We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Constantia(Constantia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vineyard Hotel(Newlands)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
166
36
15
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
36
15
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose barla bellecape townawesome hotela popular placericotta pancakesclose to homecomplimentary breakfasthighly recommend this hotelgreat decorrooms are amazingcasual restaurantfillet steakclose to townnext morninglovely lunchrooms are huge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We had a family gathering at the Alphen Hotel. It was my mother's birthday and we wanted to treat her without my mom having to do anything. We booked a table for 10 and ordered a birthday cake, and all I can say is wow. It was a very busy Sunday but all seemed very calm, fantastic freshly squeezed juices and awesome coffee is how we started out morning. Breakfast was delicious and everyone got served at the same time. My two nieces loved the flapjacks and the milkshakes are to die for. The birthday cake put the cherry on the cake for my mum who had the best birthday ever. Staff were friendly and attentive and the food was fatastic. The kids played on the lawn outside while the adults finnished their coffees.
Thank you for making this day so memorable.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Mrs Brophy,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are so very pleased to hear that The Alphen Boutique Hotel was able to play such a great and happy role in your family gathering. Family, at the end of the day, is what makes the world go around.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Have been visiting SA for over 30 years and apart from it being closed one time we have always had meals there. We had a wedding anniversary party there 25 years ago for my parents who came out with my husband, daughter and myself with our S.A family. First stop of call when we arrive @Cape Town International. Love sundowners in the Rose Bar on my birthday. Just returned to the UK this week. Roll on next year!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suehodgson-kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

It is wonderful to hear that The Alphen Boutique Hotel has become part of your precious family memories. We look forward to making many more happy ones together in the years to come.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Hotel is stunningly beautiful, the rooms spacious, elegant, with everything you could wish for. And after a peaceful night you go for breakfast which is served under those wonderful giant oak trees ... And then the pattern changes completely and we wondered who manages the kitchen - whatever you ordered, if it takes long (meaning about 30 min. or more) you are relatively lucky. You could also be asked - after a longish time - to repeat your order, "as the kitchen doesn't seem to have got it". And everything comes in the wrong order ... etc. - total chaos. Even if breakfast, once you get it, is as good as it should be: the service is intolerable for the otherwise perfect Hotel - hard to understand!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Margrit38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and I can assure you of our commitment to rectify the service shortcomings you experienced at la Belle Bistro & Bakery as our goal is to offer a wholestic 5 star experience..

We hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

was in town for business, check in was quick and efficient, rooms are lovely, comfortable, luxurious and well laid out including the patio. the room had his and hers bathrooms also elegantly decorated. i had no issues at all except for service in the bistro was rather slow in assisting(seemed like the waiters were more interested in conversation amongst themselves than the guests) me and checking up on me during the course of my breakfast. eggs benedict i ordered was great, other than that i enjoyed my stay tremendously and i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, they just need to polish up the service in the bistro...but amazing, amazing place, will definitely come back again

Room Tip: choose the stunning suite room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you so much for the review.

We are thrilled that your stay was enjoyable.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and I can assure you of our commitment to rectify the service shortcomings you experienced at la Belle Bistro & Bakery as our goal is to offer a wholestic 5 star experience..

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel when next you visit Cape Town.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Room was fantastic as was the breakfast. Best nights sleep in ages.

Check-in was friendly and efficient and we couldn't fault the hotel.

However ... we are compelled to note that the staff at the Rose bar left us sitting for 30 minutes and did not take our order resulting in two very thirsty customers walking out.

The breakfast although very good took ages to come and we noted at least 3 tables of guests getting up and walking out due to lack of service.

Room Tip: It is well worth splashing out for a bigger room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Family_travels_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review.

We so appreciate your constructive feedback as this assist us in improving our offering. We are thrilled that your suite at The 5 star Alphen Boutique Hotel met all your expectations. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Constantia winelands when next you are in Cape Town.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews