We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alphen Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Colonial charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Enjoyed a few peaceful nights in the Alphen. Had a large room with two bathrooms!
Service at breakfast was somewhat leisurely (but friendly), but we were on holiday

Some rooms looked a little tired, including the pool, however the pool was quiet and the (clean) water welcome in the hot weather.

Outdoor bar / terrace was also enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear Graham and Susan
I am delighted to inform you - since your lovely review was posted last year - that we have completely revamped and refurbishedThe Alphen! It is now a 5-star boutique hotel with exceptional facilities, under new management.
We have 2 restaurants, 3 bars - one of which is the outdoor terrace's Rose Bar - and a Spa opening in October 2012. We have maintained the historical charm and heritage of the property, while adding a modern twist and extraordinary facilities and services.
We invite you to come and experience the new hotel when next in South Africa!
Best Regards
Robert Van Gent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    30
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
90
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
347 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Alphen is a fabulous old Cape Dutch building in a beautiful garden setting. The Rooms are huge almost like mini suites and the cherry on the top is that each room has TWO full bathrooms. The rooms are also very quiet and sound-proof. Although the pool area desperately needs a bit attention it is never overrun with people and located in the well kept gardens. Service is friendly and good and Alphen is directly connected to the motorway and only 10 minutes from the City centre and Waterfront without the noise of the city. We had a fabulous stay, and I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttraveler031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Public Relations Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for the fabulous review! I am delighted to inform you that The Alphen Hotel re-opened in December 2011 after a complete revamp, as a 5-star boutique hotel. The Cape Dutch heritage has been carefully preserved, while adding modern and contemporary glamour. You can now expect 5-star facilities and services, including 2 restaurants and 3 bars, at highly competitive rates. We look forward to welcoming you back to this beautiful destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

This was our first stay at the Alphen. We used to live in Cape Town so knew area to be beautiful. The hotel room was more spacious than expected with two ensuite bathrooms, and well furnished. The room service food we ordered was delicious and so was the breakfast. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsjJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Public Relations Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Reviewer

We at The Alphen Boutique Hotel are delighted to announce to all Alphen Hotel supporters that we re-opened as a 5-star establishment in December 2011 after an extensive revamp. We have preserved the wonderful country, colonial charm while bringing a new energy to the property in the form of contemporary, glamourous decor and designs. Restaurants, bars, luxurious suites, high-tech facilities, plush comforts and exceptional services are now all part of The Alphen Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

Our family had three nights at Alphen in August 2008 before returning to Canada. Fantastic ambience, very friendly service, inclusive cooked breakfast in stately manor with million dollar antique art and furniture, good inexpensive meals at the Boer & Brit Pub. The hotel has about 50 rooms but the security complex (not intrusive) also houses apartments and small business (travel, real estate etc.). Wonderful setting with stately 1700's building and towering old oaks - popular with local families for Saturday and Sunday brunch/lunch. Our room was a suite - tasteful lounge and very large bedroom (two twins) and enormous bath. For C$240 for 3 nights it was a steal! Highly recommended, but don't tell anyone - will be our little secret!

  • Disliked — Lovely ambience, good service, peaceful, safe and quite
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BackwoodsGuy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2007

Cape Town downtown was really full, so we booked at the Alphen in Constantia. This is a beautiful old hotel on a wine estate but right in the city suburbs (about 15-20 minutes from Waterfront). Elegant, old main building with huge rooms in brand new annex. Big bathrooms, very comfortable beds, and about 1/3 the price of the Relais and Chateau place up the road, with slightly better rooms. This is like being on an old world gentleman's estate, but pretty informal nevertheless. You must have a car to benefit. This is close to Kirstenbosch gardens and the warm Indian Ocean beaches at Muizenberg and Fish Hoek. Prices ran about $80 per person; about the same as guest houses downtown but much more elegant. Big grounds and swimming pool. The M3 highway is nearby, which is convenient but also creates a small amount of traffic noise.

  • Liked — Rooms; huge pool and grounds, beauty spa
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ItTakesTwoToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
1.0 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
4.5 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 6 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alphen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alphen Boutique Hotel

Property: The Alphen Boutique Hotel
Address: Alphen Drive, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#4 Family Hotel in Constantia
#4 Business Hotel in Constantia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Alphen Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia is 23 kms from Cape Town International Airport, 15 kms from the City Centre and circa 12 kms from False Bay beaches. In close proximity to major attractions, such as Newlands Rugby Stadium and Cricket Ground and Kennilworth Racecourse, it has a relaxing country feel aire about it. Combining Cape Dutch with the contemporary, a playful twist has been added to this historical 11.5 acre landmark. Offering modern amenities, plush comforts, high-tech facilities and exceptional services, this multi-faceted 5-star destination provides venues for relaxing, socialising, conducting business, dining, wining & celebrating life. Facilities & Features include: 19 Spacious Suites, 3 Independent Restaurants - 5 Rooms Restaurant, la Belle Cafe & Bakery and The Rose Bar - 3 Bars, including The Rose Bar - outdoor bar & terrace, Business Centre, Functions & Events Facilities and Expansive, Landscaped Garden with pool. This property is well suited to wedding functions. 300 Years of Cape Hospitality continues under New Management. Step into a World of Hedonistic Glamour - a little Eccentric, somewhat Bohemian, rather Eclectic & Casually Elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Alphen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alphen Boutique Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing