We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Setting”
Review of Steenberg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steenberg Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2012

When you choose the Steenberg Hotel, you choose it because of its superb, serene setting, its classical "Cape Dutch" styling and its splendid service. Steeped in tradition, from the antiques in the reception to the dormer rooms, tucked under the eaves or courtyard-style bungalows, your stay at Steenberg will represent the best South Africa has to offer. Surrounded by vineyards and a golf course, indulge yourself in five star service. And did I mention the fabulous breakfasts and dinners! You will need transport though as it is a 20 minute drive to downtown Cape Town - but that is the charm that is Steenberg!

Room Tip: All room are a good size. I stayed in the main building and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_regular_traveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback on your recent stay at Steenberg.
We are extremely glad you enjoyed your time here and had such wonderful things to say about Steenberg.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Steenberg and Cape Town in the not-too-distant future.
Gaby Gramm, General Manager, Steenberg Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

We spent several days in CapeTown and stayed at the Steenberg Hotel. The hotel reminds us more of a grand estate than a typical hotel. The staff is excellent and the restaurant is superb. The Steenberg Hotel is situated in a most beautiful and unique setting. If one is looking for a special hotel to stay in Cape Town, the Steenberg is the answer. It certainly merits all the awards and accolades it has received.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NMR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

We are extremely glad you enjoyed your time here at Steenberg and look forward to welcoming you back when next visiting Cape Town.
Gaby Gramm, General Manager, Steenberg Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Coming back to my birth country after many, many years ,the Steenberg Hotel was the perfect choice to start a sentimental journey. Everybody at the Steenberg made me feel at home in this wonderful country. I thoroughly enjoyed the setting, the accomodation, the food and wine, the spa as well as the the beautiful golf course. After a personal loss I was able to relax and get pampered. Thank you very much! I will definitely come back to the Steenberg.
Christina, Zurich, Switzerland, date of stay: 8.-13.12.2011

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you very much for making Steenberg part of your journey back to South Africa
We are extremely glad you enjoyed your time here and had such wonderful things to say about the team and your experience.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Steenberg and Cape Town in the not-too-distant future.
Gaby Gramm, General Manager, Steenberg Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

What a fabulous oasis of peace and calm in the middle of Cape Town - lovely room, extremely friendly and professional staff, beautiful grounds with stunning views, and the best dinner (at Catarinas in the Hotel) my wife and I have ever had - we will certainly be heading back to the Steenberg.

Room Tip: Our deluxe room had a private patio with great views - very private. We checked out the two Heritag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We recently stayed for four nights at the Steenberg after having spent many years at other top Cape Town hotels. By far the best service, quality of rooms, friendly staff and wonderful position. Everything about the hotel made our stay immensely enjoyable. A must for any decerning visitor to the Cape.

Room Tip: All the rooms were of the highest quality - we stayed in a fmaily room that catered for three person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonAussieFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

We are extremely glad you enjoyed your time here and had such wonderful things to say about the team and your experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Steenberg and Cape Town in the not-too-distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed at Steenberg Hotel from 1st to 7th October when with my wife we were in Cape Town for a medical ceheckup. From the very moment we entered the main security gate headed by a very dynamic and friendly middle aged lady I knew we were home and we were not disappointed. Everybody from management to the gardener will cheerfully greet you. It is a great place the working culture of all the people who work there is what makes the place thick. The restaurant is fantastic, rooms are superb and will highly recommend the wine tour and tasting. Look out for Zalda she knows everything about good wine.

Room Tip: Ask for the residence of the lady who established the farm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godfrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steenberg1682, General Manager at Steenberg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback on your recent stay at Steenberg.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Steenberg and Cape Town in the not-too-distant future.

Gaby Gramm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is a wonderful hotel with an excellent service. The staff is fantastic and every wish gets fulfilled. Breakfast is delicious and at the end of the day you can have a wonderful dinner in one of Cape Town's best restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourguide S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
436 reviews
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 5 in Constantia
196 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,603 reviews
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,349 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steenberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steenberg Hotel

Address: Tokai Road | Steenberg Estate, Constantia 7945, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#1 Family Hotel in Constantia
#2 Business Hotel in Constantia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range: £170 - £944 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel surrounded by vineyards nestles at the foot of the magnificent Stone Mountain. Here the elegance & tradition of the 17th century blend harmoniously with the luxuries and conveniences of our modern age. A Championship golf course, an award winning Winery, Catharina’s Restaurant and Steenberg Spa complete the serene picture of this 24-bedroom Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Steenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steenberg Hotel Cape Town
Steenberg Hotel Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing