We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cape Dutch elegance is difficult to beat - anywhere in the world.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alphen Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Cape Dutch elegance is difficult to beat - anywhere in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

With a beautiful garden decorated with the' scales' of yesteryear used by the wine merchants in Constantias history and the original huge cellar doors of the wine vat storage - I knew I was back in the heart of the Alphen with its typical Dutch touch of elegance. This was always a draw card for my brother on his way home from work in the City. I came to meet with 15 of my close family for breakfast in the Delicatessen. The menu met every taste and palate and the drinks were equally satisfying in their choices. Service was first class and so was the bill!! A truely recommendable venue for any party.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank springbuck-kwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Alphen Boutique Hotel.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our 5 star offering in the Constantia Winelands and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    30
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
91
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Exceptional in every way! The elegant buildings, warm welcome, vast gardens, the beautifully fitted rooms, the bars and lounges, food quality and high speed wi-fi everywhere, this hotel can compete with any 5 star boutique establishment worldwide. It is out of the city centre (15 min by car) but close to the highway system. Highly recommend it for business or pleasure. Only small criticism was the room bar fridge that was noisy - had to disconnect it at night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nassos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay.

We constantly strive to offer 5 star service at all our establishments within The Kove Collection. We hope to welcome you back to the Constantia Winelands soon. Should you be looking for a beach experience then try our new boutique hotel, The Marly, situated in Camps Bay.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This has become my hotel of choice for business travel to Cape Town (though I would also use it for leisure). This was my fifth stay here at the Alphen Hotel and the standard is consistently first class. It is a rare thing to find the hotel, staff, location, rooms, food all up to the very highest standard. Location-wise, the upmarket Constantia is the perfect base to explore the region. While there is no gym on site, the hotel will provide a voucher for the Virgin Active gym only 5 minutes walk/jog away. I always look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Keith,

We so appreciate your review and have shared this with our team at The Alphen Boutique Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to “second home.”

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of visiting the Alphen a few weeks ago, and was amazed at the transformation that's taken place under the new ownership.
A world class, sophisticated yet relaxed atmosphere.
The food in both the bakery and the restaurant was excellent and the rooms and the pool area quite lovely.. A great addition to the Cape's reputation as the "new" world top destination...
Bravo!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DeekUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for the great feedback.

We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back when next you visit Cape Town or you could try our sister hotel, The Marly, in Camps Bay which is also another one of our gems.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have stayed at the Alphen twice this year and really like this hotel. It's an unusual place as it doubles up as a hotel for visitors and a very popular watering hole for Constantia locals. La Belle - the all day casual restaurant and bakery - is just the sort of place that anyone would want in their neighbourhood and sitting outside there for lunch or breakfast in the Cape Town sun is always magic. The more formal 5 Rooms restaurant is equally popular in the evenings.

The rooms are also very nice, with lots of space and bright, modern interiors. Some have terraces overlooking the beautiful Alphen gardens. The service is generally good, with sometimes slow response times more than made up for by the warmth of the welcome given to guests.

This hotel does not deliver consistent five start perfection. It can sometimes be chaotic, the pool needs improvements (it was rather cold and full of leaves both times I stayed there) and the neighbouring M3 motorway can be heard from the garden and some rooms. But overall this is still a great place to stay and they have a lovely team of people working there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Charlie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Alphen Boutique Hotel.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note of your feedback and will certainly focus on evaluating the concerns raised with the greatest of care as we strive daily to provide the very best in five star hospitality and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

LA BELLE ALPHEN

The setting of the historic Alphen Hotel is superb! The beautiful Constantia Berg forms a majestic backdrop and the manicured lawns and indigenous flora complete an unforgettable canvas. The star of the show is the beautifully proportioned main house which is Dutch colonial grandeur at its elegant best. (It even comes complete with the tale of a famous 19thC duel fought on the wide stoep of the imposing homestead.)
Newly revamped, the complex boasts a modern makeover that blends seamlessly with ancient façades.
Taste buds will be titillated by the exciting menus and innovative cuisine on offer at the magnificent 5 Rooms Restaurant or the lovely La Belle Café where, delicious breakfasts and luncheons are served on the shady, paved verandah or under huge mirrors and large framed prints of unforgettable, French lavender.
Try the roast vegetable quiche served with a fresh side salad, or the ricotta pancakes drenched in maple syrup. Speciality coffees and homemade cakes complete the picture. The place is a delight and could fit comfortably into the best international settings. A treat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review.

We hope to welcome you back to The Alphen Boutique Hotel soon.

Warmest regards,
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Rooms are nicely decorated and are not just typical 5 star hotel plain/flavorless rooms. Breakfast was excellent as well as the dinner in the "5 Rooms" restaurant (live Jazz band was definitely a nice plus!). The pool area and the Rose Bar are nice to lounge on afternoons with a bottle of Cap Classique. There was nice walking/running trail just behind the hotel properties and the Groot Constansia wine yard is close by. Couple of small misses though: there were leaves in the pool but that was probably because it was winter time and not many guests were swimming. TV/sat was not working but it was fixed on the first morning. Service and room service was efficient and attentive. We had fantastic 3 days in Alphen and would go there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teesuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMAlphen, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Alphen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We have shared your comments with our team and have taken note of the areas of concern. It is only through feedback like yours that we are able to strive to maintain our 5 star level of service at The Alphen Boutique Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit Cape Town.

Warmest regards,
Angela Lorimer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
1.0 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
4.5 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 6 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
5.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alphen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alphen Boutique Hotel

Property: The Alphen Boutique Hotel
Address: Alphen Drive, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#4 Family Hotel in Constantia
#4 Business Hotel in Constantia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Alphen Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Alphen Boutique Hotel in Constantia is 23 kms from Cape Town International Airport, 15 kms from the City Centre and circa 12 kms from False Bay beaches. In close proximity to major attractions, such as Newlands Rugby Stadium and Cricket Ground and Kennilworth Racecourse, it has a relaxing country feel aire about it. Combining Cape Dutch with the contemporary, a playful twist has been added to this historical 11.5 acre landmark. Offering modern amenities, plush comforts, high-tech facilities and exceptional services, this multi-faceted 5-star destination provides venues for relaxing, socialising, conducting business, dining, wining & celebrating life. Facilities & Features include: 19 Spacious Suites, 3 Independent Restaurants - 5 Rooms Restaurant, la Belle Cafe & Bakery and The Rose Bar - 3 Bars, including The Rose Bar - outdoor bar & terrace, Business Centre, Functions & Events Facilities and Expansive, Landscaped Garden with pool. This property is well suited to wedding functions. 300 Years of Cape Hospitality continues under New Management. Step into a World of Hedonistic Glamour - a little Eccentric, somewhat Bohemian, rather Eclectic & Casually Elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Alphen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alphen Boutique Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing