity. I appreciated the hand written welcome note from the General Manager as well as the complimentary bottle of wine. The conservancy restaurant was the highlight of my stay with an excellent menu of the highest standard. The food was fresh and well prepared (the herbs are picked from their own herb garden). I enjoy good wine and was impressed buy their extensive wine list of local wines from the region. Service was very good and the attention to detail noteworthy. The staff are clearly well trained and I was made to feel quite at home in the beautiful surroundings. The property is a mere 3 minute drive from the world famous Kirstenbosch Gardens and is ideally situated at the start of the Constantia Valley Wine Route. I really enjoyed my time at this property and look forward to returning and trying their award winning Greenhouse restaurant and Spa facilities.

Room Tip: Make sure you allow yourself enough time to explore the beautiful hotel gardens and vineyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your experience at The Cellars-Hohenort, especially your meal in The Conservatory and the wonderful history of our property. We look forward to your return visit to the beautiful Constantia Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one and a half days in one of the luxury doubles with verandah. The room was spacious and had a magnificent verandah, we enjoyed a lot. Though the bathroom definitely needs to be modernized, having facilities that are more than outdated for a hotel on this scale. We had a lunch twice, which was delicious, set on a terrace overlooking the garden. A huge down side of the hotel is its service. There is just not enough personnel and those who are there, are slow and everything but attentive. That just might be the reason to think twice before booking with them. Have a tea at on the restaurant terrace instead!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAnabellaOffella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your valued comments, which have been addressed with the team. I am pleased to note, however, that you enjoyed your lunch in our Conservatory Restaurant, as well as your spacious room.
Warm regards
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were looking forward to this Relais Chateau hotel but it definitely didn't meet our expectations. The hotel is situated in beautiful gardens and the exterior is very pretty but the interior is in need of renovations. Our room, while once luxurious, was run down. We did express our disappointment to the general manager and he was very appreciative of our feedback. I would consider returning after a renovation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

First to mention: the location is superb, with wonderful gardens, nice views, estate-feeling.
However: lack of customer attention makes it all go bad. You are not treated as a respected and welcomed customer, but as an annoyance. At least: if you are younger than 50 years I think.
Taking into account that the rooms are very expensive, quality does not meet the expectation.

Further: no fitness at the premiss, you can go to a nearby gym.
The more expensive suites are on ground floor, with windows open and people walking by.
At 08:00 AM there is people feeding ducks, making them totally noisy, and no-one cares to say something about it.

My specific experience:
-non supportive while booking (direct request gave less options than via website)
-confirmation from another hotel from the chain, and no excuse when mentioning that
-no questions asked about how can we help you with transport, diner, reservations for our restaurant
-very strict "at 11:00 you have to leave your room" policy
-3 people standing looking at you while carrying your own suitcase, no one thinks to help

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hedoniaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for once again highlighting your constructive feedback. I would like to reiterate my commitment, as mentioned in my previous correspondence, in addressing the various points you have raised. I would also like to reassure you that our guest experience is our number one priority and we do take your feedback very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
492 reviews
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
188 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
184 reviews
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cellars-Hohenort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Property: The Cellars-Hohenort
Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#3 Family Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cape Town's historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in 9.5 acres of world renowned and award winning gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. Surrounded by top wine producing farms and some of South Africa's most popular restaurants,you will find so much to do and a mere fifteen minute drive to Cape Town City center & Waterfront. Back at the hotel there are two award-winning dining experiences, including Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavors with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath's more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing