We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cellars-Hohenort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for five nights here at the end of our our honeymoon trip to Africa. The beauty of the house and the wonderful gardens were such a wonderful first impression when we arrived. We felt pampered and cared for throughout our stay. A perfect suite, lovely staff and great food including a celebratory meal in the famous Greenhouse restaurant. On our first morning we bumped into the Head Gardener who, without prompting, offered us an hour's guided tour around his handiwork. Lovely. We were so sorry that with so much to do in and around Cape Town we had so little time to relax in the gardens and swim in the beautiful outdoor pools. Next time we will do things differently. Thank you.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

We are so pleased that you decided to end your honeymoon off by spending a few days with us at The Cellars-Hohenort. It is especially good to hear that you met up with Niall, our Head Gardener, for a spontaneous viewing of our lovely gardens. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for The Cellars-Hohenort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We enjoyed a delicious lunch with friends recently at the Conservatory and on another
occasion had coffee in the lounge. The food was excellent and I would especially like
to compliment the staff on how friendly and gracious the service was. It would be
difficult not to have a memorable experience with the beautiful views,gardens and
elegant decor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

It was very good to receive your review and to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to The Conservatory Restaurant. Thank you especially for mentioning our friendly staff and the beautiful setting of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was my second visit to Cape Town and the Cellars Hohenort and neither has disappointed, the staff were wonderful and the martini was sublime, and the food was second to none.... Highly recommended.... When we return this will be on my must do's again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

It was a great pleasure to welcome you back on your return visit to The Cellars-Hohenort and it is wonderful to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed a week - and would go there again. The whole setting, buildings, gardens, the rooms and the restaurants, everything is equally charming and good. And even the heated pool is not a marketing gimming but reality with 30 C.
The efficiency and the friendliness of the staff is significant. The support you get for reeservation of tee timmes and restaurants is great.
The WiFi connection was only perfect in the public areas. In the room it worked, but was alittle bit unstable. Internet freaks will have no problems in the lounge or on the terrace etc.

Room Tip: The garden suite was terrific, but also standard rooms are very good (as m uch as we could see). Tre...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmun1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, especially the friendliness of our staff. Thank you also for bringing the Wi-Fi to our attention. We are currently working on improving the connection in the rooms. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The food is magnificant, particulary the tasting menu iin the main restaurant - go for the wine pairs, as they have worked hard to highlight many new producers in South Africa. You must also try the desert wine @ La Constance
The pool is a short walk from the main house, and a great way to ger rid of any jet lag. The main reception rooms are bright and well laid out - wonderful to relax with a coffee and liquor after dinner

Finally the staff worked very hard to make our trip special,

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own views, but rooms in the Cellars original building have great views over...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domtheirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We were so pleased to receive your very special observations on your stay with us at The Cellars-Hohenort, especially as you mentioned our excellent staff. It is also good to know that you enjoyed your dinner at The Greenhouse and the wine of The Constantia Valley - Vin de Constance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

`we went there for a garden club visit/tour. The tour includes tea/scones. The tour and gardens were really interesting and great to see, but then afterwards we went to their restaurant for our tea/scones. Terrible service- took ages for us to find a waitress to help. scones came long after the tea/coffees, and were something you would expect at a boarding school!! very disappointing, not what you would expect from a 5* hotel. The scones were already precut and had no butter, just a smear of jam already on them, with a small amount of cream dotted on top. very average and cheap looking!
management were apologetic after the fact, but i wonder if it will change anything......

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Philippad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, Owner at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your guided garden tour. We at The Cellars-Hohenort are very proud of our beautiful gardens.

I feel that I must let you know that the tea / coffee and scones that you received at the end of your visit is complimentary to the tour, and as such, the scones are served simplistically, to enable us to accommodate large numbers. If you were taking tea in the restaurant, the portion would be 2 whole scones, plus butter, jam and cream, all served in individual little containers and the price would be R55 per person.

Regards

Liz McGrath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend a night at the Cellars-Hohenort while visiting family in Cape Town. The property is truly magnificent, with splendid gardens and a magical view of table mountain. All the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel is steeped In history and I found the whole experience reminiscent of a by-gone era of classic charm and character. The room was spacious and well equipped with every modern amenity. I appreciated the hand written welcome note from the General Manager as well as the complimentary bottle of wine. The conservancy restaurant was the highlight of my stay with an excellent menu of the highest standard. The food was fresh and well prepared (the herbs are picked from their own herb garden). I enjoy good wine and was impressed buy their extensive wine list of local wines from the region. Service was very good and the attention to detail noteworthy. The staff are clearly well trained and I was made to feel quite at home in the beautiful surroundings. The property is a mere 3 minute drive from the world famous Kirstenbosch Gardens and is ideally situated at the start of the Constantia Valley Wine Route. I really enjoyed my time at this property and look forward to returning and trying their award winning Greenhouse restaurant and Spa facilities.

Room Tip: Make sure you allow yourself enough time to explore the beautiful hotel gardens and vineyards
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoMassie, General Manager at The Cellars-Hohenort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your experience at The Cellars-Hohenort, especially your meal in The Conservatory and the wonderful history of our property. We look forward to your return visit to the beautiful Constantia Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
4.8 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
497 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
191 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
189 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.4 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cellars-Hohenort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cellars-Hohenort

Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Constantia
#3 Family Hotel in Constantia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
Price Range: £138 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cellars-Hohenort 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cape Town's historical Constantia Valley, on the breathtaking slopes of Table Mountain, all the rooms and suites of The Cellars-Hohenort boast panoramic views of the impressive mountain and the beautiful grounds. Set in 9.5 acres of world renowned and award winning gardens, this historic and beautiful country escape in the city offers guests far more than just incomparable scenery. Surrounded by top wine producing farms and some of South Africa's most popular restaurants,you will find so much to do and a mere fifteen minute drive to Cape Town City center & Waterfront. Back at the hotel there are two award-winning dining experiences, including Greenhouse, where cuisine focuses on regional flavors with modern interpretations. All of this is the result of owner Liz McGrath's more than twenty years of hard work, love and endless inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cellars-Hohenort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Constantia
Cellars Hohenort Hotel Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing