We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alphen - Hotel, my "home from home"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This has become my hotel of choice for business travel to Cape Town (though I would also use it for leisure). This was my fifth stay here at the Alphen Hotel and the standard is consistently first class. It is a rare thing to find the hotel, staff, location, rooms, food all up to the very highest standard. Location-wise, the upmarket Constantia is the perfect base to explore the region. While there is no gym on site, the hotel will provide a voucher for the Virgin Active gym only 5 minutes walk/jog away. I always look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Keith,

We so appreciate your review and have shared this with our team at The Alphen Boutique Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to “second home.”

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had the pleasure of visiting the Alphen a few weeks ago, and was amazed at the transformation that's taken place under the new ownership.
A world class, sophisticated yet relaxed atmosphere.
The food in both the bakery and the restaurant was excellent and the rooms and the pool area quite lovely.. A great addition to the Cape's reputation as the "new" world top destination...
Bravo!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank DeekUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for the great feedback.

We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back when next you visit Cape Town or you could try our sister hotel, The Marly, in Camps Bay which is also another one of our gems.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have stayed at the Alphen twice this year and really like this hotel. It's an unusual place as it doubles up as a hotel for visitors and a very popular watering hole for Constantia locals. La Belle - the all day casual restaurant and bakery - is just the sort of place that anyone would want in their neighbourhood and sitting outside there for lunch or breakfast in the Cape Town sun is always magic. The more formal 5 Rooms restaurant is equally popular in the evenings.

The rooms are also very nice, with lots of space and bright, modern interiors. Some have terraces overlooking the beautiful Alphen gardens. The service is generally good, with sometimes slow response times more than made up for by the warmth of the welcome given to guests.

This hotel does not deliver consistent five start perfection. It can sometimes be chaotic, the pool needs improvements (it was rather cold and full of leaves both times I stayed there) and the neighbouring M3 motorway can be heard from the garden and some rooms. But overall this is still a great place to stay and they have a lovely team of people working there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Charlie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Alphen Boutique Hotel.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note of your feedback and will certainly focus on evaluating the concerns raised with the greatest of care as we strive daily to provide the very best in five star hospitality and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

LA BELLE ALPHEN

The setting of the historic Alphen Hotel is superb! The beautiful Constantia Berg forms a majestic backdrop and the manicured lawns and indigenous flora complete an unforgettable canvas. The star of the show is the beautifully proportioned main house which is Dutch colonial grandeur at its elegant best. (It even comes complete with the tale of a famous 19thC duel fought on the wide stoep of the imposing homestead.)
Newly revamped, the complex boasts a modern makeover that blends seamlessly with ancient façades.
Taste buds will be titillated by the exciting menus and innovative cuisine on offer at the magnificent 5 Rooms Restaurant or the lovely La Belle Café where, delicious breakfasts and luncheons are served on the shady, paved verandah or under huge mirrors and large framed prints of unforgettable, French lavender.
Try the roast vegetable quiche served with a fresh side salad, or the ricotta pancakes drenched in maple syrup. Speciality coffees and homemade cakes complete the picture. The place is a delight and could fit comfortably into the best international settings. A treat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review.

We hope to welcome you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Rooms are nicely decorated and are not just typical 5 star hotel plain/flavorless rooms. Breakfast was excellent as well as the dinner in the "5 Rooms" restaurant (live Jazz band was definitely a nice plus!). The pool area and the Rose Bar are nice to lounge on afternoons with a bottle of Cap Classique. There was nice walking/running trail just behind the hotel properties and the Groot Constansia wine yard is close by. Couple of small misses though: there were leaves in the pool but that was probably because it was winter time and not many guests were swimming. TV/sat was not working but it was fixed on the first morning. Service and room service was efficient and attentive. We had fantastic 3 days in Alphen and would go there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teesuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

We have shared your comments with our team and have taken note of the areas of concern. It is only through feedback like yours that we are able to strive to maintain our 5 star level of service at The Alphen Boutique Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit Cape Town.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely part of the Cape. The rooms are stunning and the hotel cleaning staff are good. Breakfast and dinner service is incredibly slow, so if you're in a rush, don't eat there. It takes about half an hour to get a menu and a further hour to get food. The pool bar closes at 11:00 and also if it rains, even though it is covered.

Room Tip: If you want a quick breakfast, see if you can order the night before. LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

We have taken note of your feedback and will certainly focus on evaluating the concerns raised with the greatest of care as we strive daily to provide the very best in five star hospitality. Our Rose Bar (Pool Bar) closes at 11:00 pm due to our close proximity to the residential area.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We had a family gathering at the Alphen Hotel. It was my mother's birthday and we wanted to treat her without my mom having to do anything. We booked a table for 10 and ordered a birthday cake, and all I can say is wow. It was a very busy Sunday but all seemed very calm, fantastic freshly squeezed juices and awesome coffee is how we started out morning. Breakfast was delicious and everyone got served at the same time. My two nieces loved the flapjacks and the milkshakes are to die for. The birthday cake put the cherry on the cake for my mum who had the best birthday ever. Staff were friendly and attentive and the food was fatastic. The kids played on the lawn outside while the adults finnished their coffees.
Thank you for making this day so memorable.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Mrs Brophy,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are so very pleased to hear that The Alphen Boutique Hotel was able to play such a great and happy role in your family gathering. Family, at the end of the day, is what makes the world go around.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
1.2 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
439 reviews
4.3 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
512 reviews
2.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 5 in Constantia
198 reviews
6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
676 reviews
21.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alphen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alphen Boutique Hotel

Address: Alphen Drive, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Constantia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range: £197 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Alphen Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia is 23 kms from Cape Town International Airport, 15 kms from the City Centre and circa 12 kms from False Bay beaches. In close proximity to major attractions, such as Newlands Rugby Stadium and Cricket Ground and Kennilworth Racecourse, it has a relaxing country feel aire about it. Combining Cape Dutch with the contemporary, a playful twist has been added to this historical 11.5 acre landmark. Offering modern amenities, plush comforts, high-tech facilities and exceptional services, this multi-faceted 5-star destination provides venues for relaxing, socialising, conducting business, dining, wining & celebrating life. Facilities & Features include: 19 Spacious Suites, 3 Independent Restaurants - 5 Rooms Restaurant, la Belle Cafe & Bakery and The Rose Bar - 3 Bars, including The Rose Bar - outdoor bar & terrace, Business Centre, Functions & Events Facilities and Expansive, Landscaped Garden with pool. This property is well suited to wedding functions. 300 Years of Cape Hospitality continues under New Management. Step into a World of Hedonistic Glamour - a little Eccentric, somewhat Bohemian, rather Eclectic & Casually Elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Alphen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alphen Boutique Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing