We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had a really great time at the Alphen - friendly and professional staff, great accommodation and good food. The location is superb and we really enjoyed a long walk up the Green Belt prior to a hearty breakfast. Overall would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AGW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We so appreciate the feedback and will share this with our staff as we strive to ensure that all our guests experience our 5 star service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for The Alphen Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay in Constantia, this place is it. We had a very spacious and comfortable room, and the service was excellent. We also enjoyed a good dinner and excellent breakfast at the restaurants on site. We were too tired to try out the bar/lounge area, but from what we saw, the place was hopping and looked like a good time was being had. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbastyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback!

The Alphen Boutique Hotel won an award at the World Luxury Hotel Awards ceremony in 2013. We pride ourselves on exceptional service and are pleased that your expectations were met. Perhaps on your next visit you could try out our new hotel, The Marly, in Camps Bay as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town soon.

Warmest regards,
The Alphen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at The Alphen for one night as part of their Winter special, good value for money. We had the choice of any of their spacious rooms, finishes are beautiful. Highlights were the Charlotte Rhys scented candle and toiletries, personal touches such as macaroons on turn-down with anniversary note, ordering breakfast in our room from on-site La Belle, lazing around the pool with afternoon cocktails from on-site Rose Bar, great dinner and cocktails at on-site 5 Rooms restaurant.The staff were appropriately friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaltRockCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Alphen Boutique Hotel.

The Constantia Winelands is one of the most beautiful parts of Cape Town, especially in Winter so we are thrilled that you took us up on our winter special. Should you visit us again in the near future, perhaps on your next anniversary, please try our Bathroom Butler Menu as this is a unique and romantic experience.

Warmest regards,
The Alphen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A very nice experience in Costantia (15 min from Cape Town).
Relaxing atmosphere, charming rooms, wonderful food in both the restaurants, stunning breakfast, great service!
I really reccomand the stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solecheride79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you so much for your comments.

At The Alphen Boutique Hotel we pride ourself in offering 5 star luxury in a relaxed atmosphere. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the 5 Rooms Restaurant as well as our la Belle Bistro & Bakery. It is a pity you were unable to experience The Rose Bar as it will only be launched for summer on the 4th October. Something to look forward to, upon your return.

Warmest regards,
The Alphen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

From the moment we arrived on the Thursday til we left on Sunday we were so well looked after!

Apart from both exceptional restaurants on site, la belle bakery/bistro where we had cake endless patisserie selection and the most delicious brrakfasts and 5rooms restaurant for AMAZING local game beside the fire, the bathroom butler and in room pampers we ordered were so decadent and beautifully done - we felt spoilt rotten and so well looked after!

The staff were so accommodating and the surrounds so beautiful we couldn't have asked for a more fun , delicious and relaxing weekend, with so many choices on our doorstep, we truly didn't want to leave or want for anything!

High recommended, we will definitely be back with our partners to take advantage of this romantic retreat from start to finish!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gialeighlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review.

The Alphen Boutique Hotel was voted on the Hot List 2012 - Conde Nast Traveler, so we are delighted to hear that we have not lost our spark. We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one and look forward to welcoming you and your families back to the Constantia winelands soon.

Warmest regards,
The Alphen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

This place is just great. Its not in the city Center or waterfront, but its just 20 minutes drive from there. Its in Constancian (the other side of Table Moutain) which has a beautiful landscape and surroundings.
The hotel itself is just great and you have everything in there... 3 restaurants, garden, pool, etc. Staff is outstanding as well the room decoration and space. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FRSBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Public Relations Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Your amazing feedback and high rating is very much appreciated. Hoping to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I made a multiple booking for two nights as we had a wedding at Buitenverwachting. The hotel decor is very different and we liked it. In particular the suite for my daughter and her groom. Service was unobtrusive but attentive. We only eat at the bistro area (breakfast and lunch) and I can recommend both the food and the service. We also used the bar area at Five Rooms and it is a really funky and by all accounts very popular venue. The five rooms are exceptionally well decorated and all have a different theme. A definite for a function or just a dinner. Alphen has gone through some seismic changes in the last few years and lots of new people in place during my experience from booking onwards. new GM and front desk manager top drawer.

Room Tip: There is an old block and a new block (it is a historical site). Decor as appropriate. Both are good...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, General Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Good Afternoon David,

Thank you so much for the amazing feedback.

We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
1.2 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
421 reviews
4.3 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
497 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
2.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,312 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alphen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alphen Boutique Hotel

Address: Alphen Drive, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Constantia
#4 Family Hotel in Constantia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
Price Range: £119 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Alphen Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia is 23 kms from Cape Town International Airport, 15 kms from the City Centre and circa 12 kms from False Bay beaches. In close proximity to major attractions, such as Newlands Rugby Stadium and Cricket Ground and Kennilworth Racecourse, it has a relaxing country feel aire about it. Combining Cape Dutch with the contemporary, a playful twist has been added to this historical 11.5 acre landmark. Offering modern amenities, plush comforts, high-tech facilities and exceptional services, this multi-faceted 5-star destination provides venues for relaxing, socialising, conducting business, dining, wining & celebrating life. Facilities & Features include: 19 Spacious Suites, 3 Independent Restaurants - 5 Rooms Restaurant, la Belle Cafe & Bakery and The Rose Bar - 3 Bars, including The Rose Bar - outdoor bar & terrace, Business Centre, Functions & Events Facilities and Expansive, Landscaped Garden with pool. This property is well suited to wedding functions. 300 Years of Cape Hospitality continues under New Management. Step into a World of Hedonistic Glamour - a little Eccentric, somewhat Bohemian, rather Eclectic & Casually Elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Alphen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alphen Boutique Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing